

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

March 7, 2005

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH NEBRASKA PUBLIC POWER DISTRICT

FACILITY: Cooper Nuclear Station

DOCKET: 50-298

DATE AND TIME: April 13, 2005

6 p.m.

LOCATION: Brownville Concert Hall

Atlantic Avenue and Second Street

Brownville, Nebraska 68321

PURPOSE: This is the end-of-cycle public meeting between the NRC and

Nebraska Public Power District to present and discuss

performance results of Cooper Nuclear Station for the period of

January 1 through December 31, 2004.

CATEGORY: This is a Category 1 meeting. The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with

the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is

adjourned.

The NRC provides reasonable accommodation to individuals with

disabilities where appropriate. If you need a reasonable

accommodation to participate in this meeting, or need this meeting notice or the transcript or other information from the meeting in another format (e.g., braille, large print), please notify the NRC's meeting contact listed below. Determinations on requests for reasonable accommodation will be made on a case-by-case basis.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

B. Mallett, Regional Administrator

A. Howell, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

M. Hay, Chief, Project Branch C, DRP

W. Walker, Senior Project Engineer, Project Branch C, DRP

S. Schwind, Senior Resident Inspector, DRP

S. Cochrum, Resident Inspector, DRP

LICENSEE

R. Edington, Vice President-Nuclear and Chief Nuclear Officer

S. Minahan, General Manager of Plant Operations J. Roberts, Director of Nuclear Safety Assurance

G. Kline, Director of Engineering

MEETING CONTACT: Michael C. Hay, NRC, RIV

817-860-8144 mch2@nrc.gov

CC:

Randall K. Edington, Vice President-Nuclear and CNO Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

Michael T. Boyce, Nuclear Asset Manager Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, NE 68601

John C. McClure, Vice President and General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, NE 68602-0499

P. V. Fleming, Licensing Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, NE 68509-8922

Chairman
Nemaha County Board of Commissioners
Nemaha County Courthouse
1824 N Street
Auburn, NE 68305

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, NE 68509-5007

Ronald A. Kucera, Deputy Director for Public Policy Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, MO 65101

Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0116

Chief, Radiation and Asbestos Control Section Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310 Topeka, KS 66612-1366

Daniel K. McGhee
Bureau of Radiological Health
lowa Department of Public Health
401 SW 7th Street, Suite D
Des Moines, IA 50309

William J. Fehrman, President and Chief Executive Officer Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, NE 68601

Jerry C. Roberts, Director of Nuclear Safety Assurance Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

Marlin Logan
Presiding Commissioner
Atchison County
P.O. Box 280
Rock Port, MO 64482

Dennis Martin, Sheriff Atchison County Sheriff's Office 511 West Clay Rock Port, MO 64482

Brent Lottman, Sheriff 1805 N Street Auburn, NE 68305

Randall Rohrs, Chairman Nemaha County Board of Commissioners Nemaha County Courthouse 1824 N Street Auburn, NE 68305

Dick Hainje, Regional Director FEMA Region VII Department of Homeland Security 2323 Grand Boulevard, Suite 900 Kansas City, MO 64108-2670

Robert Leopold, State Liaison Officer Nebraska Health and Human Services Department of Regulation and Licensure Assurance 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, NE 68508 Al Berndt, Assistant Director Emergency Management Agency 1300 Military Road Lincoln, NE 68508

Scott Clardy, Director Section for Environmental Public Health P.O. Box 570 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570 E-Mail To:

() NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS B. Sheron, ADPT

OEMAIL D/OE

RLF2 R. Franovich, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

TXR T. Reis

JLD J. Dixon-Herrity, RIV EDO Coordinator MCH3 M. Honcharik, Project Manager, NRR VLD V. Dricks, PAO (also on concurrence) WAM W. Maier, RSLO (also on concurrence)

GFS G. Sanborn, EO
GMV M. Vasquez, ES
CJG RA Secretaries
LAO, DLF, MJS DRP Secretaries
LMB, JLH2 DRS Secretaries
CMS, JAK, BST1 DNMS Secretaries
JLP J. Pellet, IRMB

LPL P. Longdo, Receptionist

SIS	SP Review Complete	ed: _	wcw	ADAMS: / Yes	;	□ No		Initials: _wcw
/	Publicly Available		Non-Publich	y Available		Sensitive	/	Non-Sensitive

R:_CNS\2005\CN4-13-05MN-EOC.wpd

RIV:SPE:DRP/C	RSLO	PAO	C:DRP/C	
WCWalker;df	WAMaier	VLDricks	MCHay	
/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	WCWalker for	
3/4/05	3/4/05	3/7/05	3/7/05	