January 8, 2004

NOTICE OF SIGNIFICANT MEETING

THIS MEETING IS OPEN TO PUBLIC ATTENDANCE

Name of Licensee: FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company

Name of Facility: Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station

Docket No: 50-346

Date and Time of Meeting: Wednesday, January 21, 2004, 6:00 to 10:00 p.m. (EST)

Location of Meeting: Oak Harbor High School Auditorium

11661 West State Route 163 Oak Harbor, OH 43449

Purpose of Meeting: Discuss licensee performance and progress on the Return to

Service Plan as part of the IMC 0350 Process

Category: This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

NRC Attendees:

J. Grobe, Chairman, Davis-Besse Oversight Panel, RIII

W. Ruland, Director, Project Directorate III, Division of Licensing Project Management, NRR

- J. Hopkins, Project Manager, NRR
- C. Lipa, Branch Chief, Division of Reactor Projects, RIII
- S. Thomas, Senior Resident Inspector, Davis-Besse

Others as designated

NOTE: Attendance at this meeting by NRC personnel, other than those listed above, should

be made known to Jan Strasma at 630-829-9663 by COB January 16, 2004.

Approved By: /RA/

Christine Lipa, Chief Branch 4

Division of Reactor Projects

Distribution:

- B. Sheron (BWS), Associate Director for Projects Licensing and Technical Review, NRR
- L. Marsh (LBM), Director, Division of Licensing Project Management, NRR
- B. Boger (BAB2), Director, Division of Inspection Program Management, NRR
- D. Weaver (DWW), Region III Coordinator, OEDO
- W. Ruland (WHR), Project Directorate, Division of Licensing and Project Management, NRR
- S. Sands, Project Manager, Project Directorate, Division of Licensing Project Management, NRR
- S. Reynolds (SAR1), Acting Director, Division of Reactor Projects, RIII
- P. Hiland (PLH), Acting Deputy Director, Division of Reactor Projects, RIII
- C. Pederson (CDP1), Director, Division of Reactor Safety, RIII
- R. Caniano (RJC1), Deputy Director, Division of Reactor Safety, RIII

DRP Branch Chief

C. Thomas, SRI

DRS Branch Chiefs (JFL, DEH, RDL, KXR)

R. M. Lickus (RML2), Regional State Liaison Officer, RIII

PMNS

RIII Public Affairs (RJS2, VTM)

J. Kweiser (JRK1), ORA

P. Buckley (PLB1), ORA

DB0350