March 24, 2004

Mr. Lew W. Myers Chief Operating Officer FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station 5501 North State Route 2 Oak Harbor, OH 43449-9760

Dear Mr. Myers:

This letter confirms the discussion between members of our staffs to discuss plant performance and planned activities for the Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station, as part of the implementation of NRC's Inspection Manual Chapter (IMC) 0350 "Oversight of Operating Reactor Facilities in a Shutdown Condition with Performance Problems." The meeting will be held April 8, 2004, from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. (EST) at the Oak Harbor High School. This meeting is open to the public.

The Davis-Besse Oversight Panel will also be conducting a separate meeting beginning at 6:00 p.m. (EST) with the local public at the Oak Harbor High School to present the status of the NRC's activities in these areas and to answer any questions from members of the public.

We will gladly discuss any questions you may have concerning this matter.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Christine A. Lipa, Chief Branch 4 Division of Reactor Projects

Docket No. 50-346 License No. NPF-3

See Attached Distribution

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without attachment/enclosure "E" = Copy with attachment/enclosure "N" = No copy OFFICE RIII RIII NAME RBaker/trn CLipa DATE 03/24/04 03/24/04

DOCUMENT NAME: C:\ORPCheckout\FileNET\ML040840626.wpd <u>To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box:</u> <u>"C" = Copy without attachment/enclosure</u> <u>"E" = Copy with attachment/enclosure</u> <u>"N" = No copy</u>

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

L. Myers

The Honorable Dennis Kucinich CC: G. Leidich, President - FENOC J. Hagan, Senior Vice President Engineering and Services, FENOC Plant Manager Manager - Regulatory Affairs M. O'Reilly, Attorney, FirstEnergy **Ohio State Liaison Officer** R. Owen, Administrator, Ohio Department of Health Public Utilities Commission of Ohio President, Board of County Commissioners of Lucas County C. Koebel, President, Ottawa County **Board of Commissioners** D. Lochbaum, Union Of Concerned Scientists J. Riccio, Greenpeace P. Gunter, N.I.R.S. C. Emahiser, Ottawa County Sheriff J. P. Greer, Director, Ottawa County Emergency Management Agency H. Barlos, President, Lucas County **Board of Commissioners** J. Telb, Lucas County Sheriff B. Halsey, Director, Lucas County Emergency Management Agency G. Adams, Village Administrator, Genoa The Honorable John Weber The Honorable Lowell C. Krumnow The Honorable Joseph Verkin The Honorable Thomas Leaser The Honorable Jack Ford The Honorable Thomas Brown The Honorable Jacqueline Bird INPO

L. Myers

ADAMS Distribution: AJM DFT DWW Project Director, NRR Project Mgr., NRR RidsNrrDipmlipb JLC1 GEG HBC RML2 SRI Davis-Besse DRPIII DRSIII PLB1 JRK1 DB0350