MEMORANDUM TO: Daniel M. Gillen, Chief

Decommissioning Branch

Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

FROM: John B. Hickman, Project Manager /RA/

Decommissioning Branch
Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING MEETING WITH YANKEE ATOMIC ELECTRIC CO.

TO DISCUSS THE SUBMITTAL OF A LICENSE TERMINATION PLAN

FOR THE YANKEE NUCLEAR POWER STATION

DATE & TIME: Wednesday, August 13, 2003

10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

One White Flint North

11555 Rockville Pike, Room 16B4

Rockville, Maryland

PURPOSE: Discuss issues related to a proposed license termination plan.

CATEGORY: This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC / NMSS YANKEE

Daniel Gillen Brian Wood
Mark Thaggard Greg Babineau
John Hickman Ellen Heath
Scott Moore Jim Kay

MEETING CONTACT: John B. Hickman, NMSS jbh@nrc.gov 301-415-3017

Docket No. 50-29

cc: See next page

MEMORANDUM TO: Daniel M. Gillen, Chief

Decommissioning Branch
Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

FROM: John B. Hickman, Project Manager /RA/

Decommissioning Branch
Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING MEETING WITH YANKEE ATOMIC ELECTRIC CO.

TO DISCUSS THE SUBMITTAL OF A LICENSE TERMINATION PLAN

FOR THE YANKEE NUCLEAR POWER STATION

DATE & TIME: Wednesday, August 13, 2003

10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

One White Flint North

11555 Rockville Pike, Room 16B4

Rockville, Maryland

PURPOSE: Discuss issues related to a proposed license termination plan.

CATEGORY: This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: NRC / NMSS YANKEE

Daniel Gillen Brian Wood
Mark Thaggard Greg Babineau
John Hickman Ellen Heath
Scott Moore Jim Kay

MEETING CONTACT: John B. Hickman, NMSS jbh@nrc.gov 301-415-3017

Docket No. 50-29 cc: See next page Distribution:

PUBLIC DCB R/F PMNS

OPA OGC Mail Center Acrs/Acnw Mail Center

JGreeves WReamer DGillen SMoore

JHickman RBellamy, Region I JWray, Region I AHodgdon, OGC

MThaggard GPurdy JPeckenpaugh

ADAMS ACCESSION NUMBER: ML * See Previous Concurrence

DOCUMENT NAME: C:\ORPCheckout\FileNET\ML032170488.wpd

OFFICE	DCB	DCB	DCB
NAME	JHickman	CBurkhalter	SMoore*
DATE	8/ 05 /2003	8/ 05/2003	8/ 5 /2003

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Yankee-Rowe

CC:

Mr. Richard M. Kacich, President Yankee Atomic Electric Company 19 Midstate Drive, Suite 200 Auburn, MA 01501

Mr. Greg A. Maret, Vice President of Decommissioning Yankee Atomic Electric Company 19 Midstate Drive, Suite 200 Auburn, MA 01501

Gerry van Noordennen, Regulatory Affairs Manager Yankee Atomic Electric Company 49 Yankee Road Rowe, MA 01367

James A. Kay, Principal Licensing Engineer c/o Framatome ANP 400 Donald Lynch Boulevard Marlborough, MA 01752

Mr. Robert Capstick, Director of Government AffairsYankee Atomic Electric Company19 Midstate Drive, Suite 200Auburn, MA 01501

Mr. Brian C. Wood, Site Manager Yankee Atomic Electric Company 49 Yankee Road Rowe, MA 01367

Mr. Fredrick Williams, Plant Superintendent Yankee Atomic Electric Company 49 Yankee Road Rowe, MA 01367

Mr. Greg Babineau, Safety Oversight Manager Yankee Atomic Electric Company 49 Yankee Road Rowe, MA 01367 Mr. Bruce Holmgren, Fuel Storage Oversight Manager Yankee Atomic Electric Company 19 Midstate Drive, Suite 200 Auburn, MA 01501

Kelley Smith
Communication Manager/Yankee Rowe
Community Advisory Board
19 Midstate Drive
Auburn, MA 01501

Alice Carson, RSCS, Inc. 12312 Milestone Manor Lane Germantown, MD 20876

Robert K. Gad, III, Esq. Ropes and Gray One International Place Boston, MA 02110-2624

Ms. Leslie Greer Assistant Attorney General Commonwealth of Massachusetts 200 Portland Street Boston, MA 02114

Robert M. Hallisey, Director Radiation Control Program Massachusetts Department of Public Health 305 South Street Boston, MA 02130

Mr. James B. Muckerheide Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency 400 Worcester Road Framingham, MA 01702-5399

Edward Flynn, Secretary
Massachusetts Executive Office of Public
Safety
One Ashburton Place
Room 2133
Boston, MA 02108

Yankee-Rowe

CC:

Peggy Sloan, AICP Franklin Regional Council of Governments 425 Main Street, Suite 20 Greenfield, MA 01301-3313

Ms. Christine Salambier, Commissioner Vermont Department of Public Service 120 State Street, 3rd Floor Montpelier, VT 05602

Amy Ignatius, Executive Director New England Conference of Public Utility Commissioners, Inc. One Eagle Square, Suite 514 Concord, NH 03301

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, PA 19406

Diane Screnci, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, PA 19406

Mr. Marv Rosenstein
Chief, Chemicals Management Branch
Office of Ecosystem Protection
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
One Congress Street, Suite 1100,
Mail Code CPT
Boston, MA 02114

Mr. James Cherniack
Office of Ecosystem Protection
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
One Congress Street, Suite 1100,
Mail Code CPT
Boston, MA 02114

Ms. Elizabeth F. Mason
Office of Regional Counsel
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
One Congress Street, Suite 1100,
Mail Code RAA
Boston, MA 02114

Ms. Bonnie Gitlin
Radiation Protection Division
Office of Radiation and Indoor Air
Office of Air and Radiation
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Ariel Rios Building, Mail Code 66081
1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20460

Mr. Brian Littleton
Radiation Protection Division
Office of Radiation and Indoor Air
Office of Air and Radiation
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Ariel Rios Building, Mail Code 66081
1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20460