## January 29, 2004

Mr. Lew W. Myers Chief Operating Officer FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station 5501 North State Route 2 Oak Harbor, OH 43449-9760

Dear Mr. Myers:

This letter confirms the discussion between members of our staffs to allow the FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company (FENOC) to state its basis to request restart of reactor operations at the Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station. The NRC will not be providing a response to the restart request at this meeting. FENOC's assessment and NRC observations of control room activities during heatup and Mode change will be important discussion topics at the restart meeting. The meeting will be held February 12, 2004, from 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. (EST) at the Camp Perry Clubhouse. This meeting is open to the public.

We will gladly discuss any questions you may have concerning this matter.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Christine A. Lipa, Chief Branch 4 Division of Reactor Projects

Docket No. 50-346 License No. NPF-3

See Attached Distribution

## DOCUMENT NAME: C:\ORPCheckout\FileNET\ML040300931.wpd To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without attachment/enclosure "E" = Copy with attachment/enclosure "N" = No copy

OFFICE	RIII	RIII			
NAME	DPassehl/trn	CLipa			
DATE	01/29/04	01/29/04			

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

L. Myers -2-

cc: The Honorable Dennis Kucinich

G. Leidich, President - FENOC

Plant Manager

Manager - Regulatory Affairs

M. O'Reilly, FirstEnergy

Ohio State Liaison Officer

R. Owen, Administrator, Ohio Department of Health

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio

D. Lochbaum, Union Of Concerned Scientists

J. Riccio, Greenpeace

P. Gunter, N.I.R.S.

S. Arndt, President, Ottawa County

**Board of Commissioners** 

President, Board of County Commissioners of

**Lucas County** 

C. Emahiser, Ottawa County Sheriff

J. P. Greer, Director, Ottawa County Emergency

Management Agency

H. Barlos, President, Lucas County

**Board of Commissioners** 

J. Telb, Lucas County Sheriff

B. Halsey, Director, Lucas County Emergency

Management Agency

G. Adams, Village Administrator, Genoa

The Honorable John Weber

The Honorable Lowell C. Krumnow

The Honorable Joseph Verkin

The Honorable Thomas Leaser

The Honorable Jack Ford

The Honorable Thomas Brown

The Honorable Jacqueline Bird

INPO

L. Myers -3-

## ADAMS Distribution:

AJM

DFT

DWW

Project Director, NRR
Project Mgr., NRR
RidsNrrDipmlipb

JLC1

GEG

HBC

RML2

SRI Davis-Besse

DRPIII

DRSIII

PLB1

JRK1

DB0350