MLD 50160214



UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

PRESIDING OFFICER'S STATEMENT

I, Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, hereby certify

that I presided at the closed meeting of the Commission during the week of

March 2, 2003, at One White Flint North, Rockville, Maryland at which time the following subject

was considered:

Sunday, March 2, 2003

4:00 p.m. Discussion of Governmental Issues

Monday, March 3. 2003

2:00 p.m. Discussion of Security Issues

Thursday, March 6, 2003

7:30 p.m. Discussion of Legislative Issues

Friday, March 7, 2003

10:35 a.m. Discussion of Legislative Issues

Richard A. Meserve Chairman

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 12^{n} day of March 2003

ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, SUNDAY, MARCH 2, 2003

PART I

4:00 P.M.

Discussion of Governmental Issues

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Commission (VIA TELEPHONE) Greta J. Dicus, Member of the Commission (VIA TELEPHONE) Nils J. Diaz, Member of the Commission Edward McGaffigan, Jr., Member of the Commission Jeffrey S. Merrifield, Member of the Commission

Doane, M., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Goldberg, J., Office of the General Counsel Rothschild, T., Office of the General Counsel Thoma, J., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Tomlinson, J., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Travers, W., Executive Director for Operations Tschiltz, M., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Zimmerman, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

PART II

6:10 P.M.

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Commission (VIA TELEPHONE) Greta J. Dicus, Member of the Commission (VIA TELEPHONE) Nils J. Diaz, Member of the Commission Edward McGaffigan, Jr., Member of the Commission Jeffrey S. Merrifield, Member of the Commission

Davis, R., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz Doane, M., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Goldberg, J., Office of the General Counsel Ordaz, V., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Rothschild, T., Office of the General Counsel Thoma, J., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Tomlinson, J., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Travers, W., Executive Director for Operations Zimmerman, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, MONDAY, MARCH 3, 2003

2:00 P.M.

Discussion of Security Issues

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Commission Greta J. Dicus, Member of the Commission Nils J. Diaz, Member of the Commission Edward McGaffigan, Member of the Commission Jeffrey S. Merrifield, Member of the Commission Astwood, H., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan

Beecher, W., Office of Public Affairs Benner, E., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus Borchardt, W., Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation Burns, S., Office of the General Counsel Coker, S., Office of the Inspector General Croteau, R., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz Cunningham, M., Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research Cyr, K., Office of the General Counsel Desmond, W., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Federline, M., Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards Funches, J., Chief Financial Officer Gamberoni, D., Office of the Secretary Goldberg, J., Office of the General Counsel Haney, C., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Hiltz, T., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus Keeling, B., Office of Congressional Affairs Lopez-Otin, M., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz Lorson, R., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Morris, S., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Norry, P., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Portner, L., Office of Congressional Affairs Rathbun, D., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Richards, S., Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation Sharkey, J., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan Strosnider, J., Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research Thoma, J., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Tomlinson, J., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Tracy, G., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Travers, W., Executive Director for Operations Tschiltz, M., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Uhle, J., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Vietti-Cook, A., Secretary of the Commission Zimmerman, J., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Zimmerman, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

•

Benjamin, J., Exelon Bishop, R., NEI Brons, J., NEI Christian, D., Dominion Colvin, J., NEI Findlay, M., Nuclear Mgmt. Company Floyd, S., NEI Golden, M., NEI/Proj. Enhancement Corp. Hendricks, L., NEI Hintz. D., Enterpy STREET SALES STORE STREET and the subscription of th Kelley, C., Entergy McGaha, J., Entergy McGettrick, M., Dominion Pritchett, T., Constellation Energy Sellman, M., Nuclear Mgmt. Company Sims, J., Southern Nuc. Op. Company Terry, C., TXU Energy

ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, THURSDAY, MARCH 6, 2003

7:30 P.M.

Disussion of Legislative Issues (VIA TELECON)

Greta J. Dicus, Member of the Commission Nils J. Diaz, Member of the Commission Edward McGaffigan, Member of the Commission Jeffrey S. Merrifield, Member of the Commission

Cyr, K., Office of the General Counsel Gray, J., Office of the General Counsel Kane, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Travers, W., Executive Director for Operations Tschiltz, M., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Vietti-Cook, A., Secretary of the Commission Weber, M., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Zimmerman, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, FRIDAY, MARCH 7, 2003

3

10:35 A.M.

Discussion of Legislative Issues

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Commission Greta J. Dicus, Member of the Commission Nils J. Diaz, Member of the Commission (VIA TELECON) Edward McGaffigan, Member of the Commission Jeffrey S. Merrifield, Member of the Commission Astwood, H., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan Brochman, P., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Burns, S., Office of the General Counsel Cyr, K., Office of the General Counsel Davis, R., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz Doane, M., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Federline, M., Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards Gamberoni. D., Office of the Secretary Grav. J., Office of the General Counsel Haney, C., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Holonich, J., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Jones, B., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus Jones, C., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus Kane, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Keeling, B., Office of Congressional Affairs Lorson, R., Office of the Executive Director for Operations McDermott, J., Office of Congressional Affairs Morris, S., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Norry, P., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Ordaz, V., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Paperlello, C., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Portner, L., Office of Congressional Affairs Sharkey, J., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan Shea, J., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Sheron, B., Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation Smith. G., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Thoma, J., Assistant to Commissioner Merrifield Tracy, G., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Travers, W., Executive Director for Operations Uhle, J., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Walker, J., Acting Secretary of the Commission Zimmerman, R., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response