

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

April 14, 2005

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT NUCLEAR

OPERATING COMPANY

FACILITY: South Texas Project Electric Generating Station

DOCKETS: 50-498, 50-499

DATE AND TIME: May 3, 2005

6 p.m.

LOCATION: Bay City Civic Center

201 Seventh Street

Bay City, TX 77404-0768

PURPOSE: This is the end-of-cycle public meeting between the NRC and

> South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Company to present and discuss performance results of the South Texas Project Electric Generating Station for the period of January 1 through December 31, 2004. The annual

assessment letter for South Texas Project can be found at: www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/LETTERS/stp 2004q4.pdf

CATEGORY 1: Members of the public are invited to observe the meeting and will have

the opportunity to communicate with the NRC after the business portion

of the meeting, but before the meeting is adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: **NRC**

W. Johnson, Chief, Project Branch A, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

J. Taylor, Acting Senior Resident Inspector, DRP

G. Guerra, Resident Inspector, DRP

UTILITY

J. Sheppard, President and Chief Executive Officer

G. Parkey, Vice President, Generation T. Jordan, Vice President, Engineering

E. Halpin, Vice President, Oversight

MEETING CONTACT: William D. Johnson, NRC, RIV

817/860-8148

wdi@nrc.gov

CC:

James J. Sheppard, President and Chief Executive Officer STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

The Honorable Richard Knapik Mayor, City of Bay City City Hall 1901 Fifth Street Bay City, TX 77414

The Honorable John Connor Mayor, City of Palacios P.O. Box 845 Palacios City Hall Palacios, TX 77465

James Mitchell, Sheriff Matagorda County 2323 Avenue E Bay City, TX 77414

Federal Emergency Management Agency ATTN: Gary Jones, Regional Director Region VI, Federal Center 800 North Loop 288 Denton, TX 76209-3698

Roger Mulder State Energy Conservation Office P.O. Box 13528 Austin, TX 78711

Jack Colley, State Coordinator
Division of Emergency Management
Texas Department of Public Safety
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0220

Richard A. Ratliff, Chief Bureau of Radiation Control Texas Department of Health 1100 W. 49th Street Austin, TX 78756-3189 Julie Parsley, Commissioner Public Utility Commission William B. Travis Bldg. P.O. Box 13326 Austin, TX 78711-3326

William "Dub" Taylor State Energy Conservation Office P.O. Box 13528 Austin, TX 78711

The Honorable Greg Westmoreland Matagorda County Judge 1700 7th Street Bay City, TX 77414-5094

E. D. Halpin
Vice President, Oversight
STP Nuclear Operating Company
P.O. Box 289
Wadsworth, TX 77483

S. M. Head, Manager, Licensing STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289, Mail Code: N5014 Wadsworth, TX 77483

C. Kirksey/C. M. Canady City of Austin Electric Utility Department 721 Barton Springs Road Austin, TX 78704

J. J. Nesrsta/R. K. Temple City Public Service Board P.O. Box 1771 San Antonio, TX 78296

D. G. Tees/R. L. Balcom Texas Genco, LP P.O. Box 1700 Houston, TX 77251

Jon C. Wood Cox Smith Matthews 112 E. Pecan, Suite 1800 San Antonio, TX 78205 A. H. Gutterman, Esq. Morgan, Lewis & Bockius 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20004

C. A. Johnson/R. P. Powers AEP Texas Central Company P.O. Box 289, Mail Code: N5022 Wadsworth, TX 77483

INPO Records Center 700 Galleria Parkway Atlanta, GA 30339

Director, Division of Compliance & Inspection
Bureau of Radiation Control
Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 West 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756

Brian Almon
Public Utility Commission
William B. Travis Building
P.O. Box 13326
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701-3326

Environmental and Natural Resources Policy Director P.O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-3189

Judge, Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, TX 77414

Terry Parks, Chief Inspector Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation Boiler Program P.O. Box 12157 Austin, TX 78711 Susan M. Jablonski
Office of Permitting, Remediation and
Registration
Texas Commission on Environmental
Quality
MC-122, P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087

Ted Enos 4200 South Hulen Suite 630 Fort Worth, TX 76109 E-Mail To:

() NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS B. Sheron, ADPT

OEMAIL D/OE

RLF2 R. Franovich, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

EJB1 E. Benner

JLD Jennifer Dixon-Herrity, RIV EDO Coordinator

DHJ D. Jaffee, Project Manager, NRR JLT2 J. Taylor, Senior Resident Inspector

V. Dricks, PAO VLD W. Maier, RSLO WAM GMV M. Vasquez, ES CJG, SLR **RA** Secretaries LAO, DLF, MJS **DRP** Secretaries NLH, LMB, JLH2 **DRS** Secretaries CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS** Secretaries JLP J. Pellet, IRMB

LPL P. Longdo, Receptionist
AMM Ann Mattila, Security Advisor

SISP F	Review Completed:	WDJ	ADAMS: /	Yes	□ No	Initials: _	_WDJ
/ Pul	olicly Available	Non-Publicly	√ Available □	Sensi	itive /	Non-Se	nsitive

S:DRP\DRPDIR\EOC 04\Meeting Notice\STPEOC5-3-05MN.wpd

RIV:C:DRP/A	PAO	RSLO	C:DRP/A	
WDJohnson	VDricks	WMaier	WDJohnson	
/RA/	/RA/	CJGordon for	/RA/	
4/14/5	4/13/05	4/14/05	4/14/05	