

Department of Energy Washington, DC 20585

DEC 1 4 1992

Mr. Joseph J. Holonich, Director
Repository Licensing & Quality Assurance Project Directorate
Division of High-Level Waste Management
Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D. C. 20555

Dear Mr. Holonich:

This is in response to your November 16, 1992, letter informing the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) of your intention to invite DOE Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Project (YMP) scientists to participate in a workshop on field techniques and instrumentation for characterizing and analyzing groundwater flow and transport through DOE is evaluating your request for unsaturated fractured rock. participation by the candidate scientists in light of available funding levels. Enclosure 1 identifies: 1) the scientists who are supported by YMP funding and for whom DOE may authorize participation in the workshop, and 2) those scientists who are not supported by YMP funding. YMP is not in a position to authorize participation for the scientists not funded by the project. DOE will provide an informal list to NRC with the names of those scientists YMP authorizes to attend the workshop prior to January 15, 1993.

If you have any questions, please contact Corinne Macaluso of my staff at (202) 586-2837.

Sincerely,

Starle

Linda J. Desell, Chief Regulatory Integration Branch Office of Systems and Compliance

Enclosure: As Stated

PDR

102.8-11 WM_1.11

SCIENTISTS FUNDED BY YMP

SCIENTISTS NOT FUNDED BY YMP

U.S. Geological Survey

Alan Flint Lorraine Flint, RSN Ed Weeks Don Thorstenson

a, 1

Ike Winograd Fred Paillet

Los Alamos National Laboratory

June Fabryka-Martin

Livermore National Laboratory

Thomas Buschek John Nitao Abe Ramirez

Sandia National Laboratories

Robert Glass Mike Wilson

Lawrence Berkley Laboratory

Chin-Fu Tsang Karsten Pruess Yvonne Tsang Joe Wang Jane Long

<u>Golder Associates</u>

Charles Voss

æ • • cc: T. J. Hickey, Nevada Legislative Committee R. Loux, State of Nevada M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV J. Bingham, Clark County, NV B. Raper, Nye County, NV P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV G. Derby, Lander County, NV P. Goicoechea, Eureka, NV C. Schank, Churchill County, NV F. Mariani, White Pine County, NV V. Poe, Mineral County, NV E. Wright, Lincoln County, NV J. Pitts, Lincoln County, NV R. Williams, Lander County, NV J. Hayes, Esmeralda County, NV B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA