

## Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

April 15, 1993

INFORMATION ROUTING ONLY	
Bernero Ariotto	A STATE OF S
CC: IMNS  HLWM PAB	
Other	
	•
	_

Robert M. Bernero, Director
Office of Nuclear Material
Safety and Safeguards
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Dear Mr. Bernero:

Thank you for your letter of March 15, 1993, documenting the comments of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff presented at the public meeting on the Department's schedule and outline of the Section 803 report prepared pursuant to the Energy Policy Act of 1992. We appreciate the NRC staff's involvement in the public process to determine if the current waste management program and plans are adequate to manage any additional volumes or categories of nuclear waste that might be generated by any new nuclear power plants constructed and licensed after the date of the enactment of the Energy Policy Act.

The purpose of this letter is not to respond to the comments provided in your letter. Rather, it is to acknowledge that we understand the concerns you raise, which were also expressed at the February 17, 1993, public meeting, and will make every effort to incorporate the NRC staff comments into the draft Section 803 report. We currently expect to issue the report by mid-to-late May 1993.

We look forward to working with you to develop a meaningful and comprehensive document, in accordance with the intent of the Energy Policy Act of 1992.

Thank you again for your interest in this matter.

Sincerely,

Lake H. Barrett, Acting Director Office of Civilian Radioactive

Waste Management

030073

9305040275 930415 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR 182.2/10 WM-11 R. Loux, State of Nevada

T.J. Hickey, Nevada Legislative Committee

S. Bradhurst, Nye County, NV M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV

D. Weigel, GAO

P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA V. Poe, Mineral County, NV

F. Sperry, White Pine County, NV

R. Williams, Lander County, NV L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV

L. Vaughan II, Esmeralda County, NV

C. Shank, Churchill County, NV

E. Holstein, Nye County, NV