

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

March 16, 2004

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH NEBRASKA PUBLIC POWER DISTRICT

FACILITY: Cooper Nuclear Station

DOCKET: 50-298

DATE AND TIME: April 6, 2004

7 p.m.

LOCATION: Brownville Concert Hall

Atlantic Avenue and Second Street

Brownville, NE 68321

PURPOSE: This is the end-of-cycle public meeting between the NRC and

Nebraska Public Power District to present and discuss

performance results of Cooper Nuclear Station for the period of

January 1 through December 31, 2003.

CATEGORY 1: Members of the public are invited to observe the meeting and will

have the opportunity to communicate with the NRC after the business portion of the meeting, but before the meeting is

adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

S. Collins, Deputy Executive Director for Reactor Programs

B. Mallett, Regional Administrator

A. Howell, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

K. Kennedy, Chief, Project Branch C, DRP S. Schwind, Senior Resident Inspector, DRP

S. Cochrum, Resident Inspector, DRP

UTILITY

W. Fehrman, President and Chief Executive Officer

R. Edington, Vice President-Nuclear and Chief Nuclear Officer

S. Minahan, Acting Site Vice President/General Manager

G. Kline, General Manager, Engineering

MEETING CONTACT: Kriss M. Kennedy, NRC, RIV

817/860-8144 kmk@nrc.gov CC:

Randall K. Edington, Vice President-Nuclear and CNO Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

Clay C. Warren, Vice President-Nuclear Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, NE 68602-0499

P. V. Fleming, Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, NE 68509-8922

Chairman
Nemaha County Board of Commissioners
Nemaha County Courthouse
1824 N Street
Auburn, NE 68305

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, NE 68509-5007

Ronald A. Kucera, Deputy Director for Public Policy Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, MO 65101 Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0116

Chief, Radiation and Asbestos Control Section Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310 Topeka, KS 66612-1366

Daniel K. McGhee Bureau of Radiological Health Iowa Department of Public Health 401 SW 7th Street, Suite D Des Moines, IA 50309

William J. Fehrman, President and Chief Executive Officer Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, NE 68601

Marlin Logan Presiding Commissioner Atchison County P.O. Box 280 Rock Port, MO 64482

Dennis Martin, Sheriff Atchison County Sheriff's Office 511 West Clay Rock Port, MO 64482

Brent Lottman, Sheriff 1805 N Street Auburn, NE 68305

Dick Moody, Chairman Nemaha County Board of Commissioners Nemaha County Courthouse 1824 N Street Auburn, NE 68305 Dick Hainje, Regional Director Federal Emergency Management Agency Region VII 2323 Grand Blvd., Suite 900 Kansas City, MO 64108-2670

Robert Leopold, State Liaison Officer Nebraska Health and Human Services Department of Regulation and Licensure Assurance 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, NE 68509-5007

Al Berndt, Assistant Director Emergency Management Agency 1300 Military Road Lincoln, NE 68508

Scott Clardy, Director Section for Environmental Public Health P.O. Box 570 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570 E-Mail To:

() NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS B. Sheron, ADPT

JWC1 J. Craig, Associate Director for Inspections & Programs

OEMAIL D/OE

RLF2 R. Franovich, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

TXR T. Reis

RXT R. Tadesse, RIV EDO Coordinator MCH3 M. Honcharik, Project Manager, NRR

V. Dricks, PAO VLD W. Maier, RSLO WAM GFS G. Sanborn, EO M. Vasquez, ES GMV JAC1, CJG RA Secretaries LAO, DLF, MJS **DRP** Division LMB, NLH, JLH2 **DRS** Division CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS** Division JLP J. Pellet, IRM LPL P. Longdo

ADAMS: **★** Yes □ No Initials: wcw

■ Publicly Available □ Non-Publicly Available □ Sensitive ■ Non-Sensitive

R:_CNS\2004\CN4-6-04MN-EOC.wpd

RIV:SPE:DRP/C	C:DRP/C	PAO	RSLO	
WCWalker;df	KMKennedy	VLDricks	WAMaier	
/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	
3/9/04	3/16/04	3/16/04	3/16/04	