DRAFT

PRESIDING OFFICER'S STATEMENT

I, Nils J. Diaz, Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, hereby certify that I presided at the closed meeting of the Commission during the week of May 12, 2003, at One White Flint North, Rockville, Maryland at which time the following subject was considered:

Wednesday, May 14, 2003

1:30 p.m. Discussion of Security Issues

Nils J. Diaz Chairman

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this _____ day of May 2003

B|5

ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, WEDNESDAY, MAY 14, 2003

1:30 P.M.

Discussion of Security Issues

Nils J. Diaz, Chairman of the Commission Greta J. Dicus. Member of the Commission Edward McGaffigan, Member of the Commission Jeffrey S. Merrifield, Member of the Commission

Astwood, H., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan Beall, J., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan Beecher, W., Office of Public Affairs Benner, E., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus Burns, S., Office of the General Counsel Clifford, J., Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation Coker, S., Office of the Inspector General Craig, J., Assistant to Chairman Diaz Croteau, R., Assistant to Chairman Diaz Cyr, K., Office of the General Counsel

Desmond, W., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Fields, M., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Goldberg, J., Office of the General Counsel

Haney, C., Assistant to Chairman Diaz

Hart, K., Office of the Secretary

Holonich, J., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Jensen-Otsu, T., Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Kane, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Keeling, B., Office of Congressional Affairs

Leach, M., Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Lopez-Otin, M., Assistant to Chairman Diaz

Madison, A., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Newberry, S., Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Ordaz, V., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Peralta, J., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Piccone, J., Office of State and Tribal Programs

Portner, L., Office of Congressional Affairs

Rathbun, D., Office of Congressional Affairs

Sharkey, J., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan

Thoma, J., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield

Tomlinson, J., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Tracy, G., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Travers, W., Executive Director for Operations

Vietti-Cook, A., Secretary of the Commission

Warren, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Way, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Zimmerman, J., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield

Zimmerman, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Benjamin, J., Exelon
Bishop, R., NEI
Brons, J., NEI
Colvin, J., NEI
Dugger, C., NEI
Fertel, M., NEI
Floyd, S., NEI
Hairston, G., Southern
Hendricks, L., NEI
Hintz, D., Entergy
Kelley, C., Entergy
Kingsley, O., Exelon
McGaha, J., Entergy
Scherer, E., Southern California Edison
Sellman, M., Nuclear Mgmt. Company
Sims, J., Southern Nuc. Op. Company
Terry, C., TXU Energy