

Department of Energy

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management
Office of Repository Development
1551 Hillshire Drive Project
Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

QA: N/A Project No. WM-00011

AUG 13 2004

OVERNIGHT MAIL

ATTN: Document Control Desk
Director, Division of High-Level Waste
Repository Safety
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
11555 Rockville Pike
Rockville, MD 20852-2738

REQUEST FOR CLARIFICATION OF U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION (NRC) POLICY REGARDING EARLY REVIEW OF THE QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) PROGRAM DESCRIPTION

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) is in the process of reviewing and approving a QA program description that will be in accordance with the provisions of 10 CFR 63.142. This program will be based on the NRC review criteria of NUREG-1804, Revision 2, Yucca Mountain Review Plan (YMRP) and the commitment documents listed in Section 2.5.1.5 of the YMRP.

It is DOE's intention to submit this program description to the NRC prior to the License Application (LA), as a stand-alone document. In order to implement a 10 CFR 63 compliant QA program as early as possible, the DOE will request the NRC to review and accept the QA program description as soon as is reasonably achievable. Future changes to the QA program description after submittal of the LA would be controlled by a 10 CFR 63.144 compliant change process.

The current schedule indicates that DOE would submit the QA program description by August 2004. We propose a Technical Exchange to discuss the document by the end of September 2004. It is DOE's goal to have the QA program description accepted by the NRC before the LA is submitted.

If you have any questions or require additional information, please contact David C. Haught at (702) 794-5474 or by e-mail at david_haught@ymp.gov, or Michael L. Ulshafer at (702) 821-8412 or by e-mail at michael_ulshafer@ymp.gov.

seph D. Ziegler, Director

Office of License Application & Strategy

OLA&S:DCH-1688

NMSSOT

cc:

M. G. Bailey, NRC, Rockville, MD

F. D. Brown, NRC, Rockville, MD

A. C. Campbell, NRC, Rockville, MD

L. L. Campbell, NRC, Rockville, MD

D. D. Chamberlain, NRC, Arlington, TX

G. P. Hatchett, NRC, Rockville, MD

R. M. Latta, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Parrott, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

D. B. Spitzberg, NRC, Arlington, TX

N. K. Stablein, NRC, Rockville, MD

B. J. Garrick, ACNW, Rockville, MD

H. J. Larson, ACNW, Rockville, MD

W. C. Patrick, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

Budhi Sagar, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

J. R. Egan, Egan & Associates, McLean, VA

J. H. Kessler, EPRI, Charlotte, NC

M. J. Apted, Monitor Scientific, LLC, Denver, CO

Rod McCullum, NEI, Washington, DC

W. D. Barnard, NWTRB, Arlington, VA

R. R. Loux, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Pat Guinan, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Alan Kalt, Churchill County, Fallon, NV

Irene Navis, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV

George McCorkell, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Ron Damele, Eureka County, Eureka, NV

Michael King, Inyo County, Edmonds, WA

Andrew Remus, Inyo County, Independence, CA

Mickey Yarbro, Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV

Spencer Hafen, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

Linda Mathias, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Pahrump, NV

Mike Simon, White Pine County, Ely, NV

R. I. Holden, National Congress of American Indians, Washington, DC