

Department of Energy Washington, DC 20585 JUN 1 7 1993

Mr. Joseph J. Holonich, Director
Repository Licensing & Quality Assurance
Project Directorate
Division of High-Level Waste Management
Office of Nuclear Material Safety
and Safeguards
U.s. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Dear Mr. Holonich:

Enclosed with this letter is a controlled copy of Revision 1 of Study Plan 8.3.1.4.3.1, "Systematic Acquisition of Site-Specific Subsurface Information." This is a minor revision and did not require detailed technical review.

Revision 1, in part, is in response to a March 4, 1993, conference call with the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC). The revision identifies sampling commitments from other study plans, especially Study Plan 8.3.4.2.4.3, "Characterization of the Geomechanical Attributes of the Waste Package Environment," and additional information about core logging.

This revision should enable NRC to complete its acceptance review of this study plan, which was initially submitted to NRC on January 11, 1993. Drilling of the first hole of the systematic drilling program, which will also be used to collect data for the design of the Exploratory Studies Facility under Study 8.3.1.14.2.1, is planned to start in July 1993. The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) therefore requests that NRC please expedite the completion of its acceptance review. DOE also requests NRC to inform DOE if the acceptance review cannot be completed within 30 days or less.

The Document Transmittal/Acknowledgement Record for your controlled copy of the study plan should be signed and dated and returned to the Document Control Center in Las Vegas, Nevada.

180009

9306220110 930617 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR NH031/1

If you have any questions, please contact Ms. Sheila Long at (202) 586-1447 or Mr. Chris Einberg of my office at (202) 586-8869.

Sincerely,

Dwight E. Shelor

Associate Director for Systems and Compliance

Office of Civilian Radioactive

Enclosure: As stated Milhe shelf

cc w\enclosure

Alice Cortinas, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX

cc w/o enclosure

C. Gertz, YMPO

T. J. Hickey, Nevada Legislative Committee

R. Loux, State of Nevada

D. Bechtel, Las Vegas, NV

Eureka County, NV

Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV

P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV

L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV

W. Offutt, Nye County, NV

C. Schank, Churchill County, NV

F. Mariani, White Pine County, NV

V. Poe, Mineral County, NV

J. Pitts, Lincoln County, NV J. Hayes, Esmeralda County, NV

B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA

C. Abrams, NRC