

## **Department of Energy**

WM DOCKET CUMPANDOPERATIONS Office
CENTER P.O. Box 650
CENTER P.O. Box 650
99352

85 App 16 A9:08

APR 4 1985

WM Record the 10.11,16 Ducket No.

16: WEBUT

Johnsey

GWYERR

Dkunihira Pagis

Distribution: REB MJB

WRIGHT / JDB (OPUN / Dein / CFC

KENNEDY / 2DM STABLEW / HJM

(Return to WM, 623-55) Linchel)

Mr. Max S. Power
Joint Legislative Committee on
Science and Technology
Bl4 Institutions Building (AG-12)
Olympia, WA 98504

Mr. David W. Stevens State of Washington Department of Ecology, MS PV-11 Olympia, WA 98504

Mr. Roger R. Jim, Sr., Chairman Yakima Tribal Council Yakima Indian Nation P. O. Box 151 Toppenish, WA 98948

Mr. Elwood H. Patawa, Chairman Board of Trustees Umatilla Confederated Tribes P. O. Box 638 Pendleton, OR 97801

Mr. Allen V. Pinkham, Chairman Nez Perce Tribal Executive Committee P. O. Box 305 Lapwai, ID 83540

Gentlemen:

NRC/DOE BWIP PROJECT MANAGEMENT MEETING

As you are aware, there are meetings planned between the U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the U. S. Department of Energy (DOE) on April 8 and 9, 1985, in Silver Spring, Maryland, to discuss the NRC comments on the Draft Environmental Assessments. It is our understanding that you have been invited and are planning to attend.

In conjunction with these meetings, we are planning to stay over an extra day and meet with the NRC staff to discuss NRC/DOE BWIP technical interactions over the next year. This meeting is open to the public and you are invited to

8504300087 850404 PDR WASTE WM-10 PDR May 1323 March 317 attend. The meeting will take place at 9:00 a.m. on April 10 at the NRC offices in the Willste Building, 7915 Eastern Avenue, Silver Spring, MD, 7th Floor Conference Room.

If you have any questions relative to this meeting, please contact C. Thomas Tinsley of my staff on (509) 376-8736.

Very truly yours.

ONGINAL MIGHED BY O. I. OLSON

O. L. Olson, Project Manager Basalt Waste Isolation Project Office

BWI:CTT

cc: R. J. Wright, NRC

Russell Jim, Yakima Indian
Nation
R. Halfmoon, Nez Perce Tribe
R. Besser, Umatilla Confederated
Tribes
Wyatt Rogers, CERT
Linda Lehman
James B. Hovis
Barry G. Gale, DOE-HQ
R. Stein, DOE-HQ
C. R. Head, DOE-HQ