IOHN SPELLMAN Governor



WM Project M-10
Docket No. PDR

LPDR\_

NICHOLAS D. LEWIS Chairman

STATE OF WASHINGTON

## ENERGY FACILITY SITE EVALUATION COUNCIL

Mail Stop PY-11 • Olympia Washington 98504 (200) 159.6490 • (SCAN) 585-6490 (Return to WM, 623-SS)

MEMORANDUM

WM Record File . 101. 3 WM Dir. WM Dep. Dir. WMPI WMLL WMHT. HM WMHL WMUR. Others.

March 15, 1983

TO:

High-Level Nuclear Waste Management Task Force Members:

Brian J. Boyle, Commissioner of Public Lands David Stevens, Assistant to the Governor

Alan J. Gibbs, Secretary, Department of Social and

Health Services

Donald Moos, Director, Department of Ecology

Richard Watson, Acting Director, Washington State

Energy Office

Karen Rahm, Director, Planning and Community Affairs

Agency

Senator Al Williams

Representative Shirley Hankins

Senator Max Benitz

Representative Dick Nelson

Sue Gould, Advisory Council Chairman

FROM:

Nicholas D. Lewis, Chairman

SUBJECT: February 18, 1983 Task Force Meeting Summary

The Task Force meeting began at 1:45 p.m. in the Governor's Conference Room with Chairman Lewis presiding.

Task Force members present were: Don Moos, Dick Watson, Dave
Stevens, Shirley Hankins and Nick Lewis. Task Force designees
present were: Sam Reed, Ray Lasmanis and Don Provost. Advisory
Council members present were: Sue Gould, Jerry Finnigan, Joe
Jackson, Estella Leopold, Bill Sebero, Jim Worthington, Ron
Greenen, Warren Bishop and Fred Jarrett. Also sitting in on the

و معالي ت

8307280119 830315 PDR WASTE WM-10 PDR

DRIGINAL NOT RECEIVED

08: 49 81 APA E8'

WM DOCKET CONTROL

1

meeting were: Walt Wallace, Eleanor Price, Fred Adair and Stu Heller.

The chairman announced that the Governor had amended Executive Order 82-17 with E.O. 83-02 (copies distributed) to add four private citizens to the Advisory Council. These appointments have been made and the three attending were introduced: Mr. Greenen, Mr. Bishop and Mr. Jarrett.

Dick Watson presented the report of the subcommittee appointed to study the long-range work plan prepared by John Gervers of Latir Energy Consultants (Dick Watson, Chair, Don Provost, Sam Reed and Sue Gould). (Report distributed) The priority areas set forth in the report are briefly summarized as follows:

- I. The highest priority was set for staffing. The three areas of staffing emphasized were: (1) Permanent staff; (2) Agency technical advisors; and (3) Consultants. It was also noted that the roles of the Advisory Council, the Technical Advisory Group, and staff need to be more clearly stated and understood to allow for more efficient Task Force action.
- II. A high priority was also set for the SCR review. Development of the following is critical: (1) SCR chapter summaries by consultants; (2) identification of critical issues by staff, the ad hoc state agency working group and

the Advisory Council; and (3) detailing a work plan for action on various issues.

- III. Another high priority is the development of a public information participation program. Objectives for this program and a work plan must be developed and executed.
- IV. A consultation/cooperation program with federal agencies must be developed further, so that the necessary agreements may be negotiated.

Task Force and Advisory Council members were asked to submit comments on the subcommittee report to Dick Watson as soon as possible so that an agreement on our priorities can be reached in March.

Discussion regarding the recruiting of a lead staff person did not bring about a consensus as to the appropriate qualifications but, the general feeling of the members was that such a position must be filled to relieve the work load on the chairman and provide more time for him to address his agency concerns. This lead person could have one or more of the following qualifications: (1) Nuclear experience/expertise; and (2) the ability to work with both state and federal officials. Dick Watson will develop a position description. Suggestions for possible applicants should be forwarded to Dick Watson or Nick Lewis. Both Task Force members and Advisory Council members were asked to submit their thoughts on the list of priorities, definition of a lead staff person and applicant suggestions.

After a discussion of the formation of the State Agency Technical Group, the following determinations were made and questions were raised: (1) WDOE, DNR and DSHS definitely should have representation; (2) some agencies not represented on the Task Force may wish to be represented; (3) how the agency group will relate to Task Force staff; (4) how the agency group will relate to the Advisory Council.

Dick Watson was asked to continue on this assignment and put a time line on it.

Sue Gould reported that the Advisory Council continues to review the EPA Guidelines, federal legislation, and is planning for a February 25th orientation/training session.

Chairman Lewis discussed the following: (1) Draft of the Progress Report for the Governor and legislature (copy distributed). Members were asked to mark changes and suggestions and return the report to Brad or Nick. (2) A symposium in Tucson, Arizona, and brochures were passed around. (3) DOE letter to Governor Spellman (copies distributed). (4) E.O. 82-17 Amendment (copies distributed). (5) The chairman's trip to Washington, D.C. and his appointment with Secretary Hodel. (6) Update on when the Golder Associates will report. (7) New Advisory Council and Technical Group appointments. (8) DOE Guidelines. (9) The DOE-schedule for exploratory

shaft construction.

David Stevens announced that there would be a public hearing on the DOE Siting Guidelines the week of March 14th--(Update: the hearing will be on March 21st in Seattle).

Members were told there has been a DOE reorganization. Mr. Robert L. Morgan will head the Nuclear Waste Project Office. Bill Bennett will be in charge of the Geologic Program.

There was a short discussion of the DOE Guidelines and the need for a public hearing before the meeting was adjourned.

NDL: 1m

cc: Task Force Designees
Jim Pluntze, DSHS
Don Provost, Ecology
Ray Lasmanis, DNR
Chuck Clarke, PCAA
Ed McGuire, WSEO
Hub Miller
Lee Olson
Don Godard
John Gervers
Fred Adair
Eleanor Price