

Maryland.

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

March 15, 2004

THIS LETTER WAS ISSUED TO THOSE ON THE ATTACHED LIST.

SUBJECT: NOTIFICATION OF UPCOMING MEETING

Dear:
Each year, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) conducts an integrated assessment of nuclear power plant performance. This assessment is based upon the risk significance of the inspection findings by the NRC's resident and region-based inspectors and the insights gained from the licensee-provided performance indicators. The results are then communicated with the public through a public meeting held in the vicinity of each nuclear
power plant. Nationally, plants with significant performance shortcomings are reviewed by the

NRC's senior management and discussed with the Commission in a public meeting in Rockville.

We have completed the annual assessment associated with the 2003 inspections and performance indicators for Arkansas Nuclear One (ANO). The results can be found on the NRC web site at http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/index.html. We have also scheduled a public meeting to discuss the results. The meeting for ANO is scheduled for 7 p.m. on Tuesday, March 30, 2004, at the Holiday Inn in the Nebo Room, located at Highway 7 South and Interstate 40 in Russellville.

In conjunction with this meeting, we are offering all local decision-makers an opportunity to meet separately with an NRC Region IV manager and myself, the NRC Senior Resident Inspector at ANO, immediately following the public meeting. This opportunity is intended to provide you a forum to ask any questions that you may have and to let you meet personally the NRC personnel with whom you would interface in the event of an emergency at the nuclear power plant.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.390 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter will be made available electronically for public inspection in the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html (the Public Electronic Reading Room).

I fully anticipate that you will find this opportunity responsive to your needs and I look forward to personally greeting you at the meeting. Should you have any questions concerning this initiative, please contact me at 479-968-3290.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Richard W. Deese Senior Resident Inspector Arkansas Nuclear One

INDIVIDUAL LETTERS WERE SENT TO:

Bernard Bevill
Radiation Control Team Leader
Division of Radiation Control and
Emergency Management
Arkansas Department of Health
4815 West Markham Street, Mail Slot 30
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205-3867

Colonel Wayne Ruthven Arkansas Department of Emergency Management P.O. Box 758 Conway, AR 72033

Dewey Traylor Emergency Service Coordinator Pope County No. 4 Emergency Lane Russellville, AR 72801

Charlie Smith
Emergency Service Coordinator
Yell County Courthouse
Union Street
Dardanelle, AR 72834

Fred Taylor
Emergency Service Coordinator
Johnson County Office of Emergency Services
P.O. Box 546
Clarksville, AR 72830

Don Fairbanks
Emergency Service Coordinator
Logan County Office of Emergency Services
Logan County Courthouse
Paris, AR 72855

The Honorable Steve Pfeifer Mayor of Danville P.O. Box 69 Danville, AR 72833

The Honorable Bill Elsken Mayor of Paris P.O. Box 271 Paris, AR 72855 The Honorable Billy Helms Mayor of Clarksville 205 Walnut Street Clarksville, AR 72830-3005

The Honorable Carolyn McGee Mayor of Dardanelle P.O. Box 360 Dardanelle, AR 72834

The Honorable Johnny Waldo Mayor of Dover P.O. Box 258 Dover, AR 72837

The Honorable Jerry Don Barrett Mayor of Atkins P.O. Box 128 Atkins, AR 72823

The Honorable Raye Turner Mayor of Russellville P.O. Box 428 Russellville, AR 72811

The Honorable Edwin Price Mayor of London P.O. Box 130 London, AR 72847

The Honorable Stewart Nelson Mayor of Morrilton City Hall P.O. Box 583 Morrilton, AR 72110

The Honorable Jimmy L. Witt Judge of Yell County Danville Courthouse P.O. Box 219 Danville, AR 72833

The Honorable Jimmy Hart Judge of Conway County 117 South Moose, Room 203 Morrilton, AR 72110

The Honorable Mike Jacobs Judge of Johnson County P.O. Box 278 Clarksville, AR 72830 The Honorable Edgar Holt Judge of Logan County Room 22 Paris, AR 72855

The Honorable Jim Ed Gibson Judge of Pope County Courthouse 100 West Main Street Russellville, AR 72801