Mr. Ronald A. Milner, Director for Program Management and Integration Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management U.S. Department of Energy, RW 30 1000 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20585

SUBJECT: OFFICE OF QUALITY ASSURANCE ACTIVITIES

Dear Mr. Milner:

Your letter of July 25, 1995, reported the centralization of some Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management (OCRWM) quality verification activities into the Office of Quality Assurance (OQA). Based on its review of that letter, the NRC staff had two questions. These were discussed by phone with Donald G. Horton on August 14, 1995, and the following facts were presented:

- 1. In addition to OQA qualifying OCRWM/M&O suppliers and performing the triennial audits, OQA will also perform the "off-year" supplier evaluations.
- 2. The SAIC and CER personnel who participate as auditors and audit team leaders on OQA audits are not part of the T&MSS organization that is now part of the "M&O Team."

In light of the above, we find that the centralization of these activities into OQA is acceptable.

A written response to this letter is not required. If you have any questions, please call Jack Spraul of my staff on (301) 415-6715.

Sincerely,
Original Signed By
Joseph J. Holonich, Chief
High-Level Waste and Uranium
Recovery Projects Branch
Division of Waste Management
Office of Nuclear Material Safety
and Safeguards

cc: See next page

DISTRIBUTION: FILE CENTER DWM r/f MFederline JSurmeier **PBrooks** MBell JAustin **JThoma JBuckley** NMSS r/f On-site reps **PUBLIC** ACNW LSS HLUR r/f MDelligatti CNWRA

DOCUMENT NAME: S:\DWM\HLUR\JGS\Cntrlize.OK
In small box on "Ofc" line enter: C = Copy, N = No copy

OFC	A HLUR	C HLUR	HLUR >	
NAME	JoSpraul/dh	JIKoma	Moronsch	
DATE	08/14/95	08/19/95	08/ 5/95	

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Delete file after distribution: Yes __ No __

105 NM.1 1

9508240310 950815 PDR WASTE WM-1 PDR CC List for Letter to Milner dated: ___August 15, 1995

R. Loux, State of Nevada

J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau

W. Barnes, YMPO C. Einberg, DOE/Wash, DC M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV D. Weigel, GAO

P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA

V. Poe, Mineral County, NV W. Cameron, White Pine County, NV

w. cameron, White Pine County, NY
R. Williams, Lander County, NY
L. Fiorenzi, Euroka County, NY
J. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, NY
C. Schank, Churchill County, NY
L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NY
W. Barnard, NWTRB
R. Holden, NCAI

A. Melendez, NIEC

R. Arnold, Pahrump, NV

N. Stellavato, Nye County, NV D. Horton, CNWRA, NV