

## Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors, Inc.

Office of Executive Director ◆ 205 Capital Avenue ◆ Frankfort, KY 40601 Phone: 502/227-4543 ◆ Fax: 502/227-7862 ◆ Web Site: www.crcpd.org Central E-mail: staff@crcpd.org

July 1, 2003

**Board of Directors** 

Chairperson Richard A. Ratliff Texas

Chairperson-Elect Edgar D. Bailey California

Past Chairperson Cynthia C. Cardwell Taxas

Treasurer Terry C. Frazee Washington

Members-at-Large Debbie B. Gilley Florida

> Jay Hyland Maine

Kathleen McAllister Massachusetts

Office of **Executive Director** 

Kentucky

**Executive Director** Ronald G. Fraass Tele: Ext. 2222 rfraass@crcpd.org

Administrative Officer Patricia C. Gorman Tele: Ext. 2227 pgorman@crcpd.org

The Honorable Mike Huckabee State Capital Little Rock, Arkansas 72003

Attention: Chris Pyle

Dear Governor Huckabee:

With the enclosed certificate of recognition, the Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors, Inc. (CRCPD) and the Organization of Agreement States (OAS) commends the State of Arkansas for having provided 42 years of outstanding radiation safety programs for the protection of your citizens, the regulation of radiation sources in your state, and the participation in the Agreement State Program of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission for the past 40 years.

The CRCPD and the OAS would encourage you and the Executive Branch to continue support of the important services that the Division of Radiation Control and Emergency Management provides for your state, and that serves as an example for radiation control programs in other states and nations.

We hope that you will find an opportunity to present this commendation to the radiation control program staff, and in doing so please extend our congratulations and best wishes for continued success in regulating the safe use of radioactive material and radiation producing equipment.

Sincerely,

Richard A. Ratliff, Chairperson Conference of Radiation Control

Program Directors, Inc.

Kicker Rott

T. Pearce O'Kelley, Chairperson Organization of Agreement States

RAR/TPO/RF/ss

Enclosure

cc:

Jim Wilson, Chief of Staff, Health Department Jared Thompson, AR Director Member Paul Löhaus, NRC Office of State and Tribal Programs NRC Region IV

STP Template-006 PIDS: SPOZ



## CERTIFICATE OF ACHIEVEMENT

Presented to the STATE of ARKANSAS



For

## 42 Years of Service as the State Radiation Control Program and 40 Years of Service as an NRC Agreement State

The CRCPD and the OAS wish to commend the STATE of ARKANSAS for providing excellent radiation safety programs for your citizens and regulated community. The CRCPD and the OAS also wish to recognize the Radiation Control Program for their strong commitment of excellence to protect the public and the environment from unnecessary radiation exposure, and for their valuable partnership with other radiation control entities on a national level.

Bestowed by the CRCPD and the OAS on this 1st day of July 2003.

Richard A. Ratliff, Charperson Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors, Inc.

T. Pearce O'Kelley, Chairperson
Organization of Agreement States