

Department of Energy

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management
Office of Repository Development
1551 Hillshire Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

QA: N/A Project No. WM-00011

FEB 11 2004

OVERNIGHT MAIL

ATTN: Document Control Desk Chief, High-Level Waste Branch, DWM/NMSS U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852-2738

INFORMATION REGARDING RESPONSE TO U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION (NRC) AUDIT OBSERVER INQUIRY AOI-OAR-03-04

Reference: Ltr, Schlueter to Brown, dtd 10/17/03

During the NRC's observation of the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) quality assurance audit OQAP-BSC-03-14 on September 18-19, 2003, one Audit Observer Inquiry AOI-OAR-03-04 was identified and transmitted to the DOE via the referenced letter. This letter is to inform you that, regretfully, the response to AOI-OAR-03-04 has been delayed due to the complexity of the issue. The DOE plans to provide a complete response by March 15, 2004.

There are no new regulatory commitments in this letter. If you have any questions, please contact Neal K. Hunemuller at (702) 794-5081.

Joseph D. Ziegler Di

Office of License Application and Strategy

OLA&S:NKH-0601

cc:

C. W. Reamer, NRC, Rockville, MD

A. C. Campbell, NRC, Rockville, MD

L. L. Campbell, NRC, Rockville, MD

D. D. Chamberlain, NRC, Arlington, TX

G. P. Hatchett, NRC, Rockville, MD

R. M. Latta, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Parrott, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

D. B. Spitzberg, NRC, Arlington, TX

N. K. Stablein, NRC, Rockville, MD

J. B. Garrick, ACNW, Rockville, MD

H. J. Larson, ACNW, Rockville, MD

W. C. Patrick, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

Budhi Sagar, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

J. R. Egan, Egan & Associates, McLean, VA

J. H. Kessler, EPRI, Palo Alto, CA

M. J. Apted, Monitor Scientific, LLC, Denver, CO

Rod McCullum, NEI, Washington, DC

W. D. Barnard, NWTRB, Arlington, VA

R. R. Loux, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Pat Guinan, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Alan Kalt, Churchill County, Fallon, NV

Irene Navis, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV

George McCorkell, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Leonard Fiorenzi, Eureka County, Eureka, NV

Michael King, Inyo County, Edmonds, WA

Andrew Remus, Inyo County, Independence, CA

Mickey Yarbro, Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV

Spencer Hafen, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

Linda Mathias, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Pahrump, NV

Mike Simon, White Pine County, Ely, NV

R. I. Holden, National Congress of American Indians, Washington, DC