The Honorable James M. Inhofe, Chairman Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Mr. Chairman:

The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990, as amended, requires the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) to collect fees and other charges to recover approximately 94 percent of its budget authority, less the amount appropriated to the NRC from the Nuclear Waste Fund for fiscal year 2003. Consistent with past practice, I am providing you the status of NRC's fee collection activities for fiscal year 2003.

Public Law 108-7 appropriated \$584,984,000 to the NRC for fiscal year 2003, of which \$24,900,000 was derived from the Nuclear Waste Fund and is excluded from license fee revenues. Public Law 108-7 also rescinded \$216,000, leaving \$559,865,000 subject to the 94 percent recovery requirement. In fiscal year 2003, NRC collected \$526,273,100 in fees and other charges that offset its budget authority. This amount is 100 percent of the recovery requirement.

Hereafter, this information will be included in the NRC's Performance and Accountability Report beginning with the fiscal year 2004 report.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Nils J. Diaz

cc: Senator James M. Jeffords

## Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable James M. Inhofe, Chairman Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator James M. Jeffords

The Honorable George V. Voinovich, Chairman Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate Change, and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator Thomas R. Carper

The Honorable Joe Barton, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Air Quality Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Rick Boucher

The Honorable David L. Hobson, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Peter J. Visclosky

The Honorable Pete V. Domenici, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Harry Reid

The Honorable Judy Biggert, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Science United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Nick Lampson

The Honorable Susan Collins, Chairman Committee on Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Joseph I. Lieberman

The Honorable Tom Davis, Chairman Committee on Government Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Henry Waxman

The Honorable W. J. "Billy" Tauzin, Chairman Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative John D. Dingell