

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

March 19, 2004

SUBJECT: PUBLIC MEETING WITH ENTERGY OPERATIONS, INC.

FACILITY: River Bend Station

DOCKET: 50-458

DATE & TIME: Tuesday, April 13, 2004

7 p.m.

LOCATION: Jackson Hall

> Grace Episcopal Church 11621 Ferdinand Street St. Francisville. Louisiana

PURPOSE: The purpose of the meeting is to describe the reactor oversight

> process, discuss licensee performance at River Bend Station during calendar year 2003, and discuss topics of potential interest to the public. The annual assessment letter for River Bend Station can be

located at:

www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/LETTERS/rbs_2003q4.pdf.

CATEGORY 1: This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with

the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is

adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

Arthur Howell III, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

David Graves, Chief, Project Branch B, DRP Peter Alter, Senior Resident Inspector, DRP Michael Miller, Resident Inspector, DRP Victor Dricks, Public Affairs Officer

Entergy Operations, Inc.

Paul Hinnenkamp, Vice President-Operations Rick King, Director, Nuclear Safety Assurance

Joseph Malara, Director, Engineering

MEETING CONTACT: David N. Graves

> 817-860-8141 dng@nrc.gov

cc:

Paul D. Hinnenkamp Vice President - Operations Entergy Operations, Inc. River Bend Station 5485 US Highway 61N St. Francisville, LA 70775

Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, MS 39286-1995

Vice President
Operations Support
Entergy Operations, Inc.
P.O. Box 31995
Jackson, MS 39286-1995

General Manager Plant Operations Entergy Operations, Inc. River Bend Station 5485 US Highway 61N St. Francisville, LA 70775

Director - Nuclear Safety Entergy Operations, Inc. River Bend Station 5485 US Highway 61N St. Francisville, LA 70775

Wise, Carter, Child & Caraway P.O. Box 651 Jackson, MS 39205

Mark J. Wetterhahn, Esq. Winston & Strawn 1401 L Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20005-3502

Manager - Licensing Entergy Operations, Inc. River Bend Station 5485 US Highway 61N St. Francisville, LA 70775 The Honorable Charles C. Foti, Jr. Attorney General Department of Justice State of Louisiana P.O. Box 94005 Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9005

H. Anne Plettinger 3456 Villa Rose Drive Baton Rouge, LA 70806

Burt Babers, President West Feliciana Parish Police Jury P.O. Box 1921 St. Francisville, LA 70775

Michael E. Henry, State Liaison Officer Department of Environmental Quality Permits Division P.O. Box 4313 Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4313

Brian Almon
Public Utility Commission
William B. Travis Building
P.O. Box 13326
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78711-3326

Jimmy Bello, President Pointe Coupe Parish Police Jury P.O. Box 290 New Roads, LA 70760

James Hunt, President East Feliciana Parish Police Jury P.O. Box 427 Clinton, LA 70722

Riley Berthelot, Jr., Parish President West Baton Rouge Parish Counsel P.O. Box 757 Port Allen, LA 70767 Bobby Simpson, Mayor-President Office of the Mayor-President East Baton Rouge Parish P.O. Box 1471 Baton Rouge, LA 70821

Federal Emergency Management Agency ATTN: Ron Castleman, Regional Director Region VI, Federal Center 800 North Loop 288 Denton, TX 76201-3698

Jim Brewer
Assistant Chief Administrative Officer
Office of the Mayor/President
East Baton Rouge Parish
P.O. Box 1471
Baton Rouge, LA 70821

Joanne Moreau, Director
Office of Homeland Security and
Emergency Preparedness
East Baton Rouge Parish
P.O. Box 1471
Baton Rouge, LA 70821

Charles LeBlanc, Director Office of Emergency Preparedness West Baton Rouge Parish P.O. Box 757 Port Allen, LA 70767

Don Ewing, Director Office of Emergency Preparedness Pointe Coupee Parish P.O. Box 248 New Roads, LA 70760

Col. Michael L. Brown, Assistant Director Military Department Louisiana Office of Emergency Preparedness P.O. Box 44217 7667 Independence Blvd. Baton Rouge, LA 70806 Jesse Means, Jr., Director Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness West Feliciana Parish P.O. Box 1927 St. Francisville, LA 70775

T. W. Prewitt, Director
Office of Homeland Security and
Emergency Preparedness
East Feliciana Parish
P.O. Box 640
Jackson, LA 70748

The Honorable William D'Aquilla Mayor, Town of St. Francisville P.O. Box 400 St. Francisville, LA 70775 E-Mail To:

() NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS B. Sheron, ADPT

JWC1 J. Craig, Associate Director for Inspections & Programs

OEMAIL D/OE

RLF2 R. Franovich, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

TXR T. Reis

RXT R. Tadesse, RIV EDO Coordinator MKW M. Webb, Project Manager, NRR

V. Dricks, PAO VLD W. Maier, RSLO WAM GMV M. Vasquez, ES JAC1, CJG **RA Secretaries** LAO, DLF, MJS **DRP** Division LMB, NLH, JLH2 **DRS** Division CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS** Division J. Pellet, IRM JLP LPL P. Longdo

ADAMS: ¥ Yes □ No Initials: dng

■ Publicly Available □ Non-Publicly Available □ Sensitive
■ Non-Sensitive

R:_RB\2004\RB4-13-04MN-EOC.wpd

RIV:C:DRP/B	PAO	RSLO	
DNGraves;df	VLDricks	WAMaier	
/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	