

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

October 20, 2003

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH NEBRASKA PUBLIC POWER DISTRICT

FACILITY: Cooper Nuclear Station

DOCKET: 50-298

DATE AND TIME: November 4, 2003

7 p.m.

LOCATION: Brownville Concert Hall

Atlantic Avenue and Second Street

Brownville, Nebraska 68321

PURPOSE: The purpose of this meeting is to present the Nuclear Regulatory

Commission's findings resulting from the third quarterly inspection of Cooper Nuclear Station actions associated with the confirmatory action letter (CAL 4-03-001) issued on January 30, 2003, and the

biennial problem identification and resolution inspection.

CATEGORY: This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with

the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is

adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

A. Howell, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

K. Kennedy, Chief, Project Branch C, DRP

A. Gody, Chief, Operations Branch, Division of Reactor Safety (DRS)

W. Walker, Senior Project Engineer, Project Branch C, DRP

S. Schwind, Senior Resident Inspector, DRP

S. Cochrum, Resident Inspector, DRP

G. Werner, Senior Operations Engineer, DRS

LICENSEE

S. Minahan, Acting Site Vice President/General Manager

J. Christensen, Plant Manager

D. Cook, Acting Vice President, Site Support

MEETING CONTACT: Kriss M. Kennedy, NRC, RIV

817-860-8144 kmk@nrc.gov CC:

Clay C. Warren, Chief Nuclear Officer Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

Stewart Minahan
Acting Site Vice President/General Manager
Nebraska Public Power District
P.O. Box 98
Brownville, NE 68321

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, NE 68602-0499

P. V. Fleming, Licensing Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, NE 68509-8922

Chairman Nemaha County Board of Commissioners Nemaha County Courthouse 1824 N Street Auburn, NE 68305

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, NE 68509-5007

Ronald A. Kucera, Deputy Director for Public Policy Department of Natural Resources 205 Jefferson Street Jefferson City, MO 65101 Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0116

Chief, Radiation and Asbestos Control Section Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310 Topeka, KS 66612-1366

Daniel K. McGhee Bureau of Radiological Health Iowa Department of Public Health 401 SW 7th Street, Suite D Des Moines, IA 50309

William J. Fehrman, President and Chief Executive Officer Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, NE 68601 E-Mail To:

() NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS B. Sheron, ADPT

JWC1 J. Craig, Associate Director for Inspections & Programs

OEMAIL D/OE

TJF T. Frye, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

TXR T. Reis

JAC J.Clark, RIV EDO Coordinator
MCT M. Thadani, Project Manager, NRR
VLD V. Dricks, PAO (also on concurrence)
WAM W. Maier, RSLO (also on concurrence)

GMV M. Vasquez, ES
JAC1, CJG RA Secretaries
LAO, DLF, MJS DRP Division
LMB, NLH, JLH2 DRS Division
CMS, JAK, BST1 DNMS Division
JLP J. Pellet, IRM
LPL P. Longdo

ADAMS: ■ Yes	□ No	Initials: _	kmk	
---------------------	------	-------------	-----	--

■ Publicly Available □ Non-Publicly Available □ Sensitive ■ Non-Sensitive

R:_CNS\2003\CN7-1-03MN-DRP.wpd

RIV:SPE:DRP/C	RSLO	PAO	C:DRP/C	
WCWalker;dlf	WAMaier	VLDricks	KMKennedy	
/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	
10/20/03	10/20/03	10/20/03	10/20/03	