

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

March 12, 2004

THIS LETTER WAS ISSUED TO THOSE ON THE ATTACHED LIST.

SUBJECT: NOTIFICATION OF UPCOMING MEETING

Dear _____:

Each year, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) conducts an integrated assessment of nuclear power plant performance. This assessment is based upon the risk significance of the inspection findings by the NRC's resident and region-based inspectors and the insights gained from the licensee-provided performance indicators. The results are then communicated with the public through a public meeting held in the vicinity of each nuclear power plant. Nationally, plants with significant performance shortcomings are reviewed by the NRC's senior management and discussed with the Commission in a public meeting in Rockville, Maryland.

We have completed the annual assessment associated with the 2003 inspections and performance indicators for the Callaway Plant. The results can be found on the NRC web site at <u>http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/index.html</u>. We have also scheduled a public meeting to discuss the results. The meeting for the Callaway Plant is scheduled for 7 p.m. on Wednesday, April 7, 2004, at the Capitol Plaza Hotel, located at 415 North McCarty Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.

In conjunction with this meeting, we are offering all local decision-makers an opportunity to meet separately with an NRC Region IV manager and myself, the NRC Senior Resident Inspector at the Callaway Plant, immediately following the public meeting. This opportunity is intended to provide you a forum to ask any questions that you may have and to let you meet personally the NRC personnel with whom you would interface in the event of an emergency at the nuclear power plant.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter will be made available electronically for public inspection in the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at <u>http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html</u> (the Public Electronic Reading Room).

I fully anticipate that you will find this opportunity responsive to your needs and I look forward to personally greeting you at the meeting. Should you have any questions concerning this initiative, please contact me at 573/676-3181.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Michael S. Peck Senior Resident Inspector Callaway Plant

INDIVIDUAL LETTERS WERE SENT TO:

Tim Diemler Emergency Preparedness Director Callaway County/Fulton P.O. Box 817 Fulton, MO 65251

Lee Fritz Presiding Commissioner Callaway County Courthouse 10 East 5th Street Fulton, MO 65251

Robert Rankin Eastern District Commissioner Callaway County Courthouse 10 East 5th Street Fulton, MO 65251

Rodney Garnett Western District Commissioner Callaway County Courthouse 10 East 5th Street Fulton, MO 65251

The Honorable Robert Craghead Mayor of Fulton Fulton City Hall P.O. Box 130 Fulton, MO 65251

William Johnson Fulton City Administrator Fulton City Hall P.O. Box 130 Fulton, MO 65251

Steve Myers Chief of Police Fulton City Hall P.O. Box 130 Fulton, MO 65251 Dennis Crane Sheriff, Callaway County P.O. Box 817 Fulton, MO 65251

The Honorable Tom Shackelford Mayor of Mokane P.O. Box 41 Mokane, MO 65059

Richard Hudson, Director Emergency Management Gasconade County Courthouse P.O. Box 295 Hermann, MO 65041

Ron Jost Presiding Commissioner Gasconade County Courthouse 119 East First Street Hermann, MO 65041

Max Aubuchon Northern District Commissioner Gasconade County Courthouse 119 East First Street Hermann, MO 65041

Jerry Lairmore Southern District Commissioner Gasconade County Courthouse 119 East First Street Hermann, MO 65041

Glenn Ebker Sheriff, Gasconade County Gasconade County Courthouse 119 East First Street Hermann, MO 65041

Fay Owsley (Ms.) Gasconade County Public Administrator Gasconade County Courthouse 119 East First Street Hermann, MO 65041 The Honorable Samuel Birk Mayor of Morrison Route 1 Morrison, MO 65061

Bob Bishop Emergency Management Director Montgomery County Courthouse 211 East Third Montgomery City, MO 63361

Charles Korman Presiding Commissioner Montgomery County Courthouse 211 East Third Montgomery City, MO 63361

Rich Daniels First District Commissioner Montgomery County Courthouse 211 East Third Montgomery City, MO 63361

John Noltensmeyer Second District Commissioner Montgomery County Courthouse 211 East Third Montgomery City, MO 63361

Robert Davis Sheriff, Montgomery County Montgomery County Courthouse 211 East Third Montgomery City, MO 63361

The Honorable Steve Wehrle Mayor of Rhineland P.O. Box 384 Rhineland, MO 65069

Bradley Strope Emergency Management Director Osage County Courthouse P.O. Box 1011 Linn, MO 65051 Russell J. Scheulen Presiding Commissioner Osage County Courthouse P.O. Box 826 Linn, MO 65051

Jerry G. Wolfe First District Commissioner Osage County Courthouse P.O. Box 826 Linn, MO 65051

Daryl L. Luecke Second District Commissioner Osage County Courthouse P.O. Box 826 Linn, MO 65051

Carl Fowler Sheriff, Osage County Osage County Courthouse P.O. Box 826 Linn, MO 65051

The Honorable Vernon McKague Mayor of Chamois Star Route Chamois, MO 65024

Dr. William H. Miller, Professor of Nuclear Engineering E2436 Engineering Building East Nuclear Science and Engineering Institute University of Missouri-Columbia Columbia, MO 65211