June 2, 2004

Mr. R. Dennis Brown, Director Office of Quality Assurance Office of Repository Development U.S. Department of Energy 1551 Hillshire Drive N Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF THE MAY 4, 2004, U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY

COMMISSION AND THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY QUARTERLY

QUALITY ASSURANCE MEETING

Dear Mr. Brown:

Enclosed is the Summary of the May 4, 2004, Quarterly Quality Assurance (QA) Meeting between the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The purpose of the meeting was to discuss items of mutual interest and those areas contributing to the resolution of QA issues.

The meeting was held at the DOE office in Las Vegas, Nevada and via video conference to the NRC office in Rockville, Maryland, and the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses in San Antonio, Texas. Participants included representatives from the NRC, DOE, Bechtel SAIC Company LLC, the State of Nevada, Clark County, Government Accounting Office, and members of industry and the public.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Thomas Matula of my staff at (301) 415-6700.

Sincerely,

/RA/

C. William Reamer, Director
Division of High Level Waste Repository Safety
Office of Nuclear Material Safety
and Safeguards

Enclosure: Summary of 5/4/04 NRC/DOE Quarterly Quality Assurance Meeting

cc: See attached list

Mr. R. Dennis Brown, Director Office of Quality Assurance Office of Repository Development U.S. Department of Energy 1551 Hillshire Drive N Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF THE MAY 4, 2004, U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION AND THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY QUARTERLY QUALITY ASSURANCE MEETING

Dear Mr. Brown:

Enclosed is the Summary of the May 4, 2004, Quarterly Quality Assurance (QA) Meeting between the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The purpose of the meeting was to discuss items of mutual interest and those areas contributing to the resolution of QA issues.

The meeting was held at the DOE office in Las Vegas, Nevada and via video conference to the NRC office in Rockville, Maryland, and the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses in San Antonio, Texas. Participants included representatives from the NRC, DOE, Bechtel SAIC Company LLC, the State of Nevada, Clark County, Government Accounting Office, and members of industry and the public.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Thomas Matula of my staff at (301) 415-6700.

Sincerely, /RA/ C. William Reamer, Director Division of High Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure: Summary of 5/4/04 NRC/DOE Quarterly Quality Assurance Meeting

## cc: See attached list **DISTRIBUTION:**

**ACNW** PUBLIC **KMcConnell** HLWRS r/f LKokaiko **ECollins** CNWRA KStablein ACampbell LCampbell MBailev FBrown MZobler **MWoods** LChandler MYoung JMoore **TCombs BSpitzberg** WMaier GMorell DHiggs SRohrer OSR GHatchett

\*See Previous Concurrence

ML041540561

OFFICE	HLWRS	HLWRS	OGC	HLWRS	
NAME	SRohrer/DHiggs*	TMatula*	JMoore*	FBrown*	
DATE	06/01/04	06/02/04	05/27/04	06/02/04	
OFFICE	HLWRS				
OFFICE NAME	HLWRS CWReamer*				

Letter to D. Brown from C.W. Reamer, dated: \_\_\_\_June 2, 2004 cc:

A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV

R. Massey, Churchill/Lander County, NV

I. Navis, Clark County, NV

E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV

G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV

L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV

A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV

A. Remus, Inyo County, CA

M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV

S. Hafen, Lincoln County, NV

M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV

L. Mathias, Mineral County, NV

L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV

M. Maher, Nye County, NV

D. Hammermeister, Nye County, NV

M. Simon, White Pine County, NV

J. Ray, NV Congressional Delegation

B. J. Gerber, NV Congressional Delegation

F. Roberson, NV Congressional Delegation

T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation

R. Herbert, NV Congressional Delegation

L. Hunsaker, NV Congressional Delegation

S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation

K. Kirkeby, NV Congressional Delegation

R. Loux, State of NV

S. Frishman, State of NV

S. Lynch, State of NV

P. Guinan, Legislative Counsel Bureau

J. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NV

M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

A. Elzeftawy, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe

J. Treichel, Nuclear Waste Task Force

W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell

M. Chu, DOE/Washington, D.C.

G. Runkle, DOE/Washington, D.C.

C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.

S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.

W. J. Arthur, III, DOE/ORD

R. Dyer, DOE/ORD

J. Ziegler, DOE/ORD

A. Gil, DOE/ORD

W. Boyle, DOE/ORD

D. Brown, DOE/OCRWM

S. Mellington, DOE/ORD

C. Hanlon, DOE/ORD

T. Gunter, DOE/ORD

A. Benson, DOE/ORD

N. Hunemuller, DOE/ORD

M. Mason, BSC

S. Cereghino, BSC

N. Williams, BSC

E. Mueller, BSC

J. Mitchell, BSC

D. Beckman, BSC/B&A

M. Voegele, BSC/SAID

B. Helmer, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe

R. Boland, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe

R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe

J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe

R. Holden, NCAE

cc: (Continued)

R. Clark, EPA

R. Anderson, NEI

R. McCullum, NEI

S. Kraft, NEI

J. Kessler, EPRI

D. Duncan, USGS

R. Craig, USGS

W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD

L. Lehman, T-Reg, Inc.

S. Echols, Esq.

C. Marden, BNFL, Inc.

J. Bacoch, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley

P. Thompson, Duckwater Shoshone Tribe

T. Kingham, GAO

D. Feehan, GAO

E. Hiruo, Platts Nuclear Publications

G. Hernandez, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe

K. Finfrock, NV Congressional Delegation

P. Johnson, Citizen Alert

A. Capoferri, DOE/ Washington, DC

J. Williams, DOE/Washington, DC

C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe

R. Wilder, Fort Independence Indian Tribe

D. Vega, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe

J. Egan, Egan, Fitzpatrick & Malsch, PLLC

J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center

J. C. Saulque, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe

C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes

R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe

L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah

E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe

D. Buckner, Ely Shoshone Tribe

V. Guzman, Walker River Paiute

D. Eddy, Jr., Colorado River Indian Tribes

H. Jackson, Public Citizen

J. Wells, Western Shoshone National Council

D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of NV

I. Zabarte, Western Shoshone National Council

S. Devlin

G. Hudlow

D. Irwin, Hunton & Williams