

VNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

# PRESIDING OFFICER'S STATEMENT

I, Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, hereby

certify that I presided at a closed meeting of the Commission during the week of

October 28, 2002 at One White Flint North, Rockville, Maryland at which time the

following subjects were considered:

Wednesday, October 30, 2002

2:00 p.m.

**Executive Branch Briefing** 

Thursday, October 31, 2002

9:30 a.m.

Discussion of Intragovernmental Issues (Legislative Proposals)

Friday, November 1, 2002

9:00 a.m.

**Discussion of Security Issues** 

Richard A. Meserve Chairman

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this \_\_\_\_\_\_ day of November 2002

Portions withheld - EK. 2



## ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 30, 2002

.....

### 2:00 P.M.

### **Executive Branch Briefing**

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Commission Greta J. Dicus. Member of the Commission Nils J. Diaz, Member of the Commission Edward McGaffigan, Jr., Member of the Commission Jeffrey S. Merrifield, Member of the Commission Beecher, W., Office of Public Affairs Chaney, D., Office of International Programs Croteau, R., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz Cvr. K., General Counsel Doroshuk, E., Office of International Programs Droggitis, S., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Federline, M., Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards Fowler, G., Office of International Programs Gray, J., Office of the General Counsel Hart, K., Office of the Secretary Henderson, K., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Hickey, J., Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards Hiltz, T., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus Kane, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Keeling, B., Office of Congressional Affairs Lee, J., Office of International Programs Lieberman, J., Office of International Programs Lopez-Otin, M., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz McConnell, K., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Norry, P., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Olencz, J., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus Owens, J., Office of International Programs Paperiello, C., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Persinko, D., Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards Peterson, M., Office of International Programs Pierson, R., Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards Ramey-Smith, A., Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research Ramsey, J., Office of International Programs Rathbun, D., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Sharkey, J., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan Thoma, J., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Travers, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Tschiltz, M., Assistant to Chairman Meserve

Vietti-Cook, A., Secretary of the Commission Weber, M., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Zimmerman, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

180

Baker, K., DOE Blaha, J., IAEA Brooks, L., DOE Cutler, K., DOS Hart, S., DOS Krass, A., DOS Nulton, D., DOE Todd, J., DOE Tumer, J., DOE Walkin, K., DOS

J

# ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, THURSDAY, OCTOBER 31, 2002

. 64

#### 9:30 A.M.

#### Discussion of Intragovernmental Issues (Legislative Proposals)

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Commission Greta J. Dicus, Member of the Commission Nils J. Diaz, Member of the Commission Edward McGaffigan, Jr., Member of the Commission Jeffrey S. Merrifield, Member of the Commission Beecher, W., Office of Public Affairs Bird, P., Office of Human Resources Cvr. K., General Counsel Doane, M., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Droaditis-8:-Assistant to Commissioner Menifield Federline, M., Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards Funches, J., Chief Financial Officer Gray, J., Office of the General Counsel Hart, K., Office of the Secretary Hickey, J., Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards Hiltz, T., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus Johnson, J., Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation Kane, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Keeling, B., Office of Congressional Affairs Lee, J., Office of International Programs Lopez-Otin, M., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz Madden, P., Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation McDermott, J., Office of Congressional Affairs Norry, P., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Paperiello, C., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Portner, L., Office of Congressional Affairs Rathbun, D., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Sharkey, J., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan Strosnider, J., Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research Travers, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Tschiltz, M., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Vietti-Cook, A., Secretary of the Commission Weber, M., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Zimmerman, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

## ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2002

#### 9:00 A.M.

## **Discussion of Security Issues**

### Part I

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Commission Greta J. Dicus, Member of the Commission Nils J. Diaz. Member of the Commission Edward McGaffigan, Jr., Member of the Commission Jeffrey S. Merrifield, Member of the Commission Astwood, H., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan Beecher, W., Office of Public Affairs Borchardt, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation Cvr. K. General Counsel Goldberg, J., Office of the General Counsel Hart, K., Office of the Secretary Hiltz, T., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus Kane, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Keeling, B., Office of Congressional Affairs Lopez-Otin, M., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz Madison, A., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response McConnell, K., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Olencz, J., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus Orrick, D., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Rathbun, D., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Sharkey, J., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan Strosnider, J., Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research Thoma, J., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Tracy, G., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Travers, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Tschiltz, M., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Vietti-Cook, A., Secretary of the Commission Virgilio, M., Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards Weber, M., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Zimmerman, J., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Zimmerman, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Minid Individuals by

### ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 2002

## 9:00 A.M.

## **Discussion of Security Issues**

### Part II

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Commission Greta J. Dicus, Member of the Commission Nils J. Diaz, Member of the Commission Edward McGaffigan, Jr., Member of the Commission Jeffrey S. Merrifield, Member of the Commission

Kane, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Travers, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Zimmerman, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response