April 30, 2004

Mr. Stephen A. Byrne Sr. Vice President, Nuclear Operations South Carolina Electric & Gas Company Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Post Office Box 88, Mail Code 800 Jenkinsville, SC 29065

SUBJECT: CHANGE IN SECTION CHIEF RE: VIRGIL C. SUMMER NUCLEAR STATION

Dear Mr. Byrne:

While John A. Nakoski is supporting the Security Plan Review Team (SPRT) effort,

May 3, 2004, through November 12, 2004, Project Directorate II-1 Section Chief responsibilities will be reassigned. Effective May 3, 2004, for approximately 3 months, Ms. Stephanie M. Coffin will be the PDII-1 Section Chief with responsibilities for the Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station. Ms. Coffin can be reached at 301-415-2024. I will inform you at a later date of whom will be assuming Section Chief responsibilities for the remainder of the period Mr. Nakoski is supporting SPRT.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

Edwin M. Hackett, Director Project Directorate II Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket No. 50-395

cc: See next page

Mr. Stephen A. Byrne April 30, 2004 Sr. Vice President, Nuclear Operations South Carolina Electric & Gas Company Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Post Office Box 88, Mail Code 800 Jenkinsville, SC 29065

SUBJECT: CHANGE IN SECTION CHIEF RE: VIRGIL C. SUMMER NUCLEAR STATION

Dear Mr. Byrne:

While John A. Nakoski is supporting the Security Plan Review Team (SPRT) effort, May 3, 2004, through November 12, 2004, Project Directorate II-1 Section Chief responsibilities will be reassigned. Effective May 3, 2004, for approximately 3 months, Ms. Stephanie M. Coffin will be the PDII-1 Section Chief with responsibilities for the Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station. Ms. Coffin can be reached at 301-415-2024. I will inform you at a later date of whom will be assuming Section Chief responsibilities for the remainder of the period Mr. Nakoski is supporting SPRT.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

Edwin M. Hackett, Director Project Directorate II Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket No. 50-395

cc: See next page

DISTRIBUTION: See enclosed list

OFFICE	PDII-1/PM	PDII-2/LA	PDII-1/SC	PDII-1/D
NAME	JANakosk ifor: KCotton	JANakoski for: BClayton	JNakoski	WFBurton for: E Hackett
DATE	4/30/04	4/29/04	4/30/04	4/30/04

ADAMS Accession No. ML041210852

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Mr. Stephen A. Byrne South Carolina Electric & Gas Company

CC:

Mr. R. J. White, Nuclear Coordinator S.C. Public Service Authority c/o Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Post Office Box 88, Mail Code 802 Jenkinsville, South Carolina 29065

Resident Inspector/Summer NPS c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 576 Stairway Road Jenkinsville, South Carolina 29065

Chairman, Fairfield County Council Drawer 60 Winnsboro, South Carolina 29180

Mr. Henry Porter, Assistant Director Division of Waste Management Bureau of Land & Waste Management Dept. of Health & Environmental Control 2600 Bull Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Mr. Jeffrey B. Archie, General Manager Nuclear Plant Operations South Carolina Electric & Gas Company Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Post Office Box 88, Mail Code 300 Jenkinsville, South Carolina 29065

Mr. Ronald B. Clary, Manager Nuclear Licensing South Carolina Electric & Gas Company Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Post Office Box 88, Mail Code 830 Jenkinsville, South Carolina 29065

Ms. Kathryn M. Sutton, Esquire Winston & Strawn Law Firm 1400 L Street, NW Washington, DC 20005-3502

DISTRIBUTION FOR - CHANGE IN SECTION CHIEF RE: VIRGIL C. SUMMER NUCLEAR STATION

Dated: April 30, 2004

DISTRIBUTION: PUBLIC PDII-1 R/F RidsNrrOd (JDyer) RidsNrrDlpm (LMarsh/ELeeds) RidsNrrDlpmLpdii (EHackett) RidsNrrDlpmLpdii1 (JNakoski) RidsNrrPMKCotton BClayton (HardCopy) SCoffin RidsOgcRp RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter RidsRgn2MailCenter (KLandis) LBerry