

Department of Energy

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management
Office of Repository Development
1551 Hillshire Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89134-6321

QA: N/A Project No. WM-00011

DEC 31 2003

OVERNIGHT MAIL

ATTN: Document Control Desk
Chief, High-Level Waste Branch DWM/NMSS
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
11555 Rockville Pike
Rockville, MD 20852-2738

COMPLETION OF ACTION NO. 5 FROM U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY (DOE) MAY 29, 2003, LETTER TO THE U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION (NRC) CONCERNING THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN PROJECT (YMP)

References: (1) Ltr, Chu to Virgilio, dtd 5/29/03

(2) Ltr, Ziegler to Chief, High-Level Waste Branch, dtd 10/29/03

In Reference 1, DOE provided details of actions being taken to ensure that the Yucca Mountain Repository License Application meets NRC's expectations for completeness, accuracy, and compliance with quality assurance requirements. Action No. 5 from this referenced letter required a screening of YMP procedures for needed improvements.

In Reference 2, DOE provided NRC with the status of the actions described in Reference 1. Reference 2 stated that the Action No. 5 procedure screening effort was complete and project procedures were prioritized for improvement revisions. Reference 2 also specified that procedures prioritized as "Priority 1" would be revised by November 30, 2003, and Action No. 5 would be considered complete following the "Priority 1" procedure revisions. This letter is to notify you that revision of "Priority 1" procedures is complete; thus, Action No. 5 is considered complete.

There are no new regulatory commitments in this letter. Please direct any questions regarding this letter to April V. Gil at (702) 794-5578.

seph D. Ziegler, Director

Office of License Application and Strategy

OLA&S:NKH-0412

1 ww.11

cc:

C. W. Reamer, NRC, Rockville, MD

A. C. Campbell, NRC, Rockville, MD

L. L. Campbell, NRC, Rockville, MD

D. D. Chamberlain, NRC, Arlington, TX

G. P. Hatchett, NRC, Rockville, MD

R. M. Latta, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

J. D. Parrott, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

D. B. Spitzberg, NRC, Arlington, TX

N. K. Stablein, NRC, Rockville, MD

B. J. Garrick, ACNW, Rockville, MD

H. J. Larson, ACNW, Rockville, MD

W. C. Patrick, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

Budhi Sagar, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

J. R. Egan, Egan & Associates, McLean, VA

J. H. Kessler, EPRI, Palo Alto, CA

M. J. Apted, Monitor Scientific, LLC, Denver, CO

Rod McCullum, NEI, Washington, DC

W. D. Barnard, NWTRB, Arlington, VA

R. R. Loux, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Pat Guinan, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

Alan Kalt, Churchill County, Fallon, NV

Irene Navis, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV

George McCorkell, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Leonard Fiorenzi, Eureka County, Eureka, NV

Andrew Remus, Inyo County, Independence, CA

Michael King, Inyo County, Edmonds, WA

Mickey Yarbro, Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV

Spencer Hafen, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV

Linda Mathias, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Pahrump, NV

Mike Simon, White Pine County, Ely, NV

R. I. Holden, National Congress of American Indians, Washington, DC