JUN 218 1993

 Mr. Dwight E. Shelor, Associate Director for Systems and Compliance
 Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management
 U. S. Department of Energy
 1000 Independence Avenue, SW
 Washington, D. C. 20585

Dear Mr. Shelor:

The purpose of this letter is to inform you of the designees I have identified for implementing Appendix 2 and Item (2) of Appendix 7 of the "Agreement Between the U. S. Department of Energy Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission Division of High-Level Waste Management During Site Characterization Program and Prior to the Submittal of an Application for Authorization to Construct a Repository." In Appendix 2, paragraph 2 it states, "Controlled copies of all applicable YMPO Samples Acquisition and Handling Procedures will be provided to the NRC's Director, Repository Licensing and Quality Assurance Project Directorate, Division of High-Level Waste Management or designee." The designee here shall be Ms. Nancy White. Her address for forwarding controlled copies of procedures is:

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 301 East Stewart Avenue Suite 203 Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

In Appendix 7, Item (2), paragraph 2, it states, "When NRC headquarters staff is temporarily assigned to the OR office, the NRC Director, Repository Licensing and Quality Assurance Project Directorate, or designee, will notify DOE's Chief of the Regulatory Integration Branch of the reassignment at least one week prior to the reassignment." The designee here shall be Ms. Charlotte Abrams.

There are no other areas where a designee is needed.

Sincerely,

Joseph J. Holonich, Director Repository Licensing and Quality Assurance Project Directorate Division of High-Level Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

cc: See next page

060036

9307060103 930628 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR 102. 8 WM-11 1/0 cc: R. Loux, State of Nevada

T. J. Hickey, Nevada Legislative Committee

C. Gertz, DOE/NV

M. Murphy, Nye County, NV
M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV
D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV
D. Weigel, GAO

P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County. NV

B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA V. Poe, Mineral County, NV

F. Sperry, White Pine County, NV

R. Williams, Lander County, NV
L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV
L. Vaughan II, Esmeralda County, NV

C. Schank, Churchill County, NV

L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV

DISTRIBUTION				
CNWRA N			HLPD R/F	LSS
		ACNW	PDR	CENTRAL FILE
BJYoungblood, HLWM J		JLinehan, HLWM	RBallard, HLGE	MFederline, HLHP
JHolonich, HLPD On-Site Reps				
<u>OFC</u>	HLPD O	HLPMX V	HLPD	
NAME	AGarcia (M	JH@Tonich		
DATE	06/2 93</td <td>06/1/5/93</td> <td></td> <td></td>	06/1/5/93		
Ç	= COVER	E = COVER & ENCLOS	SURE N =	NO COPY