

### UNITED STATES

### **NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION**

#### **REGION IV**

# 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

December 29, 2004

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT NUCLEAR

**OPERATING COMPANY** 

FACILITY: STP Nuclear Operating Company

DOCKET: 50-498; 50-499

DATE & TIME: Tuesday, January 18, 2005

12 - 2 p.m.

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Region IV

TRAINING CONFERENCE ROOM 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400

Arlington, TX 76011-4005

PURPOSE: Discuss South Texas Risk-Informed Technical Specification

Initiative

CATEGORY 1: This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is

adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members of Region IV

**NRC** 

Dwight Chamberlain, Director, Division of Reactor Safety (DRS) Arthur T. Howell III, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

William D. Johnson, Chief, Branch A, DRP

Tom Farnholtz, Senior Project Engineer, Branch A, DRP

Russell Bywater, Senior Reactor Analyst, DRS David P. Loveless, Senior Reactor Analyst, DRS Michael F. Runyan, Senior Reactor Analyst, DRS

Theodore R. Tjader, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR)

Thomas H. Boyce, NRR

### UTILITY

Rick Grantom, Manager, Risk Management

Drew Richards, Lead Engineer, Applications and Development

Scott Head, Manager, Licensing

Wayne Harrison, Senior Staff Licensing Engineer

MEETING CONTACT: Michael F. Runyan, NRC, RIV

817 860-8142 MFR@nrc.gov

CC:

James J. Sheppard, President and Chief Executive Officer STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Tom Jordan, Vice President Engineering & Technical Services STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

S. M. Head, Manager, Licensing STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289, Mail Code: N5014 Wadsworth, TX 77483

C. Kirksey/C. M. Canady City of Austin Electric Utility Department 721 Barton Springs Road Austin, TX 78704

J. J. Nesrsta/R. K. Temple City Public Service Board P.O. Box 1771 San Antonio, TX 78296

D. G. Tees/R. L. Balcom Texas Genco, LP P.O. Box 1700 Houston, TX 77251

Jon C. Wood Cox Smith Matthews 112 E. Pecan, Suite 1800 San Antonio, TX 78205 A. H. Gutterman, Esq. Morgan, Lewis & Bockius 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20004

C. A. Johnson/R. P. Powers AEP Texas Central Company P.O. Box 289, Mail Code: N5022 Wadsworth, TX 77483

INPO Records Center 700 Galleria Parkway Atlanta, GA 30339

Director, Division of Compliance & Inspection Bureau of Radiation Control Texas Department of State Health Services 1100 West 49th Street Austin, TX 78756

Brian Almon
Public Utility Commission
William B. Travis Building
P.O. Box 13326
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701-3326

Environmental and Natural Resources Policy Director P.O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-3189

Judge, Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, TX 77414

Terry Parks, Chief Inspector
Texas Department of Licensing
and Regulation
Boiler Program
P.O. Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711

Susan M. Jablonski
Office of Permitting, Remediation and Registration
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
MC-122, P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087

Ted Enos 4200 South Hulen Suite 630 Fort Worth, TX 76109 STP Nuclear Operating Co.

-5-

Electronic distribution by RIV:

DDC Dwight Chamberlain, Director, DRS ATH Arthur T. Howell III, Director, DRP

WDJ William D. Johnson, Chief, Branch A, DRP

TRF Tom Farnholtz, Senior Project Engineer, Branch A, DRP

RLB3 Russell Bywater, Senior Reactor Analyst, DRS
DPL David P. Loveless, Senior Reactor Analyst, DRS
MFR Michael F. Runyan, Senior Reactor Analyst, DRS
JXC2 Jeffrey Cruz, Senior Resident Inspector, STP

MKW M. Webb, Project Manager, NRR PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

TRT Theodore R. Tjader, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulatory (NRR)

THB Thomas H. Boyce, NRR

BWS ADPT JRJ ADIP OEMAIL D/OE

VLD V. L. Dricks, PAO WAM W. Maier, RSLO

RDH1 PAO

JAC1, CJG
LAO, DLF, TBH
LMB, NLH, JLH2
CMS, JAK, BST1
JLP
LPL
RA Secretaries
DRP Division
DRS Division
DNMS Division
J. L. Pellet, IRM
P. Longdo

### ADAMS ACCESSION NO. ML043640021

## DOCUMENT: R:\\_STP\2004\STP 01-18-05 MN DRS.wpd

RIV:DRS/SRA	PAO	RSLO	C:DRP/A	D:DRP	D:DRS
MFRunyan:nlh	VLDricks	WAMaier	WDJohnson	ATHowell III	DDChamberlain
/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	TRF for	/RA/	/RA/
12/22/05	12/28/05	12/22/05	12/28/05	12/27/05	12/28/05