NICHOLAS D. LEWIS Chairman

STATE OF WASHINGTON

ENERGY FACILITY SITE EVALUATION COUNCIL

Mail Stop PY-11 • Olympia, Washington 98504 • (206) 459-6490 • (SCAN) 585-6490

MEMORANDUM

DATE:

May 17, 1983

TO:

High-Level Nuclear Waste Management Task Force Members:

Brian J. Boyle, Commissioner of Public Lands David Stevens, Assistant to the Governor

Alan J. Gibbs, Secretary, Department of Social and Health Services

Donald Moos, Director, Department of Ecology

Richard Watson, Acting Director, Washington State Energy Office Karen Rahm, Director, Planning and Community Affairs Agency

Senator Al Williams

Representative Shirley Hankins

Senator Max Benitz

Representative Dick Nelson

Sue Gould, Advisory Council Chair.

FROM:

Nicholas D. Lewis, Chairman Base /allice

SUBJECT: May 20, 1983 Task Force Meeting

On May 20, 1983 a meeting will be held at 1:30 p.m. in the Governor's conference room. Senate Bill 3273 has been signed by the Governor and, therefore, this will be the first meeting of the "Nuclear Waste Policy and Review Board" chaired by Susan Gould. A number of important issues need to be discussed, including the passage of this legislation. The following agenda is planned:

- Review of Substitute Senate Bill 3273 (Radioactive Waste Management Act)
- 2) Discussion of the Golder SCR Review, and submittal to the Department of Energy
- 3) Report on U.S. DOE guideline meeting in Dallas (Don Provost)
- Report by Murphy & Davenport on Consultation and Cooperation 4) strategy
- Report by John Gervers--items of interest in other states Adjourn--5:00 p.m.

Enclosed for your	information w	WM Record File / 01.3		proposed transmittal WM Project Wri-10 Docket No PDR LPDR		letter
	Di	stribution: Wker.	10	R		
280162 830517	<u></u>	रहर्ड	HY]		
280162 830517 NASTE		OB	RM			

(Return to Wift, 623-SS

PDR

00442

Task Force May 17, 1983 Page 2

to the Department of Energy of the Golder report and some additional comments. Please plan to discuss this matter at Friday's meeting.

NDL/BGE/1m

Encl.

cc: Task Force Designees:

John Beare
Don Provost
Ray Lasmanis
Chuck Clarke
Ed McGuire
Hub Miller
Lee Olson
Don Godard
John Gervers
Fred Adair
Eleonore Price