April 8, 2005

Mr. Joseph D. Ziegler, Director Office of License Application and Strategy Office of Repository Development U.S. Department of Energy 1551 Hillshire Drive North Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

SUBJECT: PRE-LICENSING EVALUATION OF KEY TECHNICAL ISSUE AGREEMENT:

STRUCTURAL DEFORMATION AND SEISMICITY 3.03. REGARDING

FRACTURE GEOMETRY ANALYSIS

Dear Mr. Ziegler:

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) indicated that its responses to eight additional information needs (AIN) contained in Agreement Structural Deformation and Seismicity (SDS) 3.03 would be provided to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) in either a fracture analysis report, or a revision of the Drift Degradation Analysis report. The fracture analysis report has not been submitted. The NRC staff reviewed the Drift Degradation report (Bectel SAIC Company, LLC, REV 03, 2004), and this analysis model report does not provide responses that specifically address any of the eight AINs. The NRC staff considers that Agreement SDS.3.03 has not been addressed by DOE.

In your letter to the Director, Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety, dated July 23, 2004, you state that "any questions or concerns of the NRC will be addressed within the context of the licensing process" and also, "DOE does not intend to provide direct responses to any additional KTI agreement AINs received after the date of this letter (ibid.)." Therefore, the NRC staff anticipate that the technical issues of this agreement will be considered in DOE's proposed "...LA (License Application), or in any future modifications to documents supporting the LA (ibid.)." A brief explanation of our evaluation of Agreement SDS.3.03 is provided in the enclosure to this letter.

It is up to DOE to decide how, or whether, to respond to staff's feedback. Please note that NRC will make its determination on any issues that are relevant to licensing during review of any potential LA.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390 of the NRC's "Rules of General Applicability," a copy of this letter and its enclosure will be available electronically in the NRC Public Document Room or from the Publically Available Records component of the NRC's document system (ADAMS). The ADAMS package accession number is ML050320217. ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html.

J. Ziegler -2-

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact Daniel S. Rom of my staff, at 301-415-6704, or by email at <u>dsr@nrc.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Lawrence E. Kokajko, Deputy Director Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure:

The U.S. NRC NMSS Review of the U.S. DOE's KTI Agreement Responses Related to the Potential Geologic Repository at YM NV: SDS.3.03

cc: See attached list.

Letter to J. Ziegler from L. Kokajko, dated: <u>April 8, 2005</u> cc:

- A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV
- R. Massey, Churchill/Lander County, NV
- I. Navis, Clark County, NV
- E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV
- G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV
- R. Damele, Eureka County, NV
- L. Marshall, Eureka County, NV
- A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV
- A. Remus, Inyo County, CA
- M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV
- S. Hafen, Lincoln County, NV
- M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV
- L. Mathias, Mineral County, NV
- D. Swanson, Nye County, NV
- M. Maher, Nye County, NV
- D. Hammermeister, Nye County, NV
- M. Simon, White Pine County, NV
- J. Ray, NV Congressional Delegation
- B. J. Vonderheide, NV Congressional Delegation
- T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation
- R. Herbert, NV Congressional Delegation
- M. Murphy
- S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation
- K. Kirkeby, NV Congressional Delegation
- R. Loux, State of NV
- S. Frishman, State of NV
- S. Lynch, State of NV
- P. Guinan, Legislative Counsel Bureau
- R. Clark, EPA
- R. Anderson, NEI

- A. Elzeftawy, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
- J. Treichel, Nuclear Waste Task Force
- W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell
- M. Chu, DOE/Washington, D.C.
- G. Runkle, DOE/Washington, D.C.
- C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.
- S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.
- W. J. Arthur, III, DOE/ORD
- R. Dyer, DOE/ORD
- J. Ziegler, DOE/ORD
- A. Gil, DOE/ORD
- W. Boyle, DOE/ORD
- D. Brown, DOE/OCRWM
- S.A. Wade, DOE/ORD
- C. Hanlon, DOE/ORD
- T. Gunter, DOE/ORD
- A. Benson, DOE/ORD
- N. Hunemuller, DOE/ORD
- R. L. Craun, DOE/ORD
- M. Mason, BSC
- S. Cereghino, BSC
- N. Williams, BSC
- E. Mueller, BSC
- J. Mitchell, BSC
- D. Beckman, BSC/B&A
- M. Voegele, BSC/SAID
- B. Helmer, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- R. Boland, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe
- J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe

cc: (Continued)

R. McCullum, NEI

S. Kraft, NEI

J. Kessler, EPRI

D. Duncan, USGS

R. Craig, USGS

W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD

C. Marden, BNFL Inc.

J. Bacoch, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley

P. Thompson, Duckwater Shoshone Tribe

T. Kingham, GAO

D. Feehan, GAO

E. Hiruo, Platts Nuclear Publications

G. Hernandez, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe

K. Finfrock, NV Congressional Delegation

P. Johnson, Citizen Alert

A. Capoferri, DOE/Washington, DC

J. Williams, DOE/Washington, DC

A. Robinson, Robinson-Seidler

M. Dayton, City of Las Vegas

D. Wilson, Sen. Reid's Office

L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc.

J. Donnell, DOE/ORD

R. L. Craun, OPM&E

B. Gattoni, Burns & Roe

R. Murray, DOE/ORD

R. Holden, NCAI

C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe

R. Wilder, Fort Independence Indian Tribe

D. Vega, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe

J. Egan, Egan, Fitzpatrick, Malsch, PLLC

J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center

J. C. Saulque, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe

C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes

R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe

L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah

E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe

D. Buckner, Ely Shoshone Tribe

V. Guzman, Walker River Paiute

D. Eddy, Jr., Colorado River Indian Tribes

H. Jackson, Public Citizen

J. Wells, Western Shoshone National Council

D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of NV

I. Zabarte, Western Shoshone National

Council

S. Devlin

G. Hudlow

D. Irwin, Hunton & Williams

L. Alfano, Lincoln County

M. Henderson, Cong. J. Gibbon's Office

D. Duquette, NWTRB

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact Daniel S. Rom of my staff, at 301-415-6704, or by email at dsr@nrc.gov.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Lawrence E. Kokajko, Deputy Director Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure:

The U.S. NRC NMSS Review of the U.S. DOE KTI Agreement Responses Related to the Potential Geologic Repository at YM NV: SDS.3.03 -11

cc: See attached list.

DISTRIBUTION:

HLWRS r/f	ACNW	VMehrhoff	CNWRA	LKokajko	ECollins
KMcConnell	JGuttmann	KStablein	ACampbell	MBailey	FBrown
LChandler	MYoung	JMoore	MZobler	MWoods	TCombs
BSpitzberg	WMaier	GMorell	GHiggs	SRohrer	
BLeslie	KSmart				

ML050320217

OFC	HLWRS	HLWRS		HLWRS		HLWRS		OGC		
NAME	PJustus*	DRom*		KCompton*		JGuttmann'	k	DCummings	3*	
DATE	02/03/05	02/03/05		03/08/05		03/18/05		03/28/05		
OFC	HLWRS									
NAME	LKokajko									
DATE	4/8/05									