

Department of Energy

Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management Office of Repository Development P.O. Box 364629 North Las Vegas, NV 89036-8629

QA: N/A Project No. WM-00011

JUL 2 4 2003 ENCLOSURE TRANSMITS AN "OFFICIAL USE ONLY" DOCUMENT

OVERNIGHT MAIL

ATTN: Document Control Desk Chief, High-Level Waste Branch, DWM/NMSS U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852-2738

TRANSMITTAL OF INFORMATION ADDRESSING KEY TECHNICAL ISSUE (KTI) AGREEMENT ITEM, PRECLOSURE SAFETY (PRE) 3.02

In fulfillment of the subject agreement, this letter transmits as an enclosure the report, *Extreme Wind/Tornado/Tornado Missile Hazard Analysis*, which identifies the design-basis tornado characteristics and the corresponding missile spectrum for the Yucca Mountain Project site in Nevada.

KTI Agreement Item PRE 3.02 reads as follows:

<u>PRE 3.02:</u> "Provide an analysis, including (1) selection of the design basis tornado, together with the supporting technical basis; (2) selection of credible tornado missile characteristics for the waste package and other structures, systems, and components, together with the technical bases; and (3) analysis of the effects of impact of the design basis tornado missiles or justification for excluding such tornado missiles as credible hazards.

DOE agrees to provide the analysis. The analysis will be available in FY03 and be documented in an update to ANL-MGR-SE-000001 and any other appropriate documents."

Based on the results presented in the report, it is concluded that tornado missiles will be considered as design input to applicable surface structures important to safety. In doing so, the guidance given in Table 1 of Section 3.5.3 of NUREG-0800 for minimum acceptable barrier thickness requirements and the tornado missile Spectrum II specified in Section 3.5.1.4 of NUREG-0800 will be used in the design of applicable surface structures important to safety at the Yucca Mountain repository.

This Office has determined that the enclosed document contains information considered to be "Official Use Only" and is exempt from disclosure under the criteria of Exemption 2 of the Freedom of Information Act. Therefore, this document should be shared with only those U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) or NRC contractor personnel who require access to this document to perform their tasks.

> HMSSD7 WM-11

Chief, High-Level Waste Branch

You are requested to safeguard this document by storing it in a locked cabinet when it is not being used, similarly as Safeguards Information identified in 10 CFR 73.2 would be protected. In addition, requests for a copy of this document from a third party should be referred to the Office of Repository Development, Freedom of Information/Privacy Act Officer.

The information provided in Enclosure 1 fully responds to KTI Agreement Item PRE 3.02. Pending NRC review and acceptance, the U.S. Department of Energy recommends that KTI Agreement Item PRE 3.02 be closed.

There are no new regulatory commitments in the body or enclosure to this letter. Please direct any questions concerning this letter and its enclosure to Joe C. Price at (702) 794-1441 or Timothy C. Gunter at (702) 794-1441.

Joseph D. Ziegler, Acting Director

e of License

Application and Strategy

OLA&S:TCG-0993

Enclosure:

Extreme Wind/Tornado/Tornado Missile Hazard Analysis, CAL-WHS-MD-000002, Revision 00B (Official Use Only) -2-

Chief, High-Level Waste Branch

-3-

JUL 24 2003

cc w/encl:

- D. S. Rom, NRC, Rockville, MD
- D. D. Chamberlain, NRC, Arlington, TX
- R. M. Latta, NRC, Las Vegas, NV
- D. B. Spitzberg, NRC, Arlington, TX

cc w/o encl:

C. W. Reamer, NRC, Rockville, MD A. C. Campbell, NRC, Rockville, MD L. L. Campbell, NRC, Rockville, MD J. D. Parrott, NRC, Las Vegas, NV N. K. Stablein, NRC, Rockville, MD H. J. Larson, ACNW, Rockville, MD W. C. Patrick, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX Budhi Sagar, CNWRA, San Antonio, TX J. R. Egan, Egan & Associates, McLean, VA J. H. Kessler, EPRI, Palo Alto, CA M. J. Apted, Monitor Scientific, LLC, Denver, CO Steve Kraft, NEI, Washington, DC W. D. Barnard, NWTRB, Arlington, VA R. R. Loux, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV Marjorie Paslov Thomas, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV Alan Kalt, Churchill County, Fallon, NV Irene Navis, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV George McCorkell, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV Leonard Fiorenzi, Eureka County, Eureka, NV Andrew Remus, Inyo County, Independence, CA Michael King, Inyo County, Edmonds, WA Mickey Yarbro, Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV Spencer Hafen, Lincoln County, Pioche, NV Linda Mathias, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Pahrump, NV Josie Larson, White Pine County, Ely, NV R. I. Holden, National Congress of American Indians, Washington, DC Allen Ambler, Nevada Indian Environmental Coalition, Fallon, NV