

# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

## REGION IV

#### 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

April 5, 2005

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH OMAHA PUBLIC POWER DISTRICT

FACILITY: Fort Calhoun Station

DOCKET: 50-285

DATE AND TIME: May 10, 2005

6 p.m. (CDT)

LOCATION: Omaha Marriott

10220 Regency Circle Omaha, NE 68114

PURPOSE: This is the end-of-cycle public meeting between the NRC and

Omaha Public Power District to present and discuss

performance results of the Fort Calhoun Station for the period of

January 1 through December 31, 2004.

CATEGORY 1: Members of the public are invited to observe the meeting and will have

the opportunity to communicate with the NRC after the business portion of the meeting, but before the meeting is adjourned.

The NRC provides reasonable accommodation to individuals with

disabilities where appropriate. If you need a reasonable

accommodation to participate in this meeting, or need this meeting notice or the transcript or other information from the meeting in another format (e.g. braille, large print), please notify the NRC's meeting coordinator. Determinations on requests for reasonable

accommodation will be made on a case-by-case basis.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

M. Hay, Chief, Project Branch C, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

J. Hanna, Senior Resident Inspector, Project Branch C, DRP L. Willoughby, Resident Inspector, Project Branch C, DRP

## **UTILITY**

R. Ridenoure, Vice President/Chief Nuclear Officer

S. Gambhir, Division Manager, Nuclear Projects

R. Phelps, Division Manager, Nuclear Engineering

D. Trausch, Acting Division Manager, Nuclear Assessment

M. Tesar, Division Manager, Nuclear Support Services

J. Herman, Manager, Nuclear Licensing

MEETING CONTACT: Wayne C. Walker, NRC, RIV

817/276-6523 wcw@nrc.gov

CC:

R. T. Ridenoure Vice President Omaha Public Power District Fort Calhoun Station FC-2-4 Adm. P.O. Box 550 Fort Calhoun, NE 68023-0550

John B. Herman, Manager Nuclear Licensing Omaha Public Power District Fort Calhoun Station FC-2-4 Adm. P.O. Box 550 Fort Calhoun, NE 68023-0550

David J. Bannister
Manager - Fort Calhoun Station
Omaha Public Power District
Fort Calhoun Station FC-1-1 Plant
P.O. Box 550
Fort Calhoun, NE 68023-0550

James R. Curtiss Winston & Strawn 1400 L. Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20005-3502

Chairman
Washington County Board of Supervisors
P.O. Box 466
Blair, NE 68008

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, NE 68509-5007 Daniel K. McGhee Bureau of Radiological Health Iowa Department of Public Health 401 SW 7th Street, Suite D Des Moines, IA 50309

Timothy F. Dunning, Sheriff Douglas County 3601 N. 156th Street Omaha, NE 68116

Carol McBride Pirsch, Chairperson Douglas County Board of Commissioners Civic Center 1819 Farnam LC2 Omaha, NE 68183

Steve Lee, Director Douglas County Emergency Management Agency Civic Center, EOC, Room 114 1819 Farnam Street Omaha, NE 68183

Todd Baber Emergency Management Agency Harrison County 111 South 1st Avenue Logan, IA 51546-1305

Terry Baxter, Sheriff Harrison County 111 South 1st Avenue Logan, IA 51546

Rolland Roberts, Chairman Harrison County Board of Supervsiors 111 North 2nd Avenue Logan, IA 51546 The Honorable Doris Stillwell Mayor of Missouri Valley City Hall 223 E. Erie Missouri Valley, IA 51555

Terry Hummel, Coordinator Pottawattamie County Emergency Management Coordinator 227 S. 6th Street, Court House Council Bluffs, IA 51501

Delbert King, Chairman
Pottawattamie County Board of
Supervisors
227 South 6th Street
Council Bluffs, IA 51501

Mike Robinson, Sheriff Washington County Courthouse 1535 Culfax Blair, NE 68008

John Shotwell, President Blair City Council 218 S. 16th Street Blair, NE 68008

The Honorable Jim Realph Mayor of Blair 218 South 16th Street Blair, NE 68008

The Honorable Paul Oestmann Mayor of Fort Calhoun P.O. Box 394 Fort Calhoun, NE 68023

David Genoways, President Fort Calhoun City Council P.O. Box 577 Fort Calhoun, NE 68023

Bill Pook, Director Region 5/6 Emergency Management 435 N. Park Avenue, Suite 400 Fremont, NE 68025 Dick Hainje, Regional Director Federal Emergency Management Agency Region VII 2323 Grand Blvd., Suite 900 Kansas City, MO 64108-2670

Dianne Munns, Chairperson Department of Commerce Utilities Division Iowa Utilities Board 350 Maple Street Des Moines, IA 50319-0069

Donald A. Flater, Chief Bureau of Environmental Health Iowa Department of Public Health 401 SW 7th, Suite D Des Moines, IA 50309

Robert Leopold, Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services Division of Public Health Assurance Department of Regulation and Licensure 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, NE 68509-5007

John Blackhawk Tribal Chairman Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska P.O. Box 687 Winnebago, NE 68071-0687

Donald Grant Tribal Chairperson Omaha Tribal Council P.O. Box 368 Macy, NE 68039-0368

Al Berndt, Assistant Director Nebraska Emergency Management Agency 1300 Military Road Lincoln, NE 68508-1090 E-Mail To:

( ) NRC Attendees

OEWEB S. Bogle (for predecisional enf. or regulatory conferences)

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS B. Sheron, ADPT

OEMAIL D/OE

RLF2 R. Franovich, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

EJB1 E. Benner

JLD J. Dixon-Herrity, RIV EDO Coordinator ABW A. Wang, Project Manager, NRR

V. Dricks, PAO VLD WAM W. Maier, RSLO GFS G. Sanborn, EO M. Vasquez, ES GMV CJG RA Secretaries LAO, DLF, MJS **DRP** Secretaries NLH, LMB, JLH2 **DRS** Secretaries CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS Secretaries** JLP J. Pellet, IRMB

LPL P. Longdo, Receptionist

SISP Review Complete	ed: _	wcw	ADAMS: /	Yes	□ No	Ini	itials: _	_wcw_
/ Publicly Available		Non-Publi	cly Available		Sensitive	/	Non-S	Sensitive

### R:\ FCS\2005\FC5-10-05MN-EOC.wpd

RIV:SPE:DRP/C	PAO	RSLO	C:DRP/C	
WCWalker;df	VLDricks	WAMaier	MCHay	
/RA/	CJGordon for	/RA/	/RA/	