

Department of Energy

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management
Office of Repository Development
1551 Hillshire Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

QA: N/A Project No. WM-00011

MAR 12 2004

OVERNIGHT MAIL

ATTN: Document Control Desk Chief, High-Level Waste Branch DWM/NMSS U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852-2738

TRANSMITTAL OF KEY TECHNICAL ISSUE (KTI) AGREEMENT ITEMS CONTAINER LIFE AND SOURCE TERM (CLST) 5.01, EVOLUTION OF THE NEAR-FIELD ENVIRONMENT (ENFE) 5.01, AND RADIONUCLIDE TRANSPORT (RT) 4.01

References: (1) Ltr, Brocoum to Reamer, dtd 2/21/01

(2) Ltr, Ziegler to Chief, High-Level Waste Branch, dtd 11/17/03

Reference 1 transmitted Revision 1 of the *Disposal Criticality Analysis Methodology Topical Report* (YMP/TR-004Q). Reference 2 transmitted Revision 2 of the *Disposal Criticality Analysis Methodology Topical Report*. Transmittal of these reports was also intended to satisfy KTI agreements CLST 5.01, ENFE 5.01, and RT 4.01, that read as follows:

Provide Revision 1 to the Topical Report. DOE stated that it will provide the Disposal Criticality Analysis Methodology Topical Report, Revision 01 to NRC during January 2001.

The U.S. Department of Energy considers KTI Agreements CLST 5.01, ENFE 5.01, and RT 4.01 to have been fully addressed by References 1 and 2, and requests closure of these agreement items.

There are no new regulatory commitments in this letter.

Please direct any questions concerning this letter to David C. Haught at (702) 794-5474 or Paige R.Z. Russell at (702) 794-1315.

OLA&S:DCH-0794

Office of License Application & Strategy

MMSSD7

cc:

C. W. Reamer, NRC, Rockville, MD

A. C. Campbell, NRC, Rockville, MD

L. L. Campbell, NRC, Rockville, MD

D. D. Chamberlain, NRC, Arlington, TX

D. J. Galvin, NRC, Rockville, MD

G. P. Hatchett, NRC, Rockville, MD

R. M. Latta, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Parrott, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

D. B. Spitzberg, NRC, Arlington, TX

N. K. Stablein, NRC, Rockville, MD

B. J. Garrick, ACNW, Rockville, MD

H. J. Larson, ACNW, Rockville, MD

W. C. Patrick, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

Budhi Sagar, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

J. R. Egan, Egan & Associates, McLean, VA

J. H. Kessler, EPRI, Palo Alto, CA

M. J. Apted, Monitor Scientific, LLC, Denver, CO

Rod McCullum, NEI, Washington, DC

W. D. Barnard, NWTRB, Arlington, VA

R. R. Loux, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Pat Guinan, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Alan Kalt, Churchill County, Fallon, NV

Irene Navis, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV

George McCorkell, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Leonard Fiorenzi, Eureka County, Eureka, NV

Andrew Remus, Inyo County, Independence, CA

Michael King, Inyo County, Edmonds, WA

Mickey Yarbro, Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV

Spencer Hafen, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

Linda Mathias, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Pahrump, NV

Mike Simon, White Pine County, Ely, NV

R. I. Holden, National Congress of American Indians, Washington, DC