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of Byproduct Material'

Dear Sirs:

I would like to take this opportunity to comment on the proposed revisions to 10 CFR Part 35.

I wish to applaud the Commissioner's decision to continue to require a preceptor statement for
individuals who have received certification from an accepted board. I am pleased that the NRC
recognizes the importance of having an individual who knows the candidate, and has worked
with them, to attest to their radiation safety competence. Therefore I am strongly in favor or
maintaining the preceptor statement requirement. Unfortunately, certification by an accepted
board alone will no longer be adequate to become an authorized user, medical physicist, RSO or
nuclear pharmacist. Initially this could be confusing to licensees, who will need to get
accustomed to submitting copies of a valid preceptor statement and board certificate with their
notification required by 35.14.

In 35.51(b)(1) the term "high energy" is used. There is no definition for "high energy", and this
term might be interpreted differently by different states and individuals. While in Alabama we
might consider energies above 0.9 MeV as high energy, how does that relate to the NRC's or
another Agreement State's interpretations? Because experience with high energy, external beam
therapy is essential for approval of a medical physicist, it would seem appropriate that the term
be better understood.

During the Organization of Agreement States (OAS) meeting held the week of October 13, 2003,
we discussed the appropriate number of hours to be deemed acceptable for the various rule
sections. As you know, the rules no longer specify the number of didactic or supervised clinical
and work hours necessary.
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This becomes a problem in that a certifying board could allow say five hours of didactic training
to be deemed adequate to sit for an exam that will, upon successful completion, allow an
individual to become an authorized user under 35.190, 35.290 and 35.390.

Exacerbating this is the fact that there are already training programs touting this change in the
rules as a way to greatly lower the amount of time that a physician must be away from their
practice to meet the requirements (compared to the current Subpart J 200 hours). This appears to
emphasize convenience, not radiation safety.

I recommend that the NRC include a minimum acceptable number of didactic hours in the
supplementary information. I recommend the following minimum acceptable didactic hours:

1) For those uses that require a written directive (i.e.35.390) a minimum of 200 hours of
didactic training should be required (out of the total of 700 hours).

2) For those uses that do not require a written directive, but still require a total of 700 hours
(i.e. 35.290), I recommend a minimum of 80 hours of didactic training be required.

3) For those uptake, dilution and excretion studies which require 60 hours of total training
(i.e. 35.190), I recommend a minimum of 8 hours of didactic training.

To arrive at these numbers I considered the relative risk to the patient, occupational worker and
the public that is expected from each type of use and an anticipated eight hour class day.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to comment on this proposed rule text.

Sincerely,

David Walter, Director
Radioactive Material Licensing
Alabama Office of Radiation Control


