The Honorable George V. Voinovich, Chairman Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate Change, and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Mr. Chairman:

In accordance with the requirements of the Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA), I am pleased to provide the enclosed copies of the FISMA 2003 annual reports for the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC). These reports were recently approved for release by the Office of Management and Budget. The reports include an annual summary report and a corresponding progress report that contains the Plan of Action and Milestones (POA&M) for the agency's Automated Information Security Program. The NRC Office of the Inspector General has forwarded a copy separately of its independent review of the NRC's compliance with the requirements of FISMA.

The NRC is fully committed to maintaining the security of our automated information systems, and the agency has taken action to comply with the requirements of FISMA. If you have any questions regarding the NRC FISMA 2003 annual reports, feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Nils J. Diaz

Enclosures: 1. NRC FISMA 2003 Report

2. NRC FISMA POA&M Report

cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Joe Barton, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Air Quality Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Rick Boucher

The Honorable George V. Voinovich, Chairman Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate Change, and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Sherwood L. Boehlert, Chairman Committee on Science United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Ralph M. Hall

The Honorable Susan Collins, Chairman Committee on Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Joseph I. Lieberman

The Honorable Tom Davis, Chairman Committee on Government Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Henry Waxman

The Honorable Pete V. Domenici, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Harry Reid

The Honorable David L. Hobson, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Peter J. Visclosky

The Honorable James M. Inhofe, Chairman Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator James M. Jeffords

The Honorable John McCain, Chairman Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Ernest F. Hollings

The Honorable W. J. "Billy" Tauzin, Chairman Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative John D. Dingell

The Honorable David M. Walker Comptroller General General Accounting Office Washington, D.C. 20548