EDO Principal Correspondence Control

FROM:

DUE: 03/18/05

EDO CONTROL: G20050135

DOC DT: 02/23/05

FINAL REPLY:

Jason Kuiken

U.S. Department of Agriculture

TO:

NRC

FOR SIGNATURE OF:

\*\* GRN

CRC NO:

DESC:

ROUTING:

Nominations for the 2005 William A. Jump Memorial

Foundation Award (Nominations Due: 4/1/05)

Reyes Virgilio Kane

Merschoff Silber

Dean

Burns/Cyr

DATE: 02/24/05 ·

ASSIGNED TO:

CONTACT:

HR

Bird

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS OR REMARKS:

If nominations are made, prepare response for Chairman's signature.

Template: EDO-001

E-RIDS: EDO-OI

# CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR 2005 AWARD FOR EXEMPLARY ACHIEVEMENT IN PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION

56th Annual Award to a Career Federal Employee under Age 37

Presented by the
William A. Jump Memorial Foundation
Washington, DC

#### AWARD

The William A. Jump Memorial Foundation Award is presented in recognition of outstanding service in public administration. It was established in 1950 in honor of the late William A. Jump, Budget and Finance Officer of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), recognized throughout the Federal Government and nationally for his leadership and distinguished contributions to effective public administration. It is supported through private contributions.

The public recognition provided by the Award is intended to serve as an encouragement to young people to promote interest, growth, development and high level performance in public administration.

A golden key and a certificate are presented to the winner at an annual USDA awards ceremony, preceded by a reception for the winner. The Foundation will also grant a special certificate to all other nominees (individual Agency winners) for the Award who meet the qualifications prescribed by the Jump Award Selection Committee.

#### **ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA**

The nominee must be a civilian career employee of the Federal Government who has not reached his or her 37th birthday, as of December 31, 2004. Work performance of the employee over a considerable period of time (no less than five years) in either a line or staff position, must demonstrate: a) outstanding competence and interest in any area of public administration, b) leadership shown in the direction or development of programs, c) creativity and resourcefulness, d) close adherence to the basic principles of enlightened public service, e) integrity, and f) dedication to duty.

For the purpose of this Award, the term "work" refers to both line or staff activity and the term "public administration" covers all aspects of executive-administration direction, supervision and development of Federal activities.

## INFORMATION REQUESTED

Please submit six copies of the nomination. Only one employee may be nominated by each Agency. In the case of a department with component agencies, each component agency may submit one nomination. Exhibit materials such as copies of publications may be attached, but all of the basic information requested below should be included in the nomination letter. Only one complete set of exhibits and publications need be submitted. Information should be typewritten, single spaced, with new subject paragraphs double spaced numbered to correspond with the following:

- 1. Name, title, grade, phone numbers, e-mail address, and salary of nominee
- 2. Bureau and Agency
- 3. Date of Birth (see "Eligibility" paragraph)

- 4. Home address
- 5. Educational background and awards or commendations received
- 6. Nominee's present position, grade, and responsibilities
- 7. Chronological outline of past employment and responsibilities
- 8. Specific accomplishments and contributions with comments which illustrate each of the eligibility criteria
- 9. Proposed brief citation concerning the nominee's accomplishments to be used on the winner's certificate (maximum of 25 words)

The recommendation should be signed by the head of the Agency, or his or her designee. To be eligible for the 2005 award, all nominations must be received no later than Friday, April 1<sup>st</sup>, 2005.

The Foundation recommends that Agencies consider employees from throughout the country, and that nominees for the Award be given recognition in agency publications for their achievements and services. We believe such action would help to stimulate active interest in fostering a more effective public service.

The Award will be presented at the Department of Agriculture Annual Honor Awards Ceremony, which will take place in early summer, 2005, in Washington, DC

MAIL NOMINATIONS (original plus five copies, please) TO:

William A. Jump Memorial Foundation Jason Kuiken, Executive Secretary U.S. Department of Agriculture, OBPA, Room 126-E 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Stop 4211 Washington, D.C. 20250-4212

> Additional information regarding this announcement can be obtained from: Jason Kuiken, (202) 720-6113 jjk@obpa.usdn.gov

### 2004 AWARD WINNER

Mr. Chris R. Kubacki
Director of Financial Management Division, Real Estate Investment Center
Office of Public and Indian Housing
U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

#### AWARD COMMITTEE

A special "William A. Jump Memorial Committee" of distinguished Government officials and private citizens is named each year by the Chairman of the Board of Trustees to make the final selection of the individual to receive the Award.

## **FOUNDATION**

The William A Jump Memorial Foundation is supported through the private contributions of persons and organizations interested in fostering efficient Federal career service. The Foundation provides for special public recognition of young people who are demonstrating leadership, creative thinking, and exemplary achievement in public administration.

#### **BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

Chairperson: Carol Bonosaro, President Senior Executives Association

Charles F. Bingman
Johns Hopkins University

Jennifer C. Bush
Wireless and Telecommunications Bureau
Assistant Chief for Management
Federal Communication Commission

Stephen B. Dewhurst, Director Office of Budget and Program Analysis Department of Agriculture

Jerome Miles
Former Deputy Chief
U. S. Forest Service, USDA

John Palguta
Vice President, Policy & Research
Partnership for Public Service

Myra H. Shiplett
Director, Center for Human Resources Mgmt.
National Academy of Public Administration

Dr. Jeremy Wu
Director, Civil Rights
Department of Transportation

Dr. Ruth Sanchez-Way
Former Director, Center for Substance Abuse
Prevention, HHS