November 10, 2003

MEMORANDUM TO: Chairman Diaz

Commissioner McGaffigan Commissioner Merrifield

FROM: Jesse L. Funches /RA/

Chief Financial Officer

William D. Travers /RA/ Executive Director for Operations

SUBJECT: DRAFT FY 2004-2009 STRATEGIC PLAN

The Commission approved the basic framework for the NRC's updated Strategic Plan in the September 10, 2003, Staff Requirements Memorandum - COMSECY-03-041- FY 2003-2008 Strategic Plan Goals, Strategies, and Measures (COMSECY-03-009) and Corporate Management Goals, Strategies, and Measures (COMSECY-03-011). The attached draft Strategic Plan was developed based on the SRM. This draft Plan was also developed in accordance with the requirements of OMB and the Government Performance and Results Act. We are providing the draft Strategic Plan for your information and preview prior to requesting staff and external stakeholders comments, the next step in completing the Strategic Plan.

The draft Strategic Plan will be distributed to NRC staff and placed in ADAMS and on the NRC Intranet on Tuesday, November 18, 2003. A notice soliciting public comment will be submitted to the Federal Register on November 19, 2003, at which time the draft plan will also be placed on the NRC's external web site. The draft plan will also be sent to OMB and appropriate Congressional Committees on November 19, 2003.

A communication plan for the draft Strategic Plan, is being finalized and a copy will be provided to the Commission.

Attachment: As stated

cc: Those on the Attached List

CONTACT: Leslie W. Barnett, OCFO/DPBA

301-415-7540

November 10, 2003

\MEMORANDUM TO: Chairman Diaz

> Commissioner McGaffigan Commissioner Merrifield

FROM: Jesse L. Funches /RA/

Chief Financial Officer

William D. Travers /RA/ **Executive Director for Operations**

SUBJECT: DRAFT FY 2004-2009 STRATEGIC PLAN

The Commission approved the basic framework for the NRC's updated Strategic Plan in the September 10, 2003, Staff Requirements Memorandum - COMSECY-03-041- FY 2003-2008 Strategic Plan Goals, Strategies, and Measures (COMSECY-03-009) and Corporate Management Goals, Strategies, and Measures (COMSECY-03-011). The attached draft Strategic Plan was developed based on the SRM. This draft Plan was also developed in accordance with the requirements of OMB and the Government Performance and Results Act. We are providing the draft Strategic Plan for your information and preview prior to requesting staff and external stakeholders comments, the next step in completing the Strategic Plan.

The draft Strategic Plan will be distributed to NRC staff and placed in ADAMS and on the NRC Intranet on Tuesday, November 18, 2003. A notice soliciting public comment will be submitted to the Federal Register on November 19, 2003, at which time the draft plan will also be placed on the NRC's external web site. The draft plan will also be sent to OMB and appropriate Congressional Committees on November 19, 2003.

A communication plan for the draft Strategic Plan, is being finalized and a copy will be provided to the Commission.

Attachment: As stated

CC: Those on the Attached List

CONTACT: Leslie W. Barnett, OCFO/DPBA

301-415-7540

DISTRIBUTION: EDO R/F CFO R/F DPBA R/F OCFO S/F

DOCUMENT NAME: C:\ORPCheckout\FileNET\ML033140543.wpd

ADAMS ■ Yes □ No Initials <u>GSS</u> □ Publicly Available ■ Non-Publicly Available

□ Sensitive ■ Non-Sensitive

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without attachment/enclosure "E" = Copy with attachment/enclosure "N" =

*SEE PREVIOUS CONCURRENCE

OFFICE	OCFO/DPBA/PT	OCFO/DPBA/PT	OCFO/DPBA	DCFO E	EDO E	CFO	Е
NAME	G. Smolik*	L. Frueh*	LWBarnett*	PJRabideau	WDTravers	JL Funches	
DATE	11/5/03	11/4/03	11/5/03	11/ /03	11/10/03	11/ 10/03	

MEMORANDUM TO THOSE ON THE ATTACHED LIST DATED:

SUBJECT: DRAFT FY 2004-2009 STRATEGIC PLAN

	Mail Stop	
B. John Garrick, Chairman, Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste	T-2	E26
Mario V. Bonaca, Chairman, Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards	T-2	E26
John T. Larkins, Executive Director, Advisory Committee on Reactor	T-2	E26
Safeguards/Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste		
G. Paul Bollwerk, III, Chief Administrative Judge, Atomic Safety and	T-3	F23
Licensing Board Panel		
Karen D. Cyr, General Counsel	O-15	D21
John F. Cordes, Jr., Director, Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication	O-16	C1
Hubert T. Bell, Inspector General	T-5	D28
Janice Dunn Lee, Director, Office of International Programs	O-4	E21
Dennis K. Rathbun, Director, Office of Congressional Affairs	O-16	C1
William M. Beecher, Director, Office of Public Affairs	O-2	A13
Annette Vietti-Cook, Secretary of the Commission	O-16	C1
Patricia G. Norry, Deputy Executive Director for Management Services, OEDO	O-16	E15
William F. Kane, Deputy Executive Director for Homeland Protection		
and Preparedness, OEDO	O-16	E15
Carl J. Paperiello, Deputy Executive Director for Materials, Research		
and State Programs, OEDO	O-16	E15
Samuel J. Collins, Deputy Executive Director for Reactor Programs, OEDO	O-16	E15
William M. Dean, Assistant for Operations, OEDO	O-16	E15
Ellis W. Merschoff, Chief Information Officer	T-6	F15
Michael L. Springer, Director, Office of Administration	T-7	D57
Frank J. Congel, Director, Office of Enforcement	O-14	E1
Guy P. Caputo, Director, Office of Investigations	O-3	F1
Paul E. Bird, Director, Office of Human Resources	T-3	A2
Corenthis B. Kelley, Director, Office of Small Business and Civil Rights	T-2	F18
Martin J. Virgilio, Director, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards	T-8	A23
Jim Dyer, Director, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation	O-5	E7
Ashok C. Thadani, Director, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research	T-10	F12
Paul H. Lohaus, Director, Office of State and Tribal Programs	O-3	C10
Roy P. Zimmerman, Director, Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response	T-4	D22a
Hubert J. Miller, Regional Administrator, Region I	RGN-I	
Luis A. Reyes, Regional Administrator, Region II	RGN-I	l
James L. Caldwell, Regional Administrator, Region III	RGN-I	
Bruce S. Mallett, Regional Administrator, Region IV	RGN-I	V