September 20, 2004

- MEMORANDUM TO: Laura A. Dudes, Section Chief **New Reactors Section** New, Research and Test Reactors Program **Division of Regulatory Improvement Programs** Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation FROM: Amy Cubbage, ESBWR Project Manager /RA/ New Reactors Section New, Research and Test Reactors Program **Division of Regulatory Improvement Programs** Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING MEETING REGARDING THE ESBWR PREAPPLICATION REVIEW DATE & TIME: Wednesday, September 29, 2004 8:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North, Room O-4B6 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland 20852 PURPOSE: To discuss the application of the TRACG computer code to the analysis of ESBWR thermal-hydraulic stability and anticipated transients without scram (ATWS). GE plans to submit topical reports on these subjects for staff review in October and November 2004. See attached agenda. CATEGORY 1: * This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned. Certain portions of this meeting will be closed to the public because the staff has determined that the information is proprietary in nature. **PARTICIPANTS:*** Participants from the NRC include members from the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) and the Office of Research (RES). NRC GENERAL ELECTRIC V. Klein, NRR, et al B. Shiralkar A. Cubbage, NRR R. Landry, NRR W. Marquino, et al Project No. 717 cc: See next page
- CONTACT: Amy Cubbage, NRR 301-415-2875, <u>AEC@nrc.gov</u>

*Commission's Policy Statement on "Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings," 67 Federal Register 36920, May 28, 2002

- MEMORANDUM TO: Laura A. Dudes, Section Chief New Reactors Section New, Research and Test Reactors Program Division of Regulatory Improvement Programs Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
- FROM: Amy Cubbage, ESBWR Project Manager /**RA**/ New Reactors Section New, Research and Test Reactors Program Division of Regulatory Improvement Programs Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
- SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING MEETING REGARDING THE ESBWR PREAPPLICATION REVIEW
- DATE & TIME: Wednesday, September 29, 2004 8:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
- LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North, Room O-4B6 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland 20852
- PURPOSE: To discuss the application of the TRACG computer code to the analysis of ESBWR thermal-hydraulic stability and anticipated transients without scram (ATWS). GE plans to submit topical reports on these subjects for staff review in October and November 2004. See attached agenda.
- CATEGORY 1: * This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

Certain portions of this meeting will be closed to the public because the staff has determined that the information is proprietary in nature.

PARTICIPANTS:* Participants from the NRC include members from the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) and the Office of Research (RES).

NRC		GENERAL ELECTRIC
A. Cubbage, NRR	V. Klein, NRR, et al	B. Shiralkar
R. Landry, NRR		W. Marquino, et al

Project No. 717

cc: See next page

CONTACT: Amy Cubbage, NRR 301-415-2875, <u>AEC@nrc.gov</u>

*Commission's Policy Statement on "Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings," 67 *Federal Register* 36920, May 28, 2002

DISTRIBUTION: See attached list ADAMS ACCESSION NO. ML042640323

OFFICE	PM:RNRP	DD:RNRP
NAME	ACubbage	LDudes
DATE	9/20/04	9/20/04

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Distribution for September 29, 2004, Meeting Notice dated September 20, 2004

WBeckner LDudes ACubbage JWilliams **OWFN Receptionist** TWFN Receptionist E-Mail: PMNS PUBLIC D. Matthews/F. Gillespie RNRP Grp. DE Branch Chiefs **DE Section Chiefs** G. Bagchi E. Sullivan C. Abbott J. Starefos J. Danna J. Flack F. Eltawila OPA **NRC** Participants J. Jolicoeur, EDO T. Mensah OGC ACRS/ACNW NMamish bhupinder.singh@hq.doe.gov tom.miller@hq.doe.gov bill.ascroft-hutton@hse.gsi.gov.uk rzentkowskig@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca kcrogers@aol.com mod@inel.gov jim.mallay@framatome-anp.com

Hard Copy RNRP R/F PUBLIC

> JHan TUIses VKIein SLu RLandry GThomas MRazzaque FAkstulewicz EThrom ADrozd MRubin

Agenda for Public Meeting Regarding the ESBWR Preapplication Application of TRACG to ESBWR ATWS and Stability September 29, 2004 Room O-4B6

8:30 a.m 8:40 a.m.	Introductory Remarks	A. Cubbage, NRR	OPEN
8:40 a.m 10:00 a.m.	Overview of application of TRACG to ESBWR ATWS and Stability	B. Shiralkar, GE	OPEN
10:00 a.m 10:15 a.m.	Opportunity for Public comment	All	OPEN
10:15 a.m 10:30 a.m.	Break		
10:30 a.m 12:00 p.m.	Detailed Discusssion of Application of TRACG for Stability	B. Shiralkar, GE	CLOSED
12:00 p.m 1:00 p.m.	Lunch		
1:00 p.m 2:00 p.m.	Detailed Discusssion application of TRACG for ATWS	W. Marquino, GE	CLOSED
2:00 p.m.	Adjourn		

ESBWR

cc:

Dr. Robert E. Gamble Manager, ESBWR GE Nuclear Energy 175 Curtner Avenue, MC 365 San Jose, CA 95125

Mr. George B. Stramback Manager, Regulatory Services GE Nuclear Energy 175 Curtner Avenue, MC 747 San Jose, CA 95125

Mr. J. Alan Beard GE Nuclear Energy 13113 Chestnut Oak Drive Darnestown, MD 20878-3554

Mr. David Lochbaum, Nuclear Safety Engineer Union of Concerned Scientists 1707 H Street, NW., Suite 600 Washington, DC 20006-3919

Mr. Paul Gunter Nuclear Information & Resource Service 1424 16th Street, NW, Suite 404 Washington, DC 20036

Mr. James Riccio Greenpeace 702 H Street, Suite 300 Washington, DC 20001

Mr. Adrian Heymer Nuclear Energy Institute Suite 400 1776 I Street, NW Washington, DC 20006-3708

Mr. Thomas P. Miller U.S. Dept. of Energy, NE-20, Rm. A286 Headquarters - Germantown 19901 Germantown Road Germantown, MD 20874-1290

Mr. Paul Leventhal Nuclear Control Institute 1000 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 410 Washington, DC 20036 Mr. Jack W. Roe SCIENTECH, INC. 910 Clopper Road Gaithersburg, MD 20878

Mr. Brendan Hoffman Research Associate on Nuclear Energy and Environmental Program 215 Pennsylvania Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20003

Mr. Tom Clements 6703 Gude Avenue Takoma Park, MD 20912

Ms. Patricia Campbell Winston & Strawn 1400 L Street, NW Washington, DC 20005

Mr. Glenn Archinoff Licensing Manager AECL Technologies Inc. 481 North Frederick Avenue Suite 405 Gaithersburg, MD 20877

Mr. Gary Wright, Director Division of Nuclear Facility Safety Illinois Emergency Management Agency 1035 Outer Park Drive Springfield, IL 62704

Mr. Charles Brinkman Westinghouse Electric Co. Washington Operations 12300 Twinbrook Pkwy., Suite 330 Rockville, MD 20852

Mr. Ronald P. Vijuk Manager of Passive Plant Engineering AP1000 Project Westinghouse Electric Company P. O. Box 355 Pittsburgh, PA 15230-0355

Mr. Ed Wallace, General Manager Projects PBMR Pty LTD PO Box 9396 Centurion 0046 Republic of South Africa Mr. Russell Bell Nuclear Energy Institute Suite 400 1776 I Street, NW Washington, DC 20006-3708

Mr. Ron Simard 6170 Masters Club Drive Suwanee, GA 30024

<u>E-Mail:</u> rsimard@bellsouth.net jim.mallay@framatome-anp.com