

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

February 27, 2003

THIS LETTER WAS ISSUED TO THOSE ON THE ATTACHED LIST.

SUBJECT: NOTIFICATION OF UPCOMING MEETING

Dear :

Each year, an integrated assessment of performance is conducted, based upon the risk significance of the inspection findings of the NRC's resident and region-based inspectors, and the insights gained from the licensee-provided performance indicators. The results are then communicated with the public through a public meeting held in the vicinity of each reactor power plant. Nationally, plants with significant performance shortcomings are reviewed by the NRC's senior management and discussed with the Commission in a public meeting in Rockville, Maryland.

We have completed the assessments associated with this year's inspections and performance indicators for Waterford 3. The results can be found at http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/WAT3/wat3_chart.html. We have also scheduled a public meeting to discuss the results. The meeting for Waterford 3 is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. (CST) on April 1, 2003, at the St. Charles Parish Courthouse Council Chambers, 15045 River Road, Hahnville, Louisiana.

In conjunction with this meeting, we are offering all local decision-makers an opportunity to meet separately with the NRC manager immediately following the public meeting. This opportunity is intended to provide you a forum to ask any questions which you may have, and to let you meet personally the NRC personnel with whom you would interface in the event of an emergency at the nuclear power plant.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter and its enclosure will be made available electronically for public inspection in the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at <u>http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html</u> (the Public Electronic Reading Room).

I hope you find this opportunity responsive to your needs and I look forward to personally greeting you at the meeting. Should you have any questions concerning this initiative, please contact me at 985/783-6253.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Michael C. Hay Senior Resident Inspector Waterford 3

INDIVIDUAL LETTERS WERE SENT TO:

Federal Emergency Management Agency Ron Castleman, Regional Director Region VI, Federal Center 800 North Loop 288 Denton, Texas 76201-3698

Col. Michael L. Brown, Assistant Director State Emergency Management Military Department Office of Emergency Preparedness P.O. Box 44217 Baton Rouge, LA 70804

Mr. Michael E. Henry Department of Environmental Quality Permits Division P.O. Box 82135 Baton Rouge, LA 70884-2135

Albert D. Laque, Parish President St. Charles Parish P.O. Box 302 Hahnville, LA 70057

Sheriff Greg Champagne St. Charles Parish P.O. Box 426 Hahnville, LA 70057

Rep. Gary L. Smith, Jr. State of Louisiana, District 56 P.O. Box 189 Norco, LA 70079

Senator Joel T. Chaisson, II State of Louisiana, District 19 P.O. Box 1255 Destrehan, LA 70047

Mr. Tab Troxler, Director Dept. of Emergency Preparedness St. Charles Parish P.O. Box 302 Hahnville, LA 70057 Mr. G. "Ram" Ramchandran Councilman-at-Large, Div. A St. Charles Parish 13 Hermitage Court Destrehan, LA 70047

Mr. Clayton "Snookie" Faucheux Councilman-at-Large, Div. B St. Charles Parish 140 North Oak Court P.O. Box 1342 Luling, LA 70070

Mr. Desmond J. Hilaire Councilman, District 1 St. Charles Parish P.O. Box 111 Hahnville, LA 70057

Mr. Brian A. Fabre Councilman, District 2 St. Charles Parish 322 Beaupre Drive Luling, LA 70070

Ms. Darnell "Dee" Abadie Councilwoman, District 3 St. Charles Parish 237 Ormond Village Drive Destrehan, LA 70047

Mr. Terry Authement Councilman, District 4 St. Charles Parish P.O. Box 516 Boutte, LA 70039

Ms. April Black Councilwoman, District 5 St. Charles Parish 14 Bridle Path Lane St. Rose, LA 70087

Mr. Lance Marino Councilman, District 6 St. Charles Parish 660 Pine Street Norco, LA 70079 Mr. Barry Minnich Councilman, District 7 St. Charles Parish 337 Wanda Street Luling, LA 70070

Nickie Monica, President St. John the Baptist Parish 1801 West Airline Highway LaPlace, Louisiana 70068

Mr. Paul Oncale Public Safety Director St. John the Baptist Parish 1801 W. Airline Highway LaPlace, LA 70068

Mr. Cleveland Farlough Council at Large Div. A St. John the Baptist Parish P.O. Box 528 Reserve, LA 70084

Mr. Duaine Duffy Council at Large Div. B St. John the Baptist Parish 145 River Oaks Drive LaPlace, LA 70068

Mr. Lester Rainey, Jr. Councilman District I St. John the Baptist Parish P.O. Box 278 Edgard, LA 70049

Mr. Allen St. Pierre Councilman District II St. John the Baptist Parish 3106 Hwy. 44 Reserve, LA 70084

Mr. Richard Dale Wolfe Councilman District III St. John the Baptist Parish P.O. Box 2289 Reserve, LA 70084 Mr. Ranney Wilson Councilman District IV St. John the Baptist Parish 1506 Delta Road LaPlace, LA 70068

Mr. Jobe' Boucvalt Councilman District V St. John the Baptist Parish 3013 Main Street LaPlace, LA 70068

Ms. Melissa Faucheux Councilwoman District VI St. John the Baptist Parish P.O. Box 911 LaPlace, LA 70068

Mr. Steve Lee Councilman District VII St. John the Baptist Parish 38 Muirfield LaPlace, LA 70068