

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

August 13, 2003

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH NEBRASKA PUBLIC POWER DISTRICT

FACILITY: Cooper Nuclear Station

DOCKET: 50-298

DATE & TIME: September 8, 2003

1 p.m.

LOCATION: NRC Region IV

Training Conference Room 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400 Arlington, Texas 76011-4005

PURPOSE: Discuss NPPD's progress in implementing the Strategic

Improvement Plan at Cooper Nuclear Station

CATEGORY 1: Members of the general public are invited to observe the meeting

and will have the opportunity to communicate with the NRC after the business portion of the meeting, but before the meeting is

adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC

T. Gwynn, Acting Regional Administrator

A. Howell, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

C. Marschall, Acting Director, Division of Reactor Safety (DRS)

K. Kennedy, Chief, Project Branch C, DRP

W. Walker, Senior Project Engineer, Project Branch C, DRP

G. Werner, Senior Operations Engineer, Operations Branch, DRS

UTILITY

C. Warren, Vice President Nuclear Energy and Chief Nuclear

Officer

J. Christensen, Acting Site Vice President

D. Cook, Acting Vice President Plant Support

J. Sumpter, Licensing Engineer

ENTERGY OPERATIONS, INC.

R. Edington, Vice President Operations Support

MEETING CONTACT: Kriss M. Kennedy, Chief

Project Branch C kmk@nrc.gov

CC:

Clay C. Warren, Chief Nuclear Officer Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Thomas J. Palmisano Site Vice President Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

P. V. Fleming, Licensing Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Chairman Nemaha County Board of Commissioners Nemaha County Courthouse 1824 N Street Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007 Ronald A. Kucera, Deputy Director for Public Policy Department of Natural Resources 205 Jefferson Street Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0116

Chief, Radiation and Asbestos Control Section Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1366

Daniel K. McGhee Bureau of Radiological Health Iowa Department of Public Health 401 SW 7th Street, Suite D Des Moines, Iowa 50309

William J. Fehrman, President and Chief Executive Officer Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, Nebraska 68601 E-Mail To:

() NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS B. Sheron, ADPT

JWC1 J. Craig, Associate Director for Inspections & Programs

OEMAIL D/OE

TJF T. Frye, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

TXR T. Reis

JAC J. Clark, RIV EDO Coordinator
MCT M. Thadani, Project Manager, NRR
SCS S. Schwind, Senior Resident Inspector
VLD V. Dricks, PAO (also on concurrence)
WAM W. Maier, RSLO (also on concurrence)

GFS G. Sanborn, EO GMV M. Vasquez, ES JAC1, CJG **RA Secretaries** LAO, DLF, MJS **DRP** Division LMB, NLH, JLH2 **DRS** Division CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS** Division JLP J. Pellet, IRM LPL P. Longdo

ADAMS: √ Yes □ No Initials: __KMK__

√ Publicly Available □ Non-Publicly Available□ Sensitive√ Non-Sensitive

R:_CNS\CN9-8-03MN-DRP.wpd

RIV:C:DRP/C	RSLO	PAO	C:DRP/C	
KMKennedy;df	WAMaier	VLDricks	KMKennedy	
/RA/	CGordon for	/RA/	/RA/	
8/13/03	8/13/03	8/13/03	8/13/03	