June 19, 2003

- MEMORANDUM TO: Janet R. Schlueter, Chief High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
- FROM: Thomas Matula, Senior Quality Assurance Engineer Projects and Engineering Section High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
- SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION AND U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY QUARTERLY QUALITY ASSURANCE MEETING
- DATE/TIME: July 15, 2003 12:00 PM - 4:30 PM (ET) 9:00 AM - 1:30 PM (PT)
- LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint Auditorium 11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland And via videoconference to:

Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC Room 915 9960 Covington Cross Las Vegas, Nevada Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses Bldg. 189 6220 Culebra Road San Antonio, Texas

INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE MEETING VIA TELECON BY CALLING 1-800-638-8081 Passcode 6481 or 301-231-5539 Passcode 6481

PURPOSE: Discuss Status of DOE's Quality Assurance Program

AGENDA: Attached

PARTICIPANTS:	<u>NRC</u> JGreeves BReamer et. al.	<u>DOE</u> MChu JArthur III et. al.	<u>Nevada</u> SFrishman et. al.	<u>NV Counties</u> INavis et. al.
CONTACT:	Thomas Matula	(301) 415-6700	tom1@nrc.gov	

Category 1 Meeting: The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

Memorandum to J. Schlueter from T. Matula dated: cc:

- A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV
- R. Massey, Churchill/Lander County, NV
- I. Navis, Clark County, NV
- E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV
- G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV
- L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV
- A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV
- A. Remus, Inyo County, CA
- M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV
- S. Hafen, Lincoln County, NV
- M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV
- L. Mathias, Mineral County, NV
- L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV
- D. Chavez, Nye County, NV
- D. Hammermeister, Nye County, NV
- J. Larson, White Pine County, NV
- J. Ray, NV Congressional Delegation
- B. J. Gerber, NV Congressional Delegation
- F. Roberson, NV Congressional Delegation
- T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation
- R. Herbert, NV Congressional Delegation
- L. Hunsaker, NV Congressional Delegation
- S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation
- K. Kirkeby, NV Congressional Delegation
- R. Loux, State of NV
- S. Frishman, State of NV
- S. Lynch, State of NV
- M. Paslov Thomas, Legislative Counsel Bureau
- J. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NV

M. Corradini, NWTRB J. Treichel, Nuclear Waste Task Force K. Tilges, Shundahai Network M. Chu, DOE/Washington, D.C. G. Runkle, DOE/Washington, D.C. C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, D.C. S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, D.C. W. J. Arthur, III, DOE/ORD R. Dyer, DOE/ORD J. Ziegler, DOE/ORD A. Gil, DOE/ORD W. Boyle, DOE/ORD D. Brown, DOE/OCRWM S. Mellington, DOE/ORD C. Hanlon, DOE/ORD T. Gunter, DOE/ORD

- S. Morris, DOE/ORD
- J. Mitchell, BSC
- M. Mason, BSC
- S. Cereghino, BSC
- N. Williams, BSC
- M. Voegele, BSC/SAIC
- D. Beckman, BSC/B&A
- W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell
- P. Johnson, Citizen Alert
- R. Holden, NCAI
- B. Helmer, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- R. Boland, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe

June 19, 2003

- cc: (Continued) R. Clark, EPA
- R. Anderson, NEI
- R. McCullum, NEI
- S. Kraft, NEI
- J. Kessler, EPRI
- D. Duncan, USGS
- R. Craig, USGS
- W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD
- L. Lehman, T-Reg, Inc.
- S. Echols, ESQ
- M. Smurr, BNFL, Inc.
- J. Bococh, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley
- R. Mike, Duckwater Shoshone Tribe
- T. Kingham, GAO
- D. Feehan, GAO
- E. Hiruo, Platts Nuclear Publications
- G. Hernandez, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
- K. Finfrock, NV Congressional Delegation
- H. Urban, NV Congressional Delegation

- C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe
- R. Wilder, Fort Independence Indian Tribe
- D. Vega, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe
- J. Egan, Egan & Associates, PLLC
- J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center
- R. M. Saulque, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe
- C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes
- R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe
- L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah
- E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe
- V. McQueen, Sr., Ely Shoshone Tribe
- V. Guzman, Inter-Tribal Council of NV (Chairman, Walker River Paiute Tribe)
- D. Eddy, Jr., Colorado River Indian Tribes
- H. Jackson, Public Citizen
- J. Wells, Western Shoshone National Council
- D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of NV
- I. Zabarte, Western Shoshone National Council
- NRC On-Site Representatives

Draft Agenda **DOE/NRC** Quarterly Quality Assurance Meeting July 15, 2003 12:00 PM - 4:30 PM (ET) 9:00 AM - 1:30 PM (PT)

> **U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint Auditorium** 11545 Rockville Pike **Rockville**, Maryland

> > And via Videoconference to:

Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC	Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses
Room 915	Building 189
9960 Covington Cross	6220 Culebra Road
Las Vegas, Nevada	San Antonio, Texas

INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE VIA TELECON BY CALLING 1-800-638-8081 Passcode 8081 or 301-231-5539 Passcode 8081

12:00 PM	Introduction and Opening Remarks	DOE/NRC	
12:10 PM	QA Overview	Brown	
12:40 PM	Model Validation (CAR 001) Software Development (CAR 002) Management of Data (CAR 107) and Data Qualification Electronic Media (CAR 129) Procedure BSC-AP-ATS-0001 Implementation (CAR 97) Training (CAR BSC 02-C-001) Design Oversight	Williams Williams Williams Brown Mason Mason Mason	
2:30 PM	Break	All	
2:45 PM	Corrective Action Program	Brown	
3:00 PM	Trending Program Improvements	Grooms	
3:15 PM	Quality Assurance Requirements Description	Brown	
3:30 PM	Audit Coordination	Grooms	
4:00 PM	Action Item Status	Gunter	
4:15 PM	Closing Remarks	ALL	
4:30 PM	Adjourn		

	June 19, 2003
MEMORANDUM TO:	Janet R. Schlueter, Chief
	High-Level Waste Branch
	Division of Waste Management
	Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
	Cince of Nacional Baloty and Baloguarde
FROM:	Thomas Matula, Senior Quality Assurance Engineer/RA/Projects and Engineering SectionHigh-Level Waste BranchDivision of Waste ManagementOffice of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
SUBJECT:	FORTHCOMING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION AND U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY QUARTERLY QUALITY ASSURANCE MEETING
DATE/TIME:	July 15, 2003 12:00 PM - 4:30 PM (ET) 9:00 AM - 1:30 PM (PT)
LOCATION:	U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Two White Flint Auditorium 11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland

luna 10 2002

Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC	Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses
Room 915	Bldg. 189
9960 Covington Cross	6220 Culebra Road
Las Vegas, Nevada	San Antonio, Texas

INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE MEETING VIA TELECON BY CALLING 1-800-638-8081 Passcode 6481 or 301-231-5539 Passcode 6481

PURPOSE: Discuss Status of DOE's Quality Assurance Program

And via videoconference to:

AGENDA: Attached

PARTICIPANTS:	<u>NRC</u> JGreeves BReamer et. al.	<u>DOE</u> MChu JArthur III et. al.	<u>Nevada</u> SFrishman et. al.	<u>NV Counties</u> INavis et. al.
CONTACT:	Thomas Matula	(301) 415-6700	tom1@nrc.gov	

Category 1 Meeting: The public is invited to observe this meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is adjourned.

DISTRIBUTION: EPAB r/f OSR LSN File Center HLWB r/f ACNW PUBLIC SGagner CNWRA JGreeves **CWReamer** JSchlueter NKStablein LCampbell LChandler ACampbell DDambly MYoung ACoggins **Bspitzberg** WMaier, RIV LKokajko TCarter TMatula GHatchett AUGS OTabatabai DHiggs PMNS ML: S:\DWM\HLWB\gdh1\MeetingNotices\071503QAMgmtMtg OFFICE HLWB HLWB HLWB NAME DHiggs NKStablein TMatula DATE 06/ 19 /03 06/ 19 /03 06/ 19 /03

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY