June 3, 2004

Mr. Robert R. Loux, Executive Director State of Nevada Office of the Governor Agency for Nuclear Projects 1761 E. College Parkway, Suite 118 Carson City, NV 89706

SUBJECT: PETITION FOR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE IN THE LICENSING REVIEW OF

THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN NUCLEAR WASTE REPOSITORY

Dear Mr. Loux:

This letter is to acknowledge receipt of your letter of May 10, 2004, with which you included as an enclosure, "Petition by the State of Nevada Under Atomic Energy Act Section 274i and 10 CFR 63.63 for Financial Assistance in the Licensing Review of the Yucca Mountain Nuclear Waste Repository." The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) acknowledges receipt of your request and will take steps to address it in a timely manner.

Section 63.63(c) of NRC's regulations calls for the Director, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards, to arrange for a meeting between representatives of the State and the NRC to discuss any proposal filed under 63.63. Consistent with that requirement, NRC staff members are willing to meet with State of Nevada representatives at NRC Headquarters in Rockville, Maryland, at a mutually agreeable time during the month of July. After that meeting, NRC will factor the results of the meeting discussions into its decision regarding your petition.

Please contact Mr. C. William Reamer, Director, Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety, if you would like to schedule such a meeting. Mr. Reamer may be reached by telephone at (301) 415-6537, and by e-mail at cbr@nrc.gov.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Jack R. Strosnider, Director Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

cc: See attached list

Letter to R. Loux from J. Strosnider, dated: _____June 3, 2004 cc:

- A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV
- R. Massey, Churchill/Lander County, NV
- I. Navis, Clark County, NV
- E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV
- G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV
- L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV
- A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV
- A. Remus, Inyo County, CA
- M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV
- S. Hafen, Lincoln County, NV
- M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV
- L. Mathias, Mineral County, NV
- L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV
- M. Maher, Nye County, NV
- D. Hammermeister, Nye County, NV
- M. Simon, White Pine County, NV
- J. Ray, NV Congressional Delegation
- B. J. Gerber, NV Congressional Delegation
- F. Roberson, NV Congressional Delegation
- T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation
- R. Herbert, NV Congressional Delegation
- L. Hunsaker, NV Congressional Delegation
- S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation
- K. Kirkeby, NV Congressional Delegation
- R. Loux, State of NV
- S. Frishman, State of NV
- S. Lynch, State of NV
- P. Guinan, Legislative Counsel Bureau
- J. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NV
- M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

- A. Elzeftawy, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
- J. Treichel, Nuclear Waste Task Force
- W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell
- M. Chu, DOE/Washington, D.C.
- G. Runkle, DOE/Washington, D.C.
- C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.
- S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.
- W. J. Arthur, III, DOE/ORD
- R. Dyer, DOE/ORD
- J. Ziegler, DOE/ORD
- A. Gil, DOE/ORD
- W. Boyle, DOE/ORD
- D. Brown, DOE/OCRWM
- S. Mellington, DOE/ORD
- C. Hanlon, DOE/ORD
- T. Gunter, DOE/ORD
- A. Benson, DOE/ORD
- N. Hunemuller, DOE/ORD
- M. Mason, BSC
- S. Cereghino, BSC
- N. Williams, BSC
- E. Mueller, BSC
- J. Mitchell, BSC
- D. Beckman, BSC/B&A
- M. Voegele, BSC/SAID
- B. Helmer, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- R. Boland, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe
- J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe
- R. Holden, NCAE

cc: (Continued)

R. Clark, EPA

R. Anderson, NEI

R. McCullum, NEI

S. Kraft, NEI

J. Kessler, EPRI

D. Duncan, USGS

R. Craig, USGS

W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD

L. Lehman, T-Reg, Inc.

S. Echols, Esq.

C. Marden, BNFL, Inc.

J. Bacoch, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley

P. Thompson, Duckwater Shoshone Tribe

T. Kingham, GAO

D. Feehan, GAO

E. Hiruo, Platts Nuclear Publications

G. Hernandez, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe

K. Finfrock, NV Congressional Delegation

P. Johnson, Citizen Alert

A. Capoferri, DOE/ Washington, DC

J. Williams, DOE/Washington, DC

C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe

R. Wilder, Fort Independence Indian Tribe

D. Vega, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe

J. Egan, Egan, Fitzpatrick & Malsch, PLLC

J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center

J. C. Saulque, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe

C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes

R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe

L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah

E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe

D. Buckner, Ely Shoshone Tribe

V. Guzman, Walker River Paiute

D. Eddy, Jr., Colorado River Indian Tribes

H. Jackson, Public Citizen

J. Wells, Western Shoshone National Council

D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of NV

I. Zabarte, Western Shoshone National Council

S. Devlin

G. Hudlow

D. Irwin, Hunton & Williams

Mr. Robert R. Loux, Executive Director State of Nevada Office of the Governor Agency for Nuclear Projects 1761 E. College Parkway, Suite 118 Carson City, NV 89706

SUBJECT: PETITION FOR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE IN THE LICENSING REVIEW OF

THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN NUCLEAR WASTE REPOSITORY

Dear Mr. Loux:

This letter is to acknowledge receipt of your letter of May 10, 2004, with which you included as an enclosure, "Petition by the State of Nevada Under Atomic Energy Act Section 274i and 10 CFR 63.63 for Financial Assistance in the Licensing Review of the Yucca Mountain Nuclear Waste Repository." The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) acknowledges receipt of your request and will take steps to address it in a timely manner.

Section 63.63(c) of NRC's regulations calls for the Director, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards, to arrange for a meeting between representatives of the State and the NRC to discuss any proposal filed under 63.63. Consistent with that requirement, NRC staff members are willing to meet with State of Nevada representatives at NRC Headquarters in Rockville, Maryland, at a mutually agreeable time during the month of July. After that meeting, NRC will factor the results of the meeting discussions into its decision regarding your petition.

Please contact Mr. C. William Reamer, Director, Division of High-Level Waste Repository Safety, if you would like to schedule such a meeting. Mr. Reamer may be reached by telephone at (301) 415-6537, and by e-mail at cbr@nrc.gov.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Jack R. Strosnider, Director Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

cc: See attached list

DISTRIBUTION: G20040351

HLWRS r/f	NMSS r/f	NMSS Dir. Off. r/f	EDO r/f	ACNW	LKokajko
ECollins	CNWRA	LCampbell	LChandler	KStablein	ACampbell
MYoung	JMoore	MBailey	FBrown	MZobler	BSpitzberg
WMaier	GMorell	TCombs	MWoods	DHiggs	SRohrer
KMcConnell	GHatchett	PShea	BFleming	MRodgers	OSRs

*See Previous Concurrence

ML041470182

OFC	HLWRS	HLWRS	OGC	NMSS
NAME	NKStablein*	CWReamer*	JMoore*	JRStrosnider
DATE	05/26/04	05/27/04	05/28/04	6/3/04