June 30, 2004

Mr. James J. Sheppard
President and Chief Executive Officer
STP Nuclear Operating Company
South Texas Project Electric
Generating Station
P. O. Box 289
Wadsworth, TX 77483

SUBJECT: CHANGE OF NRC PROJECT MANAGER FOR THE SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT,

UNITS 1 AND 2

Dear Mr. Sheppard:

By letter dated March 10, 2004, we informed you that Mr. Michael K. Webb had been temporarily assigned as the Project Manager (PM) for the South Texas Project, Units 1 and 2, until late June 2004 due to the temporary reassignment of Mr. David H. Jaffe. As of June 21, 2004, Mr. Jaffe has returned to his assignment as PM for the South Texas Project, Units 1 and 2, replacing Mr. Webb. Mr. Jaffe may be reached by telephone at (301) 415-1439.

All direct correspondence for Mr. Jaffe should be sent to:

Mr. David H. Jaffe Addressee Only U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop O-7D1 Washington, DC 20555

This change was effective June 21, 2004.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Robert A. Gramm, Chief, Section 1 Project Directorate IV Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-498 and 50-499

cc: See next page

Mr. James J. Sheppard
President and Chief Executive Officer
STP Nuclear Operating Company
South Texas Project Electric
Generating Station
P. O. Box 289
Wadsworth, TX 77483

SUBJECT: CHANGE OF NRC PROJECT MANAGER FOR THE SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT,

UNITS 1 AND 2

Dear Mr. Sheppard:

By letter dated March 10, 2004, we informed you that Mr. Michael K. Webb had been temporarily assigned as the Project Manager (PM) for the South Texas Project, Units 1 and 2, until late June 2004 due to the temporary reassignment of Mr. David H. Jaffe. As of June 21, 2004, Mr. Jaffe has returned to his assignment as PM for the South Texas Project, Units 1 and 2, replacing Mr. Webb. Mr. Jaffe may be reached by telephone at (301) 415-1439.

All direct correspondence for Mr. Jaffe should be sent to:

Mr. David H. Jaffe Addressee Only U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop O-7D1 Washington, DC 20555

This change was effective June 21, 2004.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Robert A. Gramm, Chief, Section 1

Project Directorate IV

Division of Licensing Project Management
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-498 and 50-499

cc: See next page

Distribution:

PUBLIC RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter RidsNrrDlpmLpdiv1(RGramm)

PDIV-1 r/f RidsOgcRp

RidsNrrDlpmLpdiv (HBerkow) RidsRgn4MailCenter (BJohnson) RidsNrrPMMWebb RidsNrrOd (JDyer/WBorchardt)

RidsNrrPMDJaffe RidsNrrAdpt (BSheron)

RidsNrrLADBaxley LBerry

ACCESSION NO: ML041830169

OFFICE	PDIV-1/PM	PDIV-1/LA	PDIV-1/SC
NAME	DJaffe	DBaxley	RGramm
DATE	6/30/04	6/30/04	6/30/04

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

DOCUMENT NAME: C:\ORPCheckout\FileNET\ML041830169.wpd

## South Texas Project, Units 1 & 2

CC:

Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P. O. Box 910 Bay City, TX 77414

A. Ramirez/C. M. Canady City of Austin Electric Utility Department 721 Barton Springs Road Austin, TX 78704

Mr. L. K. Blaylock Mr. W. C. Gunst City Public Service Board P. O. Box 1771 San Antonio, TX 78296

Mr. C. A. Johnson/A. C. Bakken AEP Texas Central Company P. O. Box 289 Mail Code: N5022 Wadsworth, TX 77483

INPO Records Center 700 Galleria Parkway Atlanta, GA 30339-3064

Regional Administrator, Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011

D. G. Tees/R. L. Balcom Texas Genco, LP P. O. Box 1700 Houston, TX 77251

Judge, Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, TX 77414 A. H. Gutterman, Esq. Morgan, Lewis & Bockius 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20004

Mr. T. J. Jordan, Vice President Engineering & Technical Services STP Nuclear Operating Company P. O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

S. M. Head, Manager, Licensing Nuclear Quality & Licensing Department STP Nuclear Operating Company P. O. Box 289, Mail Code: N5014 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Environmental and Natural Resources Policy Director P. O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-3189

Jon C. Wood Matthews & Branscomb 112 East Pecan, Suite 1100 San Antonio, TX 78205

Arthur C. Tate, Director
Division of Compliance & Inspection
Bureau of Radiation Control
Texas Department of Health
1100 West 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756

Brian Almon
Public Utility Commission
William B. Travis Building
P. O. Box 13326
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701-3326

CC:

Susan M. Jablonski
Office of Permitting, Remediation
and Registration
Texas Commission on
Environmental Quality
MC-122
P.O. Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711-3087

Mr. Terry Parks, Chief Inspector Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation Boiler Division P. O. Box 12157 Austin, TX 78711

Mr. Ted Enos 4200 South Hulen Suite 630 Ft. Worth, Texas 76109