October 21, 2003

MEMORANDUM TO: William H. Bateman, Chief

Materials and Chemical Engineering Branch

Division of Engineering

FROM: Meena Khanna, Materials Engineer /RA/

Vessels and Internals Integrity and Welding Section

Materials and Chemical Engineering Branch

Division of Engineering

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH BOILING WATER REACTORS VESSEL AND

INTERNALS PROJECT (BWRVIP) AND NRC MANAGEMENT TO DISCUSS VARIOUS ISSUES RELATED TO BWRVIP ACTIVITIES

DATE & TIME: Wednesday, November 5, 2003

9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

11555 Rockville Pike

Room O-14B6

Rockville, MD 20852-2738

PURPOSE: Management meeting to discuss various BWRVIP issues. Portions of

the meeting will be proprietary in nature. The agenda is attached.

PARTICIPANTS*: NRC UTILITY

Brian Sheron, NRR Carl Terry, Constellation Nuclear Richard Barrett, NRR Bill Eaton, Entergy Operations

Christopher Grimes, NRR Jim Meister, Exelon

Bill Bateman, NRR
Gene Imbro, NRR
Stephanie Coffin, NRR
Lewis Sumner, Southern Nuclear
Robin Dyle, Southern Nuclear
George Inch, Constellation Nuclear

Dave Terao, NRR Jeff Goldstein, Entergy Nuclear Northeast

Louise Lund, NRR
Kenneth Karwoski, NRR
Bob Carter, EPRI
Raj Pathania, EPRI
Larry Steinert, EPRI

Ron Horn, GENE

Sam Hettiarachchi, GENE

ATTACHMENT: Agenda cc: BWRVIP Service List

CONTACT: M. K. Khanna, NRR

301-415-2150 mkk@nrc.gov

^{*} A portion of the meeting will involve discussions pertaining to proprietary information and, therefore, will be closed to the public. The nonproprietary portions of the meeting between NRC technical staff and applicants or licensees are open for interested members of the public, petitioners, interveners, or other parties to attend as observers pursuant to Commission policy statement on "Staff Meetings Open to the Public" 65 Federal Register 56964, 9/20/2000.

ATTACHMENT: Agenda cc: BWRVIP Service List

CONTACT: M. K. Khanna, NRR

301-415-2150 mkk@nrc.gov

Distribution:

Hard Copy: BWRVIP Service List (Attached) OGC ACRS EMCB R/F

E-Mail:

NRC Meeting Attendees DClarke, DE CKundrat, EMEB NChokshi (NCC1) OPA PMNS JShea, EDO

ADAMS Accession No.:ML032940157

INDICATE IN BOX: "C"=COPY W/O ATTACHMENT/ENCLOSURE, "E"=COPY W/ATT/ENCL, "N"=NO COPY

OFFICE	EMCB:DE	E	EMCB:DE	
NAME	MKhanna		SMCoffin	
DATE	10/20/2003		10/21/2003	

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

^{*} A portion of the meeting will involve discussions pertaining to proprietary information and, therefore, will be closed to the public. The nonproprietary portions of the meeting between NRC technical staff and applicants or licensees are open for interested members of the public, petitioners, interveners, or other parties to attend as observers pursuant to Commission policy statement on "Staff Meetings Open to the Public" 65 Federal Register 56964, 9/20/2000.

AGENDA

9:00 a.m 9:15 a.m.	Introduction
9:15 a.m 9:45 a.m.	Status of BWRVIP Activities
9:45 a.m 10:15 a.m.	High Priority BWRVIP Issues for NRC Review
10:15 a.m 10:30 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m 11:30 a.m.	Noble Metal Chemical Addition Status
11:30 a.m 11:45 a.m.	Integrated Surveillance Program License Amendment Submittals
11:45 a.m 12:45 p.m.	Lunch
12:45 p.m 1:15 p.m.	Planned Steam Dryer Activities
1:15 p.m 1:45 p.m.	NRC Response to Planned Steam Dryer Activities
1:45 p.m 2:15 p.m.	Cracking in Low Carbon Stainless Steel in Japan
2:15 p.m 2:45 p.m.	FY2004 NRC Budget/Resources for BWRVIP Reviews
2:45 p.m 3:00 p.m.	Closing Remarks/Adjourn

BWRVIP Service List:

Tom Mulford, EPRI BWRVIP
Integration Manager
Raj Pathania, EPRI BWRVIP
Mitigation Manager
Ken Wolfe, EPRI BWRVIP
Repair Manager
Larry Steinert, EPRI BWRVIP
Electric Power Research Institute
P. O. Box 10412 3412 Hillview Ave.
Palo Alto, CA 94303

Robin Dyle, Technical Chairman BWRVIP Assessment Committee Southern Nuclear Operating Co. 40 Inverness Center Parkway Birmingham, AL 35242

George Vanderheyden, Executive Chair BWRVIP Assessment Committee Exelon Corp. 200 Exelon Way (KSA 3-N) Kennett Square, PA 19348

Richard Ciemiewicz, Technical Vice Chair BWRVIP Assessment Committee Exelon Corp. Peach Bottom Atomic Power Station M/S SMB3-6 1848 Lay Road Delta, PA 17314-9032

Bill Eaton, Executive Chair, BWRVIP Inspection Focus Group Grand Gulf Gen. Mgr., Plant Operations Entergy Operations, Inc. PO BOX 756, Waterloo Rd Port Gibson, MS 39150-0756 Gary Park, Chairman
BWRVIP Inspection Focus Group
Nuclear Management Co.
3313 DAEC Road
Palo, IA 52324-9646

H. Lewis Sumner, Executive Chair BWRVIP Mitigation Committee Vice President, Hatch Project Southern Nuclear Operating Co. M/S BIN B051, PO BOX 1295 40 Inverness Center Parkway Birmingham, AL 35242-4809 John Wilson, Technical Chair BWRVIP Mitigation Committee AmerGen Energy Co. Clinton Power Station, M/C T-31C P.O. Box 678 Clinton, IL 61727

Robert Carter, EPRI BWRVIP Assessment Manager Greg Selby, EPRI BWRVIP Inspection Manager EPRI NDE Center P. O. Box 217097 1300 W. T. Harris Blvd. Charlotte, NC 28221 Vaughn Wagoner, Technical Chair BWRVIP Integration Committee Carolina Power & Light Company One Hannover Square 9C1 P.O. Box 1551 Raleigh, NC 27612

George T. Jones, Executive Chair BWRVIP Repair Focus Group Vice President, Nuclear Engrg. & Support PP&L, Inc. M/S GENA61 2 N 9th St Allentown, PA 18101-1139 Bruce McLeod, Technical Chair BWRVIP Repair Focus Group Southern Nuclear Operating Co. Post Office Box 1295 40 Inverness Center Parkway Birmingham, AL 35201