

Department of Energy

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management Office of Repository Development 1551 Hillshire Drive Project No. WM-00011 Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

QA: N/A

JUL 22 2004

OVERNIGHT MAIL

ATTN: Document Control Desk Director, Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852-2738

TRANSMITTAL OF APPENDICES N AND S OF TECHNICAL BASIS DOCUMENT NO. 6: WASTE PACKAGE AND DRIP SHIELD CORROSION, REVISION 01, ADDRESSING KEY TECHNICAL ISSUE (KTI) AGREEMENTS RELATED TO CONTAINER LIFE AND SOURCE TERM (CLST) 1.08, 1.09, and 2.03 ADDITIONAL **INFORMATION NEED (AIN)-1**

Reference: Ltr, Ziegler to Chief, High-Level Waste Branch (NRC), dtd 12/9/03 (Transmittal of Technical Basis Document No. 6: Waste Package and Drip Shield Corrosion Addressing KTI Agreements)

This letter transmits Appendices N and S (enclosures 1 and 2) of the Technical Basis Document No. 6: Waste Package and Drip Shield Corrosion, Revision 01, which was previously provided in the referenced letter. Also, a compact disk (CD) of the appendices is provided in Enclosure 3. The CD files are in pdf format and can be made publicly available. The Appendix N file is 15,081 KB, and dated 7/9/04. The Appendix S file is 324 KB, and dated 7/14/04.

The Technical Basis Document contains a summary of the current conceptual understanding of the degradation modes of the waste package and drip shield materials and provides the context within which individual KTI agreements are related to the long-term material behavior. Appendices A – H were submitted as part of the referenced letter, and additional appendices were transmitted by subsequent correspondence. Transmittal of Appendices N and S completes Technical Basis Document No. 6: Waste Package and Drip Shield Corrosion, Revision 01.

Appendix N, Waste Package and Drip Shield Materials: Passive Film Characteristics, Growth, and Stability, Revision 1, provides a direct response to CLST 1.08 and 1.09. Appendix S, Waste Package and Drip Shield Material Analysis, Revision 2, provides a direct response to CLST 2.03 AIN-1.

4m507

pplication & Strategy

The U.S. Department of Energy considers the KTI agreements CLST 1.08, 1.09, and 2.03 AIN-1 to be addressed, and pending review and acceptance by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, they should be closed.

There are no new regulatory commitments in the body or the enclosures to this letter. Please direct any questions concerning this letter and its enclosures to David C. Haught at (702) 794-5474 or e-mail at david_haught@ymp.gov. Alternatively, specific questions concerning Appendix N should be directed to Paige R.Z. Russell at (702) 794-1315 or e-mail at paige_russell@ymp.gov, and specific questions concerning Appendix S should be directed to Kirk D. Lachman at (702) 794-5096 or e-mail at kirk_lachman@ymp.gov.

OLA&S:DCH-1658

Enclosures:

- 1. Appendix N, Waste Package and Drip Shield Materials: Passive Film Characteristics, Growth, and Stability, Revision 1 (Response to CLST 1.08 and CLST 1.09)
- 2. Appendix S, Waste Package and Drip Shield Material Analysis, Revision 2 (Response to CLST 2.03 AIN-1)
- 3. CD Appendices N and S of Technical
 Basis Document No. 6: Waste Package
 and Drip Shield Corrosion

cc w/encls 1, 2, and 3:

B. J. Garrick, ACNW, Rockville, MD

W. C. Patrick, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

W. D. Barnard, NWTRB, Arlington, VA

cc w/encl 3:

D. D. Chamberlain, NRC, Arlington, TX

G. P. Hatchett, NRC, Rockville, MD

R. M. Latta, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Parrott, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

D. B. Spitzberg, NRC, Arlington, TX

H. J. Larson, ACNW, Rockville, MD

Budhi Sagar, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

J. R. Egan, Egan & Associates, McLean, VA

J. H. Kessler, EPRI, Charlotte, NC

M. J. Apted, Monitor Scientific, LLC, Denver, CO

Rod McCullum, NEI, Washington, DC

R. R. Loux, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Pat Guinan, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Alan Kalt, Churchill County, Fallon, NV

Irene Navis, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV

George McCorkell, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Ron Damele, Eureka County, Eureka, NV

Michael King, Inyo County, Edmonds, WA

Andrew Remus, Inyo County, Independence, CA

Mickey Yarbro, Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV

Spencer Hafen, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

Linda Mathias, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Pahrump, NV

Mike Simon, White Pine County, Ely, NV

R. I. Holden, National Congress of American Indians, Washington, DC

cc w/o encls:

A. C. Campbell, NRC, Rockville, MD

L. L. Campbell, NRC, Rockville, MD

N. K. Stablein, NRC, Rockville, MD