September 7, 2004

	•				
MEMORANDUM TO	C. William Reamer, Director Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards				
FROM:	Project Management Licensing and Inspec Division of High-Leve	Thomas O. Matula, Senior Quality Assurance Engineer /RA/ Project Management Section A Licensing and Inspection Directorate Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards			
SUBJECT:	FORTHCOMING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION AND U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY QUARTERLY QUALITY ASSURANCE MEETING				
DATE/TIME:	September 29, 2004 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (PT) 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM (ET)				
LOCATION:	Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC Room 915 9960 Covington Cross Las Vegas, Nevada				
	and via video	conferencing to:			
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Room T8A-1 11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland		Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses Building 189 6220 Culebra Road San Antonio, Texas			
INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE MEETING VIA TELECON BY CALLING 1-800-638-8081 PASSCODE 1020# or 301-231-5539 PASSCODE 1020#					
PURPOSE:	Discuss Status of DC	DE's Quality Assurance Program			
AGENDA:	Attached				

PARTICIPANTS:	<u>NRC</u> CWReamer FBrown TMatula	<u>DOE</u> MChu JArthur III et.al.	<u>Nevada</u> SFrishman et.al.	<u>NV Counties</u> INavis et.al.
CONTACT:	Darlene Higgs	S	301-415-6711	gdh1@nrc.gov

Category 1 Meeting: The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

Memorandum to C.W. Reamer from T. Matula dated: <u>September 7, 2004</u> cc:

A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV R. Massey, Churchill/Lander County, NV I. Navis, Clark County, NV E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV R. Damele, Eureka County, NV A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV A. Remus, Inyo County, CA M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV S. Hafen, Lincoln County, NV M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV L. Mathias, Mineral County, NV L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV M. Maher, Nye County, NV D. Hammermeister, Nye County, NV M. Simon, White Pine County, NV J. Ray, NV Congressional Delegation B. J. Gerber, NV Congressional Delegation F. Roberson, NV Congressional Delegation T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation R. Herbert, NV Congressional Delegation L. Hunsaker, NV Congressional Delegation S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation K. Kirkeby, NV Congressional Delegation R. Loux, State of NV S. Frishman, State of NV S. Lynch, State of NV P. Guinan, Legislative Counsel Bureau J. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NV M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

A. Elzeftawy, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe J. Treichel, Nuclear Waste Task Force W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell M. Chu, DOE/Washington, D.C. G. Runkle, DOE/Washington, D.C. C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, D.C. S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, D.C. W. J. Arthur, III, DOE/ORD R. Dyer, DOE/ORD J. Ziegler, DOE/ORD A. Gil, DOE/ORD W. Boyle, DOE/ORD D. Brown, DOE/OCRWM S. Mellington, DOE/ORD C. Hanlon, DOE/ORD T. Gunter, DOE/ORD A. Benson, DOE/ORD N. Hunemuller, DOE/ORD M. Mason, BSC S. Cereghino, BSC N. Williams, BSC E. Mueller, BSC J. Mitchell, BSC D. Beckman, BSC/B&A M. Voegele, BSC/SAID B. Helmer, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe R. Boland, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe R. Holden, NCAE

- cc: (Continued)
- R. Clark, EPA
- R. Anderson, NEI
- R. McCullum, NEI
- S. Kraft, NEI
- J. Kessler, EPRI
- D. Duncan, USGS
- R. Craig, USGS
- W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD
- L. Lehman, T-Reg, Inc.
- S. Echols, Esq
- C. Marden, BNFL, Inc.
- J. Bacoch, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the *Owens Valley
- P. Thompson, Duckwater Shoshone Tribe
- T. Kingham, GAO
- D. Feehan, GAO
- E. Hiruo, Platts Nuclear Publications
- G. Hernandez, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
- K. Finfrock, NV Congressional Delegation
- P. Johnson, Citizen Alert
- A. Capoferri, DOE/ Washington, DC
- J. Williams, DOE/Washington, DC
- A. Robinson, Robinson-Seidler
- M. Dayton, City of Las Vegas
- D. Wilson, Sen. Reid's Office

- C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe
- R. Wilder, Fort Independence Indian Tribe
- D. Vega, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe
- J. Egan, Egan, Fitzpatrick & Malsch, PLLC
- J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center
- J. C. Saulque, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe
- C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes
- R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe
- L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah
- E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe
- D. Buckner, Ely Shoshone Tribe
- V. Guzman, Walker River Paiute
- D. Eddy, Jr., Colorado River Indian Tribes
- H. Jackson, Public Citizen
- J. Wells, Western Shoshone National Council
- D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of NV
- I. Zabarte, Western Shoshone National Council
- S. Devlin
- G. Hudlow
- D. Irwin, Hunton & Williams
- L. Alfano, Lincoln County
- M. Henderson, Cong. J. Gibbon's Office
- B. Vonderheide, Cong. J. Gibbon's Office
- D. Duquette, NWTRB

MEMORANDUM TO:	Division of High-Leve	Director I Waste Repository Safety terial Safety and Safeguards	September 7, 2004				
FROM:	Project Management Licensing and Inspec Division of High-Leve		neer /RA/				
SUBJECT:		8. NUCLEAR REGULATORY (OF ENERGY QUARTERLY (ING					
DATE/TIME:	September 29, 2004 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (PT) 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM (ET)						
LOCATION:	Bechtel SAIC Compa Room 915 9960 Covington Cros Las Vegas, Nevada						
and via videoconferencing to:							
U.S. Nuclear Regulate Room T8A-1 11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland	ory Commission	Center for Nuclear Waste Re Building 189 6220 Culebra Road San Antonio, Texas	egulatory Analyses				
INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE MEETING VIA TELECON BY CALLING 1-800-638-8081 PASSCODE 1020# or 301-231-5539 PASSCODE 1020#							
	Discuss Status of DC	NE'a Quality Acquirance Broard					

- PURPOSE: Discuss Status of DOE's Quality Assurance Program
- AGENDA: Attached

PARTICIPANTS:	<u>NRC</u> CWReamer FBrown TMatula	<u>DOE</u> MChu JArthur III et.al.	<u>Nevada</u> SFrishman et.al.	<u>NV Counties</u> INavis et.al.
CONTACT:	Darlene Higgs	6	301-415-6711	gdh1@nrc.gov

Category 1 Meeting: The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

DISTRIBUTION:

HLWRS r/f KStablein MZobler OTabatabai	n MBailey FBrown TCombs KMcConnell bai SGagner GHatchett		ECollins LChandler BSpitzberg LKokajko	CNWRA MYoung WMaier WBrach	JI	Guttman Moore Morell	AL OS	JLGS SR	
OFFICE	HLWRS		HLWRS	6	OGC		HLWRS		
NAME	DHiggs		TMatula	1	JMoore		NKStable	in	
	09/07/04 09/07/0		4 09/07/04			09/07/04			
DATE	09/07/04		09/07/0	4	09/07/04		09/07/04		