MEMORANDUM TO: Janet R. Schlueter, Chief

High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

FROM: Omid Tabatabai, Project Manager /RA/

Projects and Engineering Section

High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION (NRC)

AND U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY (DOE) QUARTERLY

MANAGEMENT MEETING

DATE/TIME: February 19, 2004

11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (ET) 8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. (PT)

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Two White Flint Auditorium

11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland

and via videoconferencing to:

Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC

Room 915

9960 Covington Cross

Las Vegas, Nevada

Center for Nuclear Waste

Regulatory Analyses

Building 189

6220 Culebra Road San Antonio, Texas

INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE MEETING VIA TELECON BY CALLING 1-800-638-8081 Passcode 5411# or 301-231-5539 Passcode 5411#

PURPOSE: Discuss management issues progress in program

AGENDA: Attached

PARTICIPANTS: NRC DOE Nevada NV Counties

JGreeves MChu SFrishman INavis CWReamer JArthur III et.al. et.al.

et.al. et.al.

CONTACT: Shirley Rohrer 301-415-5411 sjr@nrc.gov

Category 1 Meeting: The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

Memorandum to J. Schlueter from O. Tabatabai, dated: January 5, 2004 cc:

- A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV
- R. Massey, Churchill/Lander County, NV
- I. Navis, Clark County, NV
- E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV
- G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV
- L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV
- A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV
- A. Remus, Inyo County, CA
- M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV
- S. Hafen, Lincoln County, NV
- M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV
- L. Mathias, Mineral County, NV
- L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV
- M. Maher, Nye County, NV
- D. Hammermeister, Nye County, NV
- M. Simon, White Pine County, NV
- J. Ray, NV Congressional Delegation
- B. J. Gerber, NV Congressional Delegation
- F. Roberson, NV Congressional Delegation
- T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation
- R. Herbert, NV Congressional Delegation
- L. Hunsaker, NV Congressional Delegation
- S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation
- K. Kirkeby, NV Congressional Delegation
- R. Loux, State of NV
- S. Frishman, State of NV
- S. Lynch, State of NV
- P. Guinan, Legislative Counsel Bureau
- J. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NV
- M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

- M. Corradini, NWTRB
- J. Treichel, Nuclear Waste Task Force
- K. Tilges, Shundahai Network
- M. Chu, DOE/Washington, D.C.
- G. Runkle, DOE/Washington, D.C.
- C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.
- S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, D.C.
- W. J. Arthur, III, DOE/ORD
- R. Dyer, DOE/ORD
- J. Ziegler, DOE/ORD
- A. Gil, DOE/ORD
- W. Boyle, DOE/ORD
- D. Brown, DOE/OCRWM
- S. Mellington, DOE/ORD
- C. Hanlon, DOE/ORD
- T. Gunter, DOE/ORD
- A. Benson, DOE/ORD
- N. Nunemuller, DOE/ORD
- M. Mason, BSC
- S. Cereghino, BSC
- N. Williams, BSC
- E. Mueller, BSC
- J. Mitchell, BSC
- D. Beckman, BSC/B&A
- M. Voegele, BSC/SAID
- B. Helmer, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- R. Boland, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe
- J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe
- R. Holden, NCAE

cc: (Continued)

R. Clark, EPA

R. Anderson, NEI

R. McCullum, NEI

S. Kraft, NEI

J. Kessler, EPRI

D. Duncan, USGS

R. Craig, USGS

W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD

L. Lehman, T-Reg, Inc.

S. Echols, Esq.

C. Marden, BNFL, Inc.

J. Bacoch, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley

P. Thompson, Duckwater Shoshone Tribe

T. Kingham, GAO

D. Feehan, GAO

E. Hiruo, Platts Nuclear Publications

G. Hernandez, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe

K. Finfrock, NV Congressional Delegation

P. Johnson, Citizen Alert

A. Elzeftawy, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe

W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell

C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe

R. Wilder, Fort Independence Indian Tribe

D. Vega, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe

J. Egan, Egan, Fitzpatrick & Malsch, PLLC

J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center

J. C. Saulque, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe

C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes

R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe

L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah

E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe

D. Buckner, Ely Shoshone Tribe

V. Guzman, Walker River Paiute

D. Eddy, Jr., Colorado River Indian Tribes

H. Jackson, Public Citizen

J. Wells, Western Shoshone National Council

D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of NV

I. Zabarte, Western Shoshone National Council

NRC On-Site Representatives

S. Devlin

G. Hudlow

January 5, 2004

MEMORANDUM TO: Janet R. Schlueter, Chief

High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

FROM: Omid Tabatabai, Project Manager

Projects and Engineering Section

High-Level Waste Branch
Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION (NRC)

AND U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY (DOE) QUARTERLY MANAGEMENT

MEETING

DATE/TIME: February 19, 2004

11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (ET) 8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. (PT)

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Two White Flint Auditorium 11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland

and via videoconferencing to:

Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC Center for Nuclear Waste
Room 915 Regulatory Analyses

9960 Covington Cross Building 189

Las Vegas, Nevada 6220 Culebra Road San Antonio, Texas

INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE MEETING VIA TELECON BY CALLING 1-800-638-8081 Passcode 5411# or 301-231-5539 Passcode 5411#

PURPOSE: Discuss management issues and progress in program

AGENDA: Attached

PARTICIPANTS: NRC DOE Nevada NV Counties

JGreeves MChu SFrishman INavis CWReamer JArthur III et.al. et.al.

et.al. et.al.

CONTACT: Shirley Rohrer 301-415-5411 sir@nrc.gov

Category 1 Meeting: The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

DISTRIBUTION:

File Center HLWB r/f **ACNW PUBLIC** OSR **CNWRA TCombs LCampbell LChandler MYoung JMoore ACoggins** MZobler **ACampbell BSpitzberg** WMaier LKokajko OTabatabai SRohrer SGagner GMorell GHatchett LRoche LZaccari.

AULGS PMNS

S:\DWM\HLWB\gdh1\2004MeetingNotices\021904MgmtMtg ML040360137

OFFICE	HLWB	HLWB	HLWB		
NAME	SRohrer	OTabatabai	NKStablein		
DATE	02/4/04	02/4/04	02/5/04		

AGENDA NRC/DOE Quarterly Management Meeting February 19, 2004 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM (ET)

8:00 AM - 2:00 PM (PT)

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint Auditorium 11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland

and via videoconferencing to:

Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC Room 915 9960 Covington Cross Las Vegas, Nevada

Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses Building 189 6220 Culebra Road San Antonio, Texas

INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE MEETING VIA TELECON BY CALLING 1-800-638-8081 Passcode 5411# or 301-231-5539 Passcode 5411#

11:00 AM	Opening Remarks	All
11:20 AM	NRC Program Update	NRC
11:40 AM	DOE Program Update	Chu
12:00 PM	Yucca Mountain Project Update	Arthur/Mitchell
12:45 PM	Lunch	All
1:45 PM	Yucca Mountain Project Update (Continued)	Arthur/Mitchell
2:30 PM	License Application Status	Ziegler
3:30 PM	 QA Program Update QA Meeting Highlights Corrective Action Program Trending 	Brown
4:15 PM	Break/Caucus	All
4:45 PM	Action Item Status	Gunter
5:00 PM	Closing Remarks	All
5:15 PM	Adjourn	