

# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

October 1, 1996

MEMORANDUM TO:

John O. Thoma, Section Leader Performance Assessment and HLW Integration Branch Division of Waste Management

FROM:

Sandra L. Wastler, Senior Project Manager Performance Assessment and HLW Integration Branch Division of Waste Management

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION/U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY MANAGEMENT MEETING

DATE/TIME of MEETING: October 23, 1996 12:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. EST

LOCATION of MEETING: NRC-Headquarters Room T7A3 11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852 AND DOE-Headquarters Room GF277 1000 Independence Ave. Washington, DC 20585 AND (Blue Room) Summerlin Building, Suite A 1551 Hillshire Drive Las Vegas, NV 89134

PURPOSE of MEETING: To discuss items of mutual interest with regard to the High Level Waste Repository Program.

PARTICIPANTS:	<u>NRC</u>	<u>DOE</u>	<u>Nevada</u>
	JGreeves	LBarrett	RLoux
	MFederline	SBrocoum	et. al.
	et. al	et. al.	

\* Meetings and technical exchanges between NRC and DOE are open to members of the public, Petitioners, intervenors, or other interested parties wishing to attend as observers pursuant to the spirit of "Open Meeting Statement of NRC Staff Policy," 43 Federal Register 28058, dated June 28, 1978, which details the open meeting policy for applicants and licensees.

102.2

9610070332 961001 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR

070082

96119

### Affected Local Governments

- N. Stellavato, Nye County, NV
- D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV
- V. Poe, Mineral County, NV
- C. Schank, Churchill County, NV
- R. Williams, Lander County, NV

- B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA L. M. Murphy, Nye County, NV C. E. Von Teisenhausen, Clark County, NV
- M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV
- W. Cameron, White Pine County, NV
- P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV
- L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV
- J. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, NV
- L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV
  - C. Johnson, NV

cc: J. Meder, NV S. Goldberg, OMB D. Weigel, GAO W. Barnard, NWTRB A. Kadak, YAEC F. Parker, NAS R. Holden, NCAI A. Melendez, NIEC S. Brocoum, DOE R. Arnold, NV A. Gil. DÓE

DIS	וזמד	DIT	TON	
111.5				•

Central File	DWM r/f	<b>MFederline</b>	<b>JHoloni</b> ch	JGreeves	
RJohnson	NMSS r/f	PAHL r/f	LPDR	JAustin	
ACNW	PDR	On-Site reps	CNWRA	MBell	
LSS	PUBLIC	BReamer			

### S:\DWM\PAHL\SLW\MGMT-MTG.023

OFC	PAHL ,	PAHL	E					
NAME	SWast dr/kv	JThomaTor						
DATE	10///96	10/1/96	н					

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

2



## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

#### October 1, 1996

**MEMORANDUM TO:** 

John O. Thoma. Section Leader Performance Assessment and HLW Integration Branch Division of Waste Management

FROM:

Sandra L. Wastler, Senior Project Manager Performance Assessment and HLW Integration Branch Division of Waste Management

FORTHCOMING NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION/U.S. SUBJECT: DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY MANAGEMENT MEETING

DATE/TIME of MEETING: October 23, 1996 12:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. EST

LOCATION of MEETING: NRC-Headquarters Room T7A3 11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852 AND **DOE-Headquarters** Room GF277 1000 Independence Ave. Washington, DC 20585 AND (Blue Room) Summerlin Building, Suite A 1551 Hillshire Drive Las Vegas, NV 89134

**PURPOSE of MEETING:** To discuss items of mutual interest with regard to the High Level Waste Repository Program.

PARTICIPANTS:	NRC	DOE	Nevada
	JGreeves	LBarrett	RLoux
	MFederline	SBrocoum	et. al.
	et. al	et. al.	

\* Meetings and technical exchanges between NRC and DOE are open to members of the public, Petitioners, intervenors, or other interested parties wishing to attend as observers pursuant to the spirit of "Open Meeting Statement of NRC Staff Policy," 43 Federal Register 28058, dated June 28, 1978, which details the open meeting policy for applicants and licensees.

## Meeting Notice

## Affected Local Governments

- N. Stellavato, Nye County, NV
- D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV
- V. Poe, Mineral County, NV
- C. Schank, Churchill County, NV
- R. Williams, Lander County, NV
- B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA
- M. Murphy, Nye County, NV
- E. Von Teisenhausen, Clark County, NV
- M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV
- W. Cameron, White Pine County, NV
- P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV
- L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV
- J. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, NV
- L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV
- C. Johnson, NV

1

2

- cc: J. Meder, NV S. Goldberg, OMB D. Weigel, GAO W. Barnard, NWTRB A. Kadak, YAEC F. Parker, NAS R. Holden, NCAI A. Melendez, NIEC S. Brocoum, DOE R. Arnold, NV
  - A. Gil, DOE