

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

PRESIDING OFFICER'S STATEMENT

I, Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, hereby certify that I presided at the closed meetings of the Commission during the week of July 8, 2002, at One White Flint North, Rockville, Maryland at which time the following subjects were considered:

Wednesday, July 10, 2002

11:00 a.m. Discussion of Intragovernmental Issues

Thursday, July 11, 2002

1:30 p.m.

Discussion of Security Issues

Friday, July 12, 2002

8:00 a.m.

Discussion of Intragovernmental Issues

Richard A. Meserve

Chairman

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this _/5 day of July 2002

Bb

ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, WEDNESDAY, JULY 10, 2002

11:00 A.M.

<u>Discussion of Intragovernmental Issues</u>

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Commission Greta J. Dicus, Member of the Commission Nils J. Diaz, Member of the Commission Edward McGaffigan, Jr., Member of the Commission

Astwood, H., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan

Bates, A., Secretary of the Commission

Burns, S., Office of the General Counsel

Collins, S., Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Craig, J., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Cyr, K., General Counsel

Funches, J., Chief Financial Officer

Gamberoni, D., Office of the Secretary

Gray, J., Office of the General Counsel

Haney, C., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Hayden, B., Office of Public Affairs

Hiltz, T., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus

Kane, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Keeling, B., Office of Congressional Affairs

Lopez-Otin, M., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz

Madison, A., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

McDermott, J., Office of Congressional Affairs

Norry, P., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Paperiello, C., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Portner, L., Office of Congressional Affairs

Rathbun, D., Assistant to Chairman Meserve

Shea. J., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Simpkins, D., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz

Thoma, J., Office of the Commission

Travers, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Tschiltz, M., Assistant to Chairman Meserve

Virgilio, M., Office of Nuclear Materials Safety and Safeguards

Weber, M., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Zobler, M., Assistant to Chairman Meserve



ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, THURSDAY, JULY 11, 2002

1:30 A.M.

Discussion of Security Issues

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Commission Greta J. Dicus, Member of the Commission Nils J. Diaz, Member of the Commission

Astwood, H., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan Bates, A., Secretary of the Commission Cyr. K., General Counsel Hiltz, T., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus Johnson, J., Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation McCabe, B., Office of the Commission McConnell, K., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Olencz, J., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus Norry, P., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Paperiello, C., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Silvious, L., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Simpkins, D., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz Thadani, A., Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research Travers, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations Tschiltz, M., Assistant to Chairman Meserve Virgilio, M., Office of Nuclear Materials Safety and Safeguards Weber, M., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response Winsberg, K., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan

Budnitz, R., National Research Council Crowley, K., National Research Council Happer, W., National Research Council Lowenthal, M., National Research Council

L

ATTENDANCE AT CLOSED MEETING, FRIDAY, JULY 12, 2002

8:00 A.M.

<u>Discussion of Intragovernmental Issues</u>

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman of the Commission Greta J. Dicus, Member of the Commission Nils J. Diaz, Member of the Commission Edward McGaffigan, Jr., Member of the Commission

Bates, A., Secretary of the Commission

Collins, S., Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Craig, J., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Cyr, K., General Counsel

Funches, J., Chief Financial Officer

Gamberoni, D., Office of the Secretary

Gray, J., Office of the General Counsel

Hayden, B., Office of Public Affairs

Hiltz, T., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus

Jones, B., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus

Kane, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Keeling, B., Office of Congressional Affairs

Lopez-Otin, M., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz

McDermott, J., Office of Congressional Affairs

Norry, P., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Olencz, J., Assistant to Commissioner Dicus

Paperiello, C., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Portner, L., Office of Congressional Affairs

Rathbun, D., Assistant to Chairman Meserve

Shea, J., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Simpkins, D., Assistant to Commissioner Diaz

Travers, W., Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Virgilio, M., Office of Nuclear Materials Safety and Safeguards

Weber, M., Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Winsberg, K., Assistant to Commissioner McGaffigan

Zobler, M., Assistant to Chairman Meserve

